jogging and motivation thread

GlassDoor

Like this

I just tried it, around 80 secs for me.

It has something to do with one's baseline sensitivity to CO2 being too high.

To improve your carbon dioxide (CO2) tolerance, you need to safely expose your brain's chemoreceptors to mild, controlled feelings of "air hunger" so it resets its alarm threshold for when you feel the urge to breathe. [1]

Daily Foundations
  • Exclusive Nasal Breathing: Keep your mouth closed during daily activities, walking, and light exercise. Mouth breathing expels too much CO2 and keeps your baseline sensitivity high. [1, 2]
  • The 30-Second "Breathe Light" Drill: Sit upright, take a normal breath, then gently slow down your airflow so your inhales become nearly imperceptible. Create a mild, comfortable sense of air hunger for 30 seconds, then rest and breathe normally for 1 minute. Repeat this cycle 5 times. [1, 2]

Structured Passive Protocols
  • Box Breathing: Practice Box Breathing (inhale, hold, exhale, hold) for 2 to 3 minutes, 1 to 2 times per week. Set the duration of each side of the box (e.g., 4 or 5 seconds) based on your baseline test scores. [1]
  • Cadenced Breath Counting: Set a timer for 5 to 10 minutes. Inhale softly through your nose for 4 to 6 seconds and extend your exhale to be slightly longer (6 to 8 seconds). Lengthening the exhale helps retain and build up tolerance to CO2. [1, 2]

Active Integration
  • Nasal-Only Exercise Intervals: During a brisk walk or light jog, commit to 100% nasal breathing. If you are forced to open your mouth to gasp, slow your pace immediately until you can maintain nasal control. [1]
  • The Step-Count Exhale: While walking, take 5 normal rhythmic nasal breaths. On the 5th breath, let your exhale out as long, slow, and steady as possible, counting your steps as you empty your lungs. Track your step count over weeks to measure your progress. [1]

same about 70+ secs almost 80 for me.. tried twice. quite fun. i try again tomorrow :ROFLMAO:

edit: cannot resist tried a 3rd time managed to cross 80. this one imo more will power than anytging leh...

Ender

Technically cannot be at VT2 for nasal, but i guess if you gek between VT1 and VT2 it might be possible....you can try with 5km, will be very very siong and restrictive since 20+ min or so no joke.

You wanna build the diaphragm muscles or something? I think i have heard before some athletes cramp there or something. Or CO2 tolerance by your body. I tried quite a few years ago (I think the beginning of this thread actually) one test in which you hold your breathe and test, for me i tried it and i found i was in the excellent range.......ie very high tolerance to CO2 buildup. Let me try and check if i can find it.

all the ai also say unlikely vt2 for nasal also. actually all the nasal breathing i do is not forced and comes naturally. I am actually used to it from the years of slow running. anyhow... i go experiment and trial and error.

i came across a test to get the exact cross over mark. starting from the near max pace you know you can sustain full nasal then gradually +0.3 on the treadmill every two minutes until your body is force to utilised the month to breath. that the cross over mark. back off 0.3 to 0.5 and test if you can sustain that for 20mins.... if ok then that is the threshold to train.
I asked SRY before. Want to guestimate LT1 pace without lab test, the quick and dirty way is your race pace that last 3 hour. So if your FM is more than 3hour, it is likely slower than LT1 pace.

WussRedXLi

I asked SRY before. Want to guestimate LT1 pace without lab test, the quick and dirty way is your race pace that last 3 hour. So if your FM is more than 3hour, it is likely slower than LT1 pace.

Oh, that's new info to me.

Actually i think for those who are running rather important races (@GlassDoor !!) such as Boston in which not only did you paid good $$$ fpr everything. there is the element of luck to enter (or any of your big 5), best to just get a lactate meter and ramp test on the track. Just cost a pair of western running shoes nia. The best advantage is that every few weeks you can test as you get improvement, ie more or less "real-time" for the lack of a better word and so you track closer to training at the correct paces.
Heck it's like half the cost of a proper coach monthly nia.

But rather lehche to use for even performance minded folks for the long run lah , is really only for aiming for important goals.

WussRedXLi

Well, he is Singapore's full ironman record holder and his perspective is if you are getting the top brand apparels and shoes. He himself is sponsored la so for him no need pay haha.

Recently saw a tiktok vid of him joining the "Crazies" ride, which is a very fast ride in SG.....in national jersey though i am not sure if that is the official one of any training team.

Sometimes social media can be quite "damaging". More than 10 people. On youtube, i have come across 3 videos in which they were taken down and channel deleted even when they posted up videos of them running red lights and then got comments saying they had made police report already. All 3 were CCP5 type

Somemore he is rather well known one. But i guess legally, illegal grp size still not as damaging as red lights. :cry:

WussRedXLi

same about 70+ secs almost 80 for me.. tried twice. quite fun. i try again tomorrow :ROFLMAO:

edit: cannot resist tried a 3rd time managed to cross 80. this one imo more will power than anytging leh...

Yea there is a small element of willpower in it, but technically what i remember from a few years ago is that you need to let go once you hit a pretty uncomfortable level and that is the timing.

