jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Which is faster running or cycling. And what i meant by faster.
Faster burning your fats. And slim down

So all in all, if you talk about FASTER, then running.

But cycling has 1 big advantage if you have the disposable time in your schedule (eg those bui bui who are retired or semi-retired), you can do much more volume with cycling and not kill yourself. ie overall energy burnt is more for cycling, and if you are a type of volume or brute-force exercise junkie who thrives on activity, cycling wins 100%. If you are talking about zone 1 and lower to mid zone 2 for most fats oxidation, cycling confirm wins not even debatable, just on sheer brute volume.
You dont get tired or feeling spent as much skeletally or joints/tendons etc, just muscularly it is taxing but you'd get used to it.
note : that is just volume talk, you might not improve much in overall aspects of aerobic fitness past a certain point.

But the pic whole is not so simple, even though much more energy can possibly be spent without killing yourself, your brain would definitely want to replenish it one via the hormones (eg Grehlin), so you tend to over time still take in the necessary carbs/fats whatever, hunger pangs etc. So back to zero. Unless if you are SUPER SUPER strong in willpower and after burning you can resist, and also the feeling wont be good (Ever heard of the shitty feeling that bodybuilders go through during their peak phase, this is gonna be not dissimilar).

Very very punishing one. Total shiatty feeling.

Put it this way, i used to do close to 20hrs / week vol for cycling, now i cut to maybe 10, sometimes 12.
There is no way i could do this for running, at least from an attention and "tahan" span pov (the max i dd was 16km, then 17km, 18k i totally gave up already, was an absolute suffer fest no thanks to our weather mainly and literally no wind while running compared to cycling).

So, you choose your poison.

WussRedXLi

But then to be honest, 4-5hr long rides with many breaks during weekends also suffer fest lah if you are just after distance and volume......also no thanks to the weather. Even if you are able to get to bed at 9pm and practice good sleep hygiene at 8pm and totally Zzzz by 9.30-10pm and then wake up 5am and start at 5.30am, you'd finish at 10.30am, which is bloody hot even with cycling more cooling airflow.

You can do night cycling, but for me lagi worse, night cycle already after that no need to sleep until 3-4am.......then sleep for 2-3hrs suffer whole of next day, all other schedules gg. You night cycle on Friday night - Sat morning, no need to do so again on Sat-Sunday stretch. With early morning, still can fit in 2 long rides on Sat and Sun early mornings.

If early morning, i think less damaging. Just need to be able to sleep early on Fri night.

WussRedXLi

Sota's take on cycling and running in terms of performance enhancements

tuqOjhw.jpg

DsOzE9a.jpg

noinimod

Which is faster running or cycling. And what i meant by faster.
Faster burning your fats. And slim down
Changing diet is the fastest way. Remove all processed food, no sugary drinks (not even coffee with condensed milk), no snacks, only whole foods and clean meals. You'll see the fats melt off in no time. Sleep is also very important. If you don't sleep enough, your metabolism suffers and you burn less fat overall.

I think for sedentary people who haven't exercised in a long time, running can be exhausting and not easy to sustain as a consistent lifestyle activity. Cycling has an easier learning curve, but to burn off the same amount of calories as running, you need to cycle much longer. 20-30 mins cycling won't do much unless you're going at it intensively, in which case you might as well go running.

But whether you cycle or run, if the diet part is not fixed, it's impossible to lose fat fast unless the person has naturally high metabolism.

Loratadine10mg

Changing diet is the fastest way. Remove all processed food, no sugary drinks (not even coffee with condensed milk), no snacks, only whole foods and clean meals. You'll see the fats melt off in no time. Sleep is also very important. If you don't sleep enough, your metabolism suffers and you burn less fat overall.

I think for sedentary people who haven't exercised in a long time, running can be exhausting and not easy to sustain as a consistent lifestyle activity. Cycling has an easier learning curve, but to burn off the same amount of calories as running, you need to cycle much longer. 20-30 mins cycling won't do much unless you're going at it intensively, in which case you might as well go running.

But whether you cycle or run, if the diet part is not fixed, it's impossible to lose fat fast unless the person has naturally high metabolism.
Cannot at the moment.

I bought a lot of canned coffee with milk and sugar and bread and 🍣 sushi 🍚 with fish. And usually my snacks would be macdonalds.

I dont know any stall in Singapore will sell any unprocessed food leh..
Maybe I should just drink plain water for a start.

