jogging and motivation thread

luei74

Haiz this week probably single run, evening rain at my place and removing wisdom tooth 🦷🦷

Hopefully Saturday can have a recovery exercise πŸ™πŸ™

WussRedXLi

Weather now quite shiok to go run :crazy:

Already changed and ready. Now surfing and youtube a bit, 8pm go hoot liao but will be really easy one and listen to music.

Coz yesterday double session and total of 3.5hrs out there. Also quite cooling. πŸ˜–

WussRedXLi

After reading this, I feel it's good to bring some form of a ID. I used to print my name and my wife's contact for emergency when I run. I laminate it printed info and use transparent heat shrink to attach to my old Garmin silicon strap. When I changed to nylon band on my Coros, I am lazy to make another one.

Better wear lights even if not road running / crossing a lot of roads. Flashing lights best. Red rear front white. If not running below 5.00 pace no need for front illumination, just wear flashing can liao.

PMD e-bikes, cyclists. Too many joggers wearing black even when it is near pitch black (eg MBS area at some times / some conditions). And some cyclists one kind also, no lights. I already near miss a fair number of times but heng i don a lot of lights so the onus is on them to avoid me.

Rail corridor dont say, is rare, but also got people exercising without lights, in literally pitch back cannot see conditions.

WussRedXLi

This taobao knock off as good as Naked?

I dont know the quality of naked. But the Chitto running one serves the purpose great.

Im not you of coz but i think you shd feel the quality to be more than usable ba.
For me is i am a simple man, cheap and value for money first and foremost. :ROFLMAO:

The others, their mileage may vary.

Ender

Better wear lights even if not road running / crossing a lot of roads. Flashing lights best. Red rear front white. If not running below 5.00 pace no need for front illumination, just wear flashing can liao.

PMD e-bikes, cyclists. Too many joggers wearing black even when it is near pitch black (eg MBS area at some times / some conditions). And some cyclists one kind also, no lights. I already near miss a fair number of times but heng i don a lot of lights so the onus is on them to avoid me.

Rail corridor dont say, is rare, but also got people exercising without lights, in literally pitch back cannot see conditions.
For this particular accident, it happened at 7am, so visibility wasn't the issue. The ID tag I suggest is because the family members was only informed around 10pm, more half a day later, coz he couldn't identified.

bbbbbw

The takumi 10 very easy to clean cos it’s a mesh material so I use tissues and water to remove mud and dirt from jogging in slight rain past few days

Ender

I dont know the quality of naked. But the Chitto running one serves the purpose great.

Im not you of coz but i think you shd feel the quality to be more than usable ba.
For me is i am a simple man, cheap and value for money first and foremost. :ROFLMAO:

The others, their mileage may vary.
Will get some for the coming Tao bao major sales. These need to buy extra, due to rotation and elasticity will degrade over time, so having a spare is convenient.

WussRedXLi

For this particular accident, it happened at 7am, so visibility wasn't the issue. The ID tag I suggest is because the family members was only informed around 10pm, more half a day later, coz he couldn't identified.

Side topic : you may not believe the below info of coz, but just some info for anyone who are interested in being as safe as possible, though there are no 100% guarantees.

From a cyclist and driver pov/experience, actually visibility is quite a possible issue at 7AM.
Dont say 7am, even broad day light 10am in also it could be the issue. DRLs and fluorescence under daytime (UV) do help, from studies, but not fully, but it does help at a certain percentage.

Actually didn't wanna post this, but just a few days ago i banged someone (lightly) at exactly that time), at that corner of the cycling track between 1 marina boulevard and Promonitory. I couldn't see him at all and he was probably day dreaming. But all is well, he did not blame me after i explained that i totally could not see him due to his dark clothing. He cannot blame me, i was operating well within the confines of the law.

The issue is that at speed, drivers (or cyclists themselves) cannot react fast enough. The faster the speed, the easier it is to screw up. Remmeber, it is a combination of both party's speed, not only 1 single party.

For my bike for day time i am operating specific lights that are visible under full sunlight conditions.
ie Cygolite Hypershot 350s, multiple units. I have other lights of coz but this particular one would make the user the most visible. These are only used during weekends coz only then would my sessions get past 8am and into around 10am, and sometimes afternoons also i will get out there.
You use at night or even dusk/dawn, sure get scolding, esp in the bloddy irritating modes. It's literally blinding, to say the least.
As tested before, this would give you the best chance vs a PHV driver poking at his mounted mobile phone, it would work ok in such situations. Or on e-bikes poking on their devices (i shared before i nearly kena t-boned by such a bugger before with the right of way for me, now i operate side lights as well)

But not against extreme cases like a drunk driver etc.

Bonus

WussRedXLi

Will get some for the coming Tao bao major sales. These need to buy extra, due to rotation and elasticity will degrade over time, so having a spare is convenient.

No issue ba......i used it a good few dozen times already. Good enough quality. No need to buy too many, really it would just be sitting in the closet.

The TB headbands (li ning) also, i used to use them daily last year, so that's several hundreds times already.

WussRedXLi

One more thing, actually lights like these are actually illegal to be operating in EU, so........ heh, that gives you an idea.
Or put it this way, this orangey-red light from experience it is both brighter (higher in lux) than the (red) traffic light and also with the flashing you would stand out better than the (solid red) traffic light. The wavelength of the light is a bit shorter than our red LED traffic light,

@ pedestrian crossings / roads / parks the peck order is like that : Motor vehicles > cyclists > pedestrians

So......at the end of the day, you do what you have to do depending on how you see things.

WussRedXLi

Run with these guys sure shiok shiok, no need coach liao. Also got jp xmm barking timing. :ROFLMAO:
Even if cannot be with them, just imagine that you are in the video.

WussRedXLi

5k Ran until exploded. No skills to use RPE. Now i know i cannot live without the watch (mainly is coz still relatively new to running). That kind of pace is my intervals. I knew iw as in trouble when 2km mark i felt my HR a bit too high, i too chuan. Usually 1st 1km, 2km i chillax feeling........
Damage has been done.

Decided to play it save when not feeling too well after passing 4k and left upper hamstrings a bit sng. That part i kena slight slight injury before (nothing serious tho).
If really pushed and then kena similar injury like ITBS during AHM last year, then that's another 8-12 weeks out of serious action, and maybe even affect cycling. o_O o_O :eek: Lagi dulan then.

Live to run another day. Anyway it would still not be much of a PB (probably not more than 5-10 seconds) even if i could maintain all the way till 5k.

TqjgFu0.jpg

ARHjOFP.jpg

WussRedXLi

Out of curiosity, how many pairs of shoes do you guys own?

3 pairs Puma Deviate Nitro 2. (supposed to be 4 pairs, 1 pair got stolen). 1 pair of this is for work (coz i run to and from work, and also lunch go back to house to makan also run).
1 Puma Electrify (also for work)
1 Puma Deviate Elite v1
1 Asics Novablast 3
1 NB Rebel 3
1 NB SC Elite 3
1 Adidas Takumi Sen 8
1 Saucony Endorphin Speed 3
1 Saucony Endorphin Pro 3
1 Qiaodan Plaid
1 Hoka Rocket X 2

I think not getting Alphafly 3 already. No point. It wouldnt make me a better/faster runner. Buy bicycles better. :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.