jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

actually I didn't even know there is a bike expo and I was at the hotel beside the exhibition halls past few days. If i know, might have pop in have a look, but also dunno what to look out for 😂

2 more days. But alas, rmb 50, so might not be so enticing for you. Free only for trade, or if your coy has some linkages to bikes, can just try try to pre-register as trade and enter for free.

xllms

2 more days. But alas, rmb 50, so might not be so enticing for you. Free only for trade, or if your coy has some linkages to bikes, can just try try to pre-register as trade and enter for free.
indeed not so enticing
youtube videos are good enough for me

WussRedXLi

Rich (BB code):

Wanted to do 30km, but got lazy, it’s 2am here. Started 5:19 for first 20km and then 5:13 for remaining 7km

First marathon in 18 days from now.

Just completed my final long run. Sub 4hr got hope or not or just fat hope.

Shd be relatively easy to get below 4hrs lah. Aerobically you are more than sufficiently fit. And since you can negative split things, maybe can slow down even more than 5:19 on race day till HM mark, for "more money in the bank".
Then later last 10km with more visibility on what time you are going to finish and physiological state and fuelling status, you can decide if you go cheong 5:00 pace overtake the vast majority of other runners lagi shiok experience also, coz by then you can literally F care about bonking. 🤣

Dont feel there will be any issues as long as the final 10km you don't suffer muscular or neurological fatigue (which leads to cramps), or issues related to fuelling. From my long distance cycling experiences. But muscular / neuro fatigue too late to train and bulletproof liao.

BTW, i learnt that GI issues mainly stems with carb products not diluted to the proper isotonic levels, ie too hypertonic in the GI tract, this is one big factor. "Training the gut" part aside.......

rECKleSSfElla

Qiaodan Feiying Plaid 3.0 finally sees some discount. 200rmb drop on PDD.
0MYooTn.jpeg

What a good time to be a runner with all these insanely value for money china shoes. In perspective, the crazy prices being charged by those established international brands are indefensible and only chumps will support them.

WussRedXLi

Rich (BB code):

Just completed my final long run. Sub 4hr got hope or not or just fat hope. Wanted to do 30km, but got lazy, it’s 2am here. Started 5:19 for first 20km and then 5:13 for remaining 7km

First marathon in 18 days from now.

Actually i was thinking about this strategy. There is one method to try and test to see if you are going to bonk or not, without gunning too far a distance or spending well over 2.5hrs on the feet for long runs during FM training and risking things but only end up training with diminishing returns as results (junk volume). But you wanna test fuelling strategy and see if it can provide sufficient energy or not.

AI Overview

Yes, substituting a portion of your long run with cycling is a highly effective strategy for a 4-hour marathon, especially to manage fatigue and reduce injury risk. This approach, often called "time-on-feet" training, allows you to build aerobic capacity without the excessive pounding on your joints. [1, 2, 3, 4]
Here is a breakdown of why this works, along with crucial tips to make it successful.

Why This Strategy Works
  • Aerobic Efficiency Without Damage: Running more than 2.5–3 hours provides diminishing returns, increasing injury risk more than cardiovascular gains. Cycling allows you to continue building your aerobic engine (heart/lungs) while giving your joints a break.
  • Low Impact Volume: Cycling acts as an excellent cardiovascular supplement to your running. It helps to increase weekly training volume (critical for a 4-hour goal) while staying injury-free.
  • Active Recovery: Using the bike after a long run can help flush lactic acid from your legs, speeding up recovery compared to just sitting down. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6]

How to Implement This Strategy for a 4-Hour Marathon
To break 4 hours (\(9:09 \text{ min/mile}\) or \(5:41 \text{ min/km}\) pace), you need to ensure the run-to-bike transition is effective.
  • The 1.5x Rule: When replacing runs, aim for roughly \(1.5\text{x}\) the time on the bike to match the running benefit.
  • Run First, Then Cycle: If you do them on the same day, run first, then bike. This forces your legs to practice running on tired legs, and then you use the bike for a low-impact workout to extend the cardiovascular strain.
  • Keep the Intensity Right: The 1.5-hour bike ride should be at an easy-to-moderate effort (Zone 2/conversational). If you cycle too hard, it can interfere with your recovery and make you too tired for your next run.
  • Practice Nutrition on the Bike: Use the 2.5-hour run to test your gels and fluids, but also practice refueling on the 1.5-hour bike ride to ensure you have a plan for the full 4+ hour exertion on race day. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

WussRedXLi

Or for the faster runners, run 30km at say 4:15 (low 2hrs), then substitute with another 1 hour of LT1-LT2 riding. To test your other strategies like fueling, cramping probability etc. Test without wrecking your body.