WussRedXLi

That really goes without saying, but for some people they cannot make drastic changes (or much changes) to their diet or food intake. For various reasons.
Ask them to cut out fast food or some hawker food is like....... ok better dont comment . Somemore for me is not for health reasons (I have zero medical conditions) but more for performance factors....but for me i also truly believe "there is no use crying over spilled milk" so the health aspect also factors in as well other than performance.

Some also cannot make drastic changes to their sleep, but quantity and also move their sleeping time forwards to make way for early morning sessions.

But to be fair, of coz in some cases it is impossble due to work or kids schooling.
For food, it is a conscious self-made decision(s).

But then from what i observed, a huge medical episode would change all this......for some it is temporary unfortunately, coz once remission they will continue the old bad habits. But for some, thankfully they stay that way coz they learned "it aint that bad" after all.
Another observation, some middle aged and elderly folks are stubborn as Fug. Not only my own observation but other pax also say this as well.

So, each pax own mileage may vary.

WussRedXLi

Hopefully next week klscm can go on man. My flight and hotel all booked already :s22:

Think can go on....... but depending on their SCSM specific rules abt Haze mgmt, it might be reduced distance format.
Lekas (basically same standard as SCSM type of event, but cycling equivalent) got outright postponed to end Nov.

We all can hope, but must be mentally prepared at the same time....it's volatile due to wind direction and also at the source (Jambi and South Sumatra) on how much smoke they are putting out, Kalimantan is lower risk but not impossible (eg last Monday their haze was same as us, all from Kalimantan)

Sarawak Energy marathon jitao cheonged, even though API was what......180+ from what he mentioned in the video, or was i AI searchong on the web. From my knowledge, Malaysia DOE APIMS only publishes moving average 24hr figures.
API 180 = our PSI 180 ..... same same.

WussRedXLi

Kuching marathon is this Sun, KLSCM is next Sat/Sun. Kuching marathon is i think the next biggest after KLSCM

The Powerman duathlon classic distance (10km-60km-10km) shortened to the shorter distance duathlon (5-30-5). Actually this is the biggest duathlon event in the world.

No refunds i think even though you pay more for the classic distance. 😅
But more importantly is the race "feel" and your time/effort spent training ba, i guess.

WussRedXLi

Cannot at the moment.

I bought a lot of canned coffee with milk and sugar and bread and 🍣 sushi 🍚 with fish. And usually my snacks would be macdonalds.

I dont know any stall in Singapore will sell any unprocessed food leh..
Maybe I should just drink plain water for a start.

How about say chicken rice, if got session few hours makan no issue lah......if not less rice. Can change to white rice if they have. Tell the chicken rice seller add additional oil......for me no add their soya sauce + sugar also. But i will take the ginger and chilli, which has sodium (I need the sodium). Also will drink the soup for sodium.
Dont take much of the skin. Or can do chicken noodles as well, same drill.

Same thing with economy rice, the gravy and choice of meat. You know the drill.

Morning you can do eggs, as many eggs as you want actually esp if you no medical cardiac issue atm. The extra protein would give you nice satiety effect. You wouldnt have any carbs craving (grehlin)...and yeah local folks usually WHACK solid insane amounts of carbs compared to even say fats (or protein) even though they are sedentary / little to no exercise type.

Sushi is good, vinegared rice etc. Soba is also good, can DIY. Actually sphagetti also not too bad, all in all, if you have relatively high volume and if after a bit of training your pace is high enough even easy (some run easy at 5:00 some easy is 8 to even 10:00 pace) then you'd need the carbs.
Carbs is not the enemy, if the literally final product the glucose is used literally instantly or short while after post meal, the insulin spike also not going to tbe there.

One more thing, add muscle mass other than just cardio and aerobic fitness......that is much more metabolically active and is the stuff that soaks up glucose and make you less insulin resistant and what nots. Our muscles pull glucose from the bloodstream or use the muscle glycogen directly. All +ve aspects.
Usually strength and most probably power also is increased with that, so that these are all multiple wins, esp if you are past age 50.

noinimod

That really goes without saying, but for some people they cannot make drastic changes (or much changes) to their diet or food intake. For various reasons.
You'd be surprised how many lay people don't know how many calories are in certain food choices and how the diet part does the heavy lifting of a health and fitness program.

The reality is that no one can outrun a bad diet. It's totally impossible. Unless the person has the typical high metabolism lanky african marathon runner type of physique.

ctstalin

Think can go on....... but depending on their SCSM specific rules abt Haze mgmt, it might be reduced distance format.
Lekas (basically same standard as SCSM type of event, but cycling equivalent) got outright postponed to end Nov.