Not do until die die hold your breathe and get someone to get ready to do CPR on ya kinda state. :ROFLMAO:

So most probably high 70s is your level now.
Anyway, minimal connection with running or any sports ba, more on ability to tahan discomforts in breathing and keeping calm in race etc.

GlassDoor

Oh, that's new info to me.

Actually i think for those who are running rather important races (@GlassDoor !!) such as Boston in which not only did you paid good $$$ fpr everything. there is the element of luck to enter (or any of your big 5), best to just get a lactate meter and ramp test on the track. Just cost a pair of western running shoes nia. The best advantage is that every few weeks you can test as you get improvement, ie more or less "real-time" for the lack of a better word and so you track closer to training at the correct paces.
Heck it's like half the cost of a proper coach monthly nia.

But rather lehche to use for even performance minded folks for the long run lah , is really only for aiming for important goals.
did one 2+ years ago... during that time purpose was to get correct zones to train for zone 2.

me think me really wierd guy... i am running bydsim just to get a BQ timing that is safe for BM 2028. And for that is just to fulfil a bucket list when I still can do it :ROFLMAO: . It's never about timing. and the marathon pace is there cos I need to BQ. So when I was drafting the plan for the training block I kept asking myself what I enjoy most about running. It is actually full nasal breathing runs..cos u never get breathless and after finishing you always look forward to the next one. So I begin to harbour this idea..what if I can get another big bonus out of this plan which is to bring full nasal running pace up to my target marathon pace and for the whole marathon distance. So here I go down the rabbit's hole and will do a mini experiment over the next 3+ weeks to see if it viable.

ps... this is my passing time rant cos sudden heavy rain just when I was about to step out of house for run.

milkiee

in peak condition isit? i can't imagine doing faster than 6:00 and feel that it's easy lol

Ender

in peak condition isit? i can't imagine doing faster than 6:00 and feel that it's easy lol
LT1 is actually not easy pace. If you do long run, continuous at that pace you know it is not easy at all. Only the first 45 minute is ok. After one hour it not easy liao, coz you have to contend with muscle fatigue, hydration and impact tolerance. By 2 hour, impact very real, fatigue is real. So aerobically can last, but other factors makes it very uncomfortable. Most of us seasoned runners dnf because this, not aerobically
Hydration, solve with strategy. Muscle fatigue and impact is really no choice but more time on the feet and good recovery.

WussRedXLi

the boys are fast!

Yea quite fast, every year timing around there also.
Extrapolate a bit to 3k would be very low 9 mins. If they train a bit more for endurance, 16 mins flat 5k shd be no issue.

I actually learnt this the "hard" way. First went for grp rides and tot 14-16 year old boys can makan. End up i got dropped under some scenarios usually is uphill short surges, their w/kg is really good coz young and nubile and usually little bodyfat %. Not talking about running but cycling. Also, they are naturally better at shorter distance, then add young boy testosterone, sometimes is quite deadly combo. For old grandpas, usually we play it safer, have to consider safety lah, HR la, body temp / heat soak lah.
Since May i doing more structured training instead of just semi-structured, see how it goes.

Parkruns you also dont really see many youngsters gunning really hard.

GlassDoor

Yea quite fast, every year timing around there also.
Extrapolate a bit to 3k would be very low 9 mins. If they train a bit more for endurance, 16 mins flat 5k shd be no issue.

I actually learnt this the "hard" way. First went for grp rides and tot 14-16 year old boys can makan. End up i got dropped under some scenarios usually is uphill short surges, their w/kg is really good coz young and nubile and usually little bodyfat %. Not talking about running but cycling. Also, they are naturally better at shorter distance, then add young boy testosterone, sometimes is quite deadly combo. For old grandpas, usually we play it safer, have to consider safety lah, HR la, body temp / heat soak lah.
Since May i doing more structured training instead of just semi-structured, see how it goes.

Parkruns you also dont really see many youngsters gunning really hard.
unfortunately sg don't have the ecosystem to nurture them.
they are likely doing it out of glory for there their ala mater.

WussRedXLi

Also need to consider this, some of them might chut pattern, whether purposely or not purposely.

When gunning for the last mile (@ TMCR), i did notice before some of them like to cut rather close to front wheel. Then i could wipe out.
They crash nevermind, but i crash i have comparatively high chance of fractures.
Once, got one teen fella die die wanted to win me.....by hook or by crook. Could see his posture on the bike really on the limit and wavering liao.
Their testostrone sometimes need to keep in check.

CBK or not CBK, you decide

1F4Dyz4.jpg

oRzWcoB.jpg

dev_stg_prd

Also need to consider this, some of them might chut pattern, whether purposely or not purposely.

When gunning for the last mile (@ TMCR), i did notice before some of them like to cut rather close to front wheel. Then i could wipe out.
They crash nevermind, but i crash i have comparatively high chance of fractures.
Once, got one teen fella die die wanted to win me.....by hook or by crook. Could see his posture on the bike really on the limit and wavering liao.
Their testostrone sometimes need to keep in check.

CBK or not CBK, you decide

1F4Dyz4.jpg

oRzWcoB.jpg
Will dq?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.