jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

Lol there are runners with the "run to eat, eat to run" mindset, they run long distances just so they can eat more, and then feel guilty and run off the food calories. Then rinse and repeat lmao :s13:
That's a big part of running. Even in the running club, most ppl look forward to eat dinner/breakfast together after the run. Can tcss and better yet find rs if lucky enough 😅
slowing down nao !
Next time I will join the slow group on purpose liao :evil:

WussRedXLi

Alot of runners I know anyhow eat one...In term of calories intake is alot more than average people.

For me i enjoy eating cleanly + more healthily. Not say health nut kinda foods but i avoid the worst foods.
For eg, instead of instant noodles (I used to absolutely dig that) i nowadays do soba or somen. Soba is best, but expensive. So mostly is somen. Ok lah........ Then use soba sauce, which is ok.
My carbo loading for the longer training sessions is usually 90g of somen.

I still enjoy some pineapple tarts, almond cookies, and some sort of i think tapioca chips for CNY. Just not a lot of those, a few pcs a day is fine.

WussRedXLi

Just for update. Wednesday i had to go see my GP due to consistent pain (bearable but is like needles pinching) on my bruised toe. It has turned blue black on the surface below the toenail.

My GP gave me medicine that reduces the swelling. Today is cny eve. The pain is no longer as bad but the coloration is still there.

My right elbow is still reeling from blister like pain (open blister that kind of feeling) and not much blood is coming out. I not sure zambuk did the trick. At times after shower, i will encounter pus oozing out (smell foul or similar to zambuk). Is that bacteria infection?

Been doing light exercises (half hr half hr and ytd 40min) since Tue. Can feel my strength is decreasing.

Think might need oral antibiotics if this persists.

Is the inflammation of the elbow wound really red + more importantly the red area spreading in size?
It shd be getting duller red by the day.

WussRedXLi

Wow.....tomorrow early morning can have a good hard run. Cool weather, just nice for 初一

WussRedXLi

Brouwer quite fast ( that ang moh in the vid that i posted recently). PB 18.14 and it's pretty official parkrun measured distance, not our GPS.

Cees BROUWER
Male
VM50-54
18:35

animeonegai

Foul smell from open wound is not a good sign. Please do sees doc asap. Strange that you use zumbak on a open wound. I only use them from blue/black type of bruise or strain.. Anyway it;s best to cover open wound if they are huge. Minimize exposure to environmental contaminants and also protects it from trauma like accidental abrasion.

Blacken big toe is common issue for runners. Usually can run with minimal pain, and eventually will lose the nail. But a new nail will grow soon. My right toe has gone thru several of this cycle. But take note, for me the pain level is low. But your is painful so take a break would be good, or run in those ving or y sandals for a while.
I have been closing it for the 1st 3 days. Yesterday, open to let it dry. The bandage area is itching alot especially the arm area (reddish like lots of mites bite). After some time it let out some smell and liquid.

I had blacken toe before. And it is due to issues on your foot striking and running shoes. Hence I changed to training shoes as its wider at the front and heel is closer to ground in general. And like I say, the bruises are at outer corners of the toenail.

Think might need oral antibiotics if this persists.

Is the inflammation of the elbow wound really red + more importantly the red area spreading in size?
It shd be getting duller red by the day.

From what I can see is that there are 2 areas of the wound. One is kind of superficial and one is quite deep (due to the fact it hit the same area on a old scar). The deeper portion I had to cut a portion of the skin after I fell to prevent dirt accumulation. The superficial area is healing. But it is the deeper one that still hurts even now. My right body abrasion heals till today then I dont feel much pain.

WussRedXLi

he damn steady, at his age can run so fast.

Think his 5k is a ard a good 1 min below me (18.14), i suspect for GPS really need to allow a bit of buffer even though on the map it looks good the line no shortcuts , and even though i already purposely run and took the time @ 5.02k etc. Same age grp tho......

Not sure what is his 10k timing tho. He ran a 39.57 that time in the vid i shared.

xllms

Think his 5k is a ard a good 1 min below me (18.14), i suspect for GPS really need to allow a bit of buffer even though on the map it looks good the line no shortcuts , and even though i already purposely run and took the time @ 5.02k etc. Same age grp tho......

Not sure what is his 10k timing tho. He ran a 39.57 that time in the vid i shared.
below 40min for 10km at 50/60 yr old is incredible

xllms

龙年大吉!First Run in the year of dragon.
Screenshot-2024-02-10-09-37-17-66-d4809424e5a924e1603f7bdd2e10c44f.jpg

return run 5.5km @ 7'58"

Mecisteus

For the year 2023, I was struggling with insertional achilles tendinitis.

Went for an xray and found there is a bone spur on my left heel.

I had a habit of slipping through the shoes with a fixed knot on the shoe laces. Shoes is still firm though but not 100% secure.

After tightening up the shoes, the pain on my heel is gone now.

So tighten up your shoe laces. It is very important. Just sharing this wisdom.

Run well, safely and healthily. Happy New Year. Huat ah.

sph777

Just for update. Wednesday i had to go see my GP due to consistent pain (bearable but is like needles pinching) on my bruised toe. It has turned blue black on the surface below the toenail.

My GP gave me medicine that reduces the swelling. Today is cny eve. The pain is no longer as bad but the coloration is still there.

My right elbow is still reeling from blister like pain (open blister that kind of feeling) and not much blood is coming out. I not sure zambuk did the trick. At times after shower, i will encounter pus oozing out (smell foul or similar to zambuk). Is that bacteria infection?

Been doing light exercises (half hr half hr and ytd 40min) since Tue. Can feel my strength is decreasing.
Get well soon. Sometimes may be best to completely let it fully recover

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.