WussRedXLi

0MYooTn.jpeg

What a good time to be a runner with all these insanely value for money china shoes. In perspective, the crazy prices being charged by those established international brands are indefensible and only chumps will support them.

Maybe getting ready , kickstart towards 6.18

kaisin82

Shd be relatively easy to get below 4hrs lah. Aerobically you are more than sufficiently fit. And since you can negative split things, maybe can slow down even more than 5:19 on race day till HM mark, for "more money in the bank".
Then later last 10km with more visibility on what time you are going to finish and physiological state and fuelling status, you can decide if you go cheong 5:00 pace overtake the vast majority of other runners lagi shiok experience also, coz by then you can literally F care about bonking. 🤣

Dont feel there will be any issues as long as the final 10km you don't suffer muscular or neurological fatigue (which leads to cramps), or issues related to fuelling. From my long distance cycling experiences. But muscular / neuro fatigue too late to train and bulletproof liao.

BTW, i learnt that GI issues mainly stems with carb products not diluted to the proper isotonic levels, ie too hypertonic in the GI tract, this is one big factor. "Training the gut" part aside.......
Just realize my zone 3 seems to be around 1hr 27mins for my this run and my previous run before, I'm actually pretty surprised by how fixed this time is for my zone 3. now I just need to figure how to stay in zone 3 for longer period of time

kaisin82

Share something that i have found :

Actually, my anecdotal feeling is that, the change from night sessions to morning sessions so as to avoid the sessions from interfering my sleep and hence able to get more sleep + better quality sleep (daily can get 1hr of additional deep slow wave sleep) as per my smartwatch sleep tracking, and the added focus on strength sessions (actually this one more for cycling) which leads to better and more productive workouts / sessions got effect.

I think maybe higher strength also leads to better muscular/oxygen usage efficiency, however slight that might be. I noticed this esp for my Sentosa Imbiah climbs, coz i like to mini TT it plus check HR at X kmh speed, eg 8kmh 60 rpm can now keep it below 120bpm....this sort of "check" i can literally keep seeing the progress in 2 weeks time frame and sometimes from week-to-week also can sense slight improvement.
Coz increases in weight/reps for a particular strength exercise might not correlate to better timings/HR etc.

Another point is, i noticed I havent been failing any of my workouts also.

Also, the HR at such paces is somewhat lower than when i just purely doing run training 2-3 yrs ago. (gotten similar times at my best run fitness then).

And all these together with significantly higher muscular mass and much higher strength, which generally is a good thing for older folks.
Last time i was "stick thin" at 56-57kg even though I could run, now is 73-74kg (of coz i think at least 3-4kg is water weight due to Creatine supp).
Last time 2-3 yrs ago also barely could do any dips/pull ups (ummm.....like 1 rep?) and heck even just a dozen push ups also literally RIP before i started trying with push ups and then pull ups/dips, bloody weak last time.

yPFpWfh.jpg
wow the pace is amazing!

WussRedXLi

Just realize my zone 3 seems to be around 1hr 27mins for my this run and my previous run before, I'm actually pretty surprised by how fixed this time is for my zone 3. now I just need to figure how to stay in zone 3 for longer period of time

Think now a bit late to make changes or to train... 😅 Since technically we need approx 10 days to absorb any changes.
Next race ba. Regardless you are at a very good place to break 4hrs, fitness wise....pace correctly and you'd be fine.

The best "bullet" i know to help you stay at this pace for the longest duration at the best comfort level is to 1. fuel correctly and enough, but hopefully you trained enough for that.
Actually still have time to test a bit more (try the run - bike method above i posted?). Remember, liquid fuel is your friend, can still try.
2. Is the weather, or if any, unseasonably warmer weather over there in Canada. Even warm evenings affect me to the point that i can "DNF" on a fast 10K run here in SG, or at least make me start to feel wierd and not good to push the risks. If it is warm, use any chance to use iced water, ice slushy, use a towel or something to wrap around your neck. An ice bag kept under your bag also helps. If you have on-course ice available, you'd know what to do. Just bring cap and small tower to wrap etc.