We all can hope, but must be mentally prepared at the same time....it's volatile due to wind direction and also at the source (Jambi and South Sumatra) on how much smoke they are putting out, Kalimantan is lower risk but not impossible (eg last Monday their haze was same as us, all from Kalimantan)

Sarawak Energy marathon jitao cheonged, even though API was what......180+ from what he mentioned in the video, or was i AI searchong on the web. From my knowledge, Malaysia DOE APIMS only publishes moving average 24hr figures.
API 180 = our PSI 180 ..... same same.

Hopefully not man... Waste money and training block

WussRedXLi

@sales69

Scarlette no more promo for Kang shi fu.

Now i switched to their Sprite LEmon or Coca Cola. 8.6g/100ml and 10.6g/100ml respectively.

Unfortunately a bit low in pH, for me no issue coz i have iced water to rinse.

And best of all, still none of that BCRS bull sheet, but in Oct not sure when it will change. (coz i believe BCRS they set it into law / legislation liao)

Oh my....better stock up the 1.25L coke/sprite from China, $1.20 only. I still have a lot of those 500ml non BCRS containers i can use, been saving them up.....like close to 100pcs. :ROFLMAO:

Yes, under Singapore law, the Beverage Container Return Scheme (BCRS) requires a S$0.10 refundable deposit for pre-packaged beverages in plastic and metal containers ranging from 150ml to 3,000ml. [1]

Key Requirements
  • Regulated containers: Applies to plastic and metal containers holding 150ml to 3L of pre-packaged drinks. [1]
  • Deposit Mark: Starting October 1, 2026, selling these drinks without the official BCRS deposit mark and barcode is an offense under the National Environment Agency (NEA) regulations. [1, 2]
  • Producer responsibilities: Local manufacturers and importers must register with BCRS Ltd. and fund container collection and recycling. [1, 2]

sales69

@sales69

Scarlette no more promo for Kang shi fu.

Now i switched to their Sprite LEmon or Coca Cola. 8.6g/100ml and 10.6g/100ml respectively.

Unfortunately a bit low in pH, for me no issue coz i have iced water to rinse.

And best of all, still none of that BCRS bull sheet, but in Oct not sure when it will change. (coz i believe BCRS they set it into law / legislation liao)

Oh my....better stock up the 1.25L coke/sprite from China, $1.20 only. I still have a lot of those 500ml non BCRS containers i can use, been saving them up.....like close to 100pcs. :ROFLMAO:

Yes, under Singapore law, the Beverage Container Return Scheme (BCRS) requires a S$0.10 refundable deposit for pre-packaged beverages in plastic and metal containers ranging from 150ml to 3,000ml. [1]

Key Requirements
  • Regulated containers: Applies to plastic and metal containers holding 150ml to 3L of pre-packaged drinks. [1]
  • Deposit Mark: Starting October 1, 2026, selling these drinks without the official BCRS deposit mark and barcode is an offense under the National Environment Agency (NEA) regulations. [1, 2]
  • Producer responsibilities: Local manufacturers and importers must register with BCRS Ltd. and fund container collection and recycling. [1, 2]
Recently bought a kang shi fu drink from Sheng Siong. They put on a BCRS sticker. Have to pay 10 cents...

Can consider this electrolyte drink from PDD. I bought before from SS for $1. PDD price about 60 cents each.

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods.html?ps=eh4YEjMleP

WussRedXLi

Recently bought a kang shi fu drink from Sheng Siong. They put on a BCRS sticker. Have to pay 10 cents...

Can consider this electrolyte drink from PDD. I bought before from SS for $1. PDD price about 60 cents each.

https://mobile.yangkeduo.com/goods.html?ps=eh4YEjMleP

Oh...ok. But vast majority of the time i no issue with electrolytes, coz the only electrolyte i need is sodium and usually is sufficient from diet..... most of the time long sessions my kid and i share 1 packet of instant noodles and then drink all the soup so that ranges from 800mg for GaGa indon brand to 1300-1400mg for chinese stuff)

Coz.......actually tbh, after so many years i have never cramped before, not even once. The only time i have cramped is in the pool, but that was like few decades ago when i was young.

Maybe genetics or what , i also believe it is heavily influenced by neurological and muscular factors. Dehdration and electrolytes, not so much from my own experience (but that's for my own body).

But i probably drop in performance and bonk way earlier than anything else, that one well known well experienced by me. :ROFLMAO: 🤭

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.