jogging and motivation thread

Ender

To me Maju is shorter. My watch says 2.2 km but it is an indoor carpark so hard to say gps is working well
I doubt can trust gps if there's shelter. Got to assume the pti had measure the course with those measuring walking stick with a wheel.

Ender

Good points! I'm looking to do something like that when I transition to shorter distance races next year. Sounds like a different game as compared to training for a FM.
So soon transit to shorter distance. I still have 4 FM to go before 60 yo, which will be when I stop chasing my goal and back to maintenance mode running.

Skyrillex

So soon transit to shorter distance. I still have 4 FM to go before 60 yo, which will be when I stop chasing my goal and back to maintenance mode running.
I'm also going to become unker soon already. :ROFLMAO:

But personally I feel that its because HM don't need to have such high weekly mileage which I'm doing currently and instead focus on more speedwork and I can also do other sports too.

Ender

I'm also going to become unker soon already. :ROFLMAO:

But personally I feel that its because HM don't need to have such high weekly mileage which I'm doing currently and instead focus on more speedwork and I can also do other sports too.
Ya, do what you deem can sustain a longer active lifestyle. Coincidently, I will also be concentrating on HM as max race distance after 60 yo. But if opportunity arises to go for oversea race , then it is the FM.

WussRedXLi

Came across this, just posting ....... just in case it might be relevant to some here

Kuudere

I reckon your 10k timing is around 42-43mins? Looking at your long runs effort and HR
Currently, 41.38 ran in hot evening weather.

Might be faster than that now, but haven't tried it due to the hot weather.

When I was 43 min 10k, I was averaging 5.20 - 5.25 min/km for long runs.
Good points! I'm looking to do something like that when I transition to shorter distance races next year. Sounds like a different game as compared to training for a FM.
Yeah that's just a breakdown of what long run should be. What I seen, is usually 80 - 105 minutes. 90 minutes is a good sweet spot.

Doing more is better than less, since it allows you to transit to HM easily from 10k.

Not so sure if I would do HM this year though. Maybe if there's Sundown or Marina Run like back in 2023. Will sign up to either one of these two since both are evening/night runs.

I feel that he might be a better 200 than 100 runner. His starts in 100m not very good, but have strong acceleration.

WussRedXLi

I feel that he might be a better 200 than 100 runner. His starts in 100m not very good, but have strong acceleration.

Im just in total awe that he is just 16. Like how some older folks like age 60 65 can also really run/bike.
2 ends of the extreme

WussRedXLi

You can probably get below 40 mins in excellent conditions ba, eg cool day 26-27 deg C heat index + prepped ice water / sponges / cups etc. If you are really close to 40 mins eg below 40:30, just shoot a few times, 1 time sure tio (That's my experience)

If too lehceh Just try in the AC gym with fan and 0.5% gradient. Im not anal about such things, doesnt matter if it's "on the treadmill and AC-ed with fan"

ps Dont bother trying today, just now some places hit 42 deg C heat index. :ROFLMAO:

Ender

You can probably get below 40 mins in excellent conditions ba, eg cool day 26-27 deg C heat index + prepped ice water / sponges / cups etc. If you are really close to 40 mins eg below 40:30, just shoot a few times, 1 time sure tio (That's my experience)

If too lehceh Just try in the AC gym with fan and 0.5% gradient. Im not anal about such things, doesnt matter if it's "on the treadmill and AC-ed with fan"

ps Dont bother trying today, just now some places hit 42 deg C heat index. :ROFLMAO:
Again, don't ever try to TT on gym's tread mill. There's good chance most public gym tread mill are not calibrated properly. Cost and hassle. If just want to feel good why even bother with the 0.5% gradient.

Ender

The only good thing about today's hot weather is my two shoes washed last night, was dried fast and not smelly. If tomorrow is the same, can bring out all shoes to sun them.

WussRedXLi

Again, don't ever try to TT on gym's tread mill. There's good chance most public gym tread mill are not calibrated properly. Cost and hassle. If just want to feel good why even bother with the 0.5% gradient.

Friend,seriously i think you are really overly serious leh

I did not even mention the word TT, not even quotes.
Was just merely suggesting to him can just try try.

Relax lah. .

He is 41 mins, just try and see if it can get below 40 in cool weather while waiting for cool weather. Nothing serious, he no race atm

Coz If one are so serious about TTs, an AC-ed 20 deg C condition with fans cant even be counted as a TT as it is totally artificial

Kuudere

Im just in total awe that he is just 16. Like how some older folks like age 60 65 can also really run/bike.
2 ends of the extreme
I just hope he can deal with the pressure. Because now that he is known, everyone else want to focus their expectations on him. Can be a good or bad thing. Also, other junior runners will want to overtake and beat him. Got to see how he can rise to the occasion.

In Sg, going to be quite hard to get those conditions. Maybe go gold coast and run 10k like Shaun Goh? He ran 10k races in gold coast and melbourne this year on two separate occasions and did well. :geek:

I done threshold run on gym before and it doesn't seem to match up to my biomechanics due to my constant pace fluctuation. I think threadmill is good if you are a consistent pace runner.

I thought it was only 34C earlier, didn't expect it to be 42C
The only good thing about today's hot weather is my two shoes washed last night, was dried fast and not smelly. If tomorrow is the same, can bring out all shoes to sun them.
Yeah, my shoes were extremely wet during the rainy season, mostly due to running on puddles. So, even when I washed it, it got smelly quickly. Also, the shoes are heavier to run in when it gets wet.

But at the same time, I don't enjoy running in hot weather since I get more tired easily.

The best is slight drizzle, I like that the best since there's no puddles and you get to run in cool weather.

WussRedXLi

In Sg, going to be quite hard to get those conditions. Maybe go gold coast and run 10k like Shaun Goh? He ran 10k races in gold coast and melbourne this year on two separate occasions and did well. :geek:

I done threshold run on gym before and it doesn't seem to match up to my biomechanics due to my constant pace fluctuation. I think threadmill is good if you are a consistent pace runner.

I thought it was only 34C earlier, didn't expect it to be 42C

Yea im not a treadmiller neither. Though artificially only a gym can replicate much more chilly conditions that we