And assuming what you mentioned is correct, that 5:13 - 5:19 pace is zone 3, then it might even be more prudent and safer to slow it down a tad for the first half as i mentioned before. Since you are "just" going for sub 4 and not a specific PB performance timing.

kaisin82

2. last year it was 6 degrees at 7am when the race starts, not sure about this year. I will do fuel this year, mistake learnt from last year's half marathon. Hoping with the adrenaline rush and the hype, it can carry me for longer before I lose focus and get distracted.

I will take your advice and see how I can apply it for my race. Yes, sub 4 is a goal. I think I am in a borderline situation, it can fall either ways. Fingers crossed.

WussRedXLi

2. last year it was 6 degrees at 7am when the race starts, not sure about this year. I will do fuel this year, mistake learnt from last year's half marathon. Hoping with the adrenaline rush and the hype, it can carry me for longer before I lose focus and get distracted.

I will take your advice and see how I can apply it for my race. Yes, sub 4 is a goal. I think I am in a borderline situation, it can fall either ways. Fingers crossed.

I have a feeling that liquid fuel in appropriate concentration (not more than 10g/100ml) is the main solution.

Just not sure how that can be applied in your 42km running case, or maybe for the last 21km......be it with the help of someone else along the course handling you the juice or you can bring powdered maltodextrin/fructose + a wee bit of sodium or branded electrolytes and mix it up with the on-course hydration.

Still got 18 more days for you to try and solve this "problem". 😅 😅
Try the run around 12-20km at marathon pace and then cycle for 1-1.5hrs (@ same HR, you can loop endlessly around a route it doesnt matter) method for testing fuelling.

For me, and my kid, we have seen the appropriate fueling vs just agar agar more or less can scenarios.
Very big difference. Somemore our paces not high hor......just Z2 and sometimes even Z1.
When fuelled nicely, my kid see cycling grps still can go gun with them.........siao lang one.
If fuelling sucks, you shd see him, cry father cry mother weather too hot etc.

WussRedXLi

Losing focus / distracted due to low fuel, lowish blood glucose...... hence the brain kicking into "safe mode", i have seen this with my kid on the road.

Can literally die one, if not appropriately addressed as you can make mistakes then. Cannot play for road cycling.

sales69

0MYooTn.jpeg

I added to wishlist. Then today price drop to RMB735, $136.38. 😲

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods.html?ps=tOrY14t739

Cannot buy because another 3 pairs on the way. Somemore I can't run fast now, avoid hampering plantar recovery.

rECKleSSfElla

I added to wishlist. Then today price drop to RMB735, $136.38. 😲

Cannot buy because another 3 pairs on the way. Somemore I can't run fast now, avoid hampering plantar recovery.
Its official price cut by Qiaodan since their TB official store also drop to 749rmb. Dont know got chance to drop below 700rmb or not to fight with Lining Feidian 6E. Seen a few youtube comparisons between the 2 shoes and its seems the Feiying Plaid 3.0 foam is firmer and more stable than Feidian 6E. In theory it should be more suitable for your plantar.

Add: From their TB listing, they are gonna launch some new colorways for the Feiying Plaid 3.0 soon so maybe now they trying to discount and clear out the old colorways.

sales69

Its official price cut by Qiaodan since their TB official store also drop to 749rmb. Dont know got chance to drop below 700rmb or not to fight with Lining Feidian 6E. Seen a few youtube comparisons between the 2 shoes and its seems the Feiying Plaid 3.0 foam is firmer and more stable than Feidian 6E. In theory it should be more suitable for your plantar.

Add: From their TB listing, they are gonna launch some new colorways for the Feiying Plaid 3.0 soon so maybe now they trying to discount and clear out the old colorways.
Ya I'm warming up to firmer and stable shoes now.

Better for plantar and also feeling every push-off seems to remind my mind to check the running form.

I think coming pre-618 sale will have chance of more discounts haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.