jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

A wider front fork will make the bicycle more versatile by having wider tires for off-roads.
mai ganjiong, even if CAMP does not do so, some other labels will do it. Be patient, it will come soon.
Even with this frame, it is already a very good design. Only price isn't so nice :ROFLMAO:

Of coz 1.5k - 1.8k sgd would be very nice ultimately.....esp for those aiming to get 2-3 bikes.
But unfortunately i think even with China domestic pricing and consumerism, that might not be possible until they really super mass produce such stuff.....ie market bike masses.
I think together with running, cycling also picking up in CN. Maybe, just maybe.

Actually 1.8k might be possible, but must choose LTwoo electronic grpset.
I mean, no issue one lah. If spoil, just replace and change. No big deal.
Coz Shimano stuff has that bare min pricing, out of control to these chinese brands also.

Actually nowadays the tech somewhat mature and quite reliable liao.
Ltwoo Wheeltop electronic grpset also used in the new Java Neo 3 foldie.
Very easy to ride, very easy to maneuveur, fit 1.5" wide tyres it is also very stable, as long as you dont exceed 35kmh.

cherynsq

Double check with senior consultant in respiratory . Weather / temp / air condition / ray condition are ok to run but whether you should run or shouldn’t run , you should decide for yourself

is like you are 99% full. Want to add that 1% or not , is up to you . Some say go ahead since you are still 1% away but some will say it’s already at cap so you should pipe down

at the end of the day , your body , you decide

I am going to listen to my body

rECKleSSfElla

Double check with senior consultant in respiratory . Weather / temp / air condition / ray condition are ok to run but whether you should run or shouldn’t run , you should decide for yourself

is like you are 99% full. Want to add that 1% or not , is up to you . Some say go ahead since you are still 1% away but some will say it’s already at cap so you should pipe down

at the end of the day , your body , you decide

I am going to listen to my body
So end of the day your senior consultant advice you against running due to your own current body condition and it has empirically nothing to do with the weather.

Ender

Weather hot is not a sign not to exercise, but to maybe reduce load, drink more water, run in shaded or indoor, shift your timing to when the sun down. Basically avoid being sedentary for any day. To me, the break in consistency is worst for health and fitness than not doing anything to avoid a harsh condition. Movement is medicine.

LWZ

decided to push harder yesterday since there was someone who initially paced then overtook me :s13:

couldn't overtake the dude, but after he stopped and U-turned, I continued on for another 2km with heavy legs

WussRedXLi

decided to push harder yesterday since there was someone who initially paced then overtook me :s13:

couldn't overtake the dude, but after he stopped and U-turned, I continued on for another 2km with heavy legs

I was talking about this with cyclists regarding late race surges and sprints. Or just trying to "hang on" to the front pack so as not to be dropped. This is assuming you are not cardio / aerobically limited, or too drowning in lactate. Might be more useful in cycling than running, but i guess in tactical scenarios it might be useful.

Got various articles, but just use AI ba........

Yes, heavy Bulgarian split squat (BSS) strength training is highly effective at improving late-marathon durability and performance, specifically helping runners maintain pace and form after mile 20. By strengthening the muscles, tendons, and ligaments through unilateral load, BSS reduces late-race muscle breakdown, improves running economy, and mitigates injury risk.
Instagram +2
Here is how heavy BSS training improves late-marathon durability:
  • Targets "Late-Race" Muscles: Running is fundamentally a series of single-leg hops. Bulgarian split squats build strength, stability, and control through the hips, knees, and ankles—the precise areas that fatigue and cause form breakdown (e.g., knee drop, hip instability) late in a race.
  • Improves Injury Resilience: Every step in a marathon generates ground reaction forces 2–5 times body weight. Heavy BSS builds "armor" in the glutes (specifically the gluteus medius for hip stability), quadriceps, and hamstrings, protecting joints and tendons from overuse injuries like runner's knee or IT band syndrome.
  • Corrects Imbalances: Because BSS forces each leg to work independently, it prevents the stronger leg from masking the weaknesses of the other, ensuring both legs can withstand the 26.2-mile load.
  • Increases Energy Efficiency (Running Economy): Stronger muscles require less energy to maintain the same pace. Studies have shown that heavy strength training (like BSS) can improve running economy by 2–8%.
  • Provides Eccentric Control: Performing heavy, controlled eccentrics (lowering phase) in the BSS builds tendon capacity, which is crucial for absorbing impact and prevents the typical late-race slowdown.
    Unprofessional Athletes +6

WussRedXLi

ActiveSG gyms are the cheapest. $2.50 per entry for those bloody warm nights/mornings.
I think if you run there within 2km it shd still be rather bearable, also doubles as warm up.

But i am also quite sure nowadays due to hot weather will be chocked full of pax. Heh...... so see how you quickly chope during slightly off peak periods by adjusting your schedule.

My place RC at my block used to have a cheap gym room with 2 treadmills and some basic free weights and benches, iirc only $2 per use of 2hrs or what. Super wu hua.
My wife used before. But later they closed it down due to low usage.
If i rem correctly got AC too.

https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/facilities/gyms

Ender

ActiveSG gyms are the cheapest. $2.50 per entry for those bloody warm nights/mornings.

But i am also quite sure nowadays due to hot weather will be chocked full of pax. Heh...... so see how you quickly chope during slightly off peak periods by adjusting your schedule.

https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/facilities/gyms
Active gym si good for people who can utilize outside peak hour. Their off peak pass is very cheap. Use to have the pass, when I was in the holistic phase.

sales69

Sure have people bombard me. But I say this is good opportunity to train heat acclimatization. Just do slow runs.

I'm abit of siaolang. Perfect weather for my suntan runs. :D

Ender

Sure have people bombard me. But I say this is good opportunity to train heat acclimatization. Just do slow runs.

For me the other way. Prefer better weather so can do more reps.

rECKleSSfElla

I tend to finish my stadium runs around 7am and i frequently see a group of ang mohs starting their runs at that timing where its much hotter since sun risen. If to them not an issue then local born and bred sinkies should not be complaining about the heat.

WussRedXLi

Active gym si good for people who can utilize outside peak hour. Their off peak pass is very cheap. Use to have the pass, when I was in the holistic phase.

Wow, yeah...... 1 month only $15 and for age 55 and above only $9 per month :oops:

But must be opening hours till 4pm, typically that'd start at 7am so a bit late, but still ok if running 5k and below and gym is near home.
Will be perfect even if they start just 30 mins earlier at 6.30am.

https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/membership

rECKleSSfElla

Wow, yeah...... 1 month only $15 and for age 55 and above only $9 per month :oops:

But must be opening hours till 4pm, typically that'd start at 7am so a bit late, but still ok if running 5k and below and gym is near home.
Will be perfect even if they start just 30 mins earlier at 6.30am.

https://www.activesgcircle.gov.sg/membership
Morning tend to be packed with the elderly and retirees who got time on their hands so they go to ActiveSG gym to enjoy aircon. And these are the folks who will hog the treadmills.

ActiveSG treadmill got rule that use 30min have to rotate if there is a queue but its not strictly enforced. So often people just deliberately reset the treadmill before 30mins up and then continue using. Back when i was using ActiveSG gym i often have to queue for 20-30mins for my turn on the treadmill.

xllms

Of coz 1.5k - 1.8k sgd would be very nice ultimately.....esp for those aiming to get 2-3 bikes.
But unfortunately i think even with China domestic pricing and consumerism, that might not be possible until they really super mass produce such stuff.....ie market bike masses.
I think together with running, cycling also picking up in CN. Maybe, just maybe.

Actually 1.8k might be possible, but must choose LTwoo electronic grpset.
I mean, no issue one lah. If spoil, just replace and change. No big deal.
Coz Shimano stuff has that bare min pricing, out of control to these chinese brands also.

Actually nowadays the tech somewhat mature and quite reliable liao.
Ltwoo Wheeltop electronic grpset also used in the new Java Neo 3 foldie.
Very easy to ride, very easy to maneuveur, fit 1.5" wide tyres it is also very stable, as long as you dont exceed 35kmh.

yah, i also think RMB7.5k -9k is the acceptable price range, especially for first bike. once beyond 10k, psychologically just feels expensive 😂

this evening went for a run, Coros Race Predictor indicates that my 5km should be around 25:30 and i gave it a try on my Xiaonian. Ended up 3min off the pace! 🤣
Have to admit my legs are tired after yesterday's 10x200m speedwork. Thighs feeling damn sore now.

Enjoying music (Tonight is Rachmaninoff) on my newly tweaked music system in a dimmed environment as i rest and surf the web.

WussRedXLi

Morning tend to be packed with the elderly and retirees who got time on their hands so they go to ActiveSG gym to enjoy aircon. And these are the folks who will hog the treadmills.

ActiveSG treadmill got rule that use 30min have to rotate if there is a queue but its not strictly enforced. So often people just deliberately reset the treadmill before 30mins up and then continue using. Back when i was using ActiveSG gym i often have to queue for 20-30mins for my turn on the treadmill.

OMG that sounds bad. The elderly quite early risers one........and some are also not afraid to voice out their displeasures etc. Some quite terok users.

WussRedXLi

yah, i also think RMB7.5k -9k is the acceptable price range, especially for first bike. once beyond 10k, psychologically just feels expensive 😂

this evening went for a run, Coros Race Predictor indicates that my 5km should be around 25:30 and i gave it a try on my Xiaonian. Ended up 3min off the pace! 🤣
Have to admit my legs are tired after yesterday's 10x200m speedwork. Thighs feeling damn sore now.

Enjoying music (Tonight is Rachmaninoff) on my newly tweaked music system in a dimmed environment as i rest and surf the web.

The day after speedwork workout how to gun.
Can try a true TT after a 4-5 day taper, eg significantly lower volume but maintain a bit of intensity as some neuro work, or just do 12 reps of 100m strides on alt days ba. You shd be able to hit 26.

If that happens, i think that possibly might mean your additional intensity sessions that time we were discussing like just 3 weeks ago might be showing results?

WussRedXLi

For muscle soreness (eg DOMS) and inflammation, usually they significantly get improved by the 4th day, 96hrs.
Hence after 4 days rest you can start to schedule your TT. Or 5th day if you want, with added insurance buffer, also can.

Seems like good quality + sufficient sleep would get your HR down better than usual as well. From what i checked on AI.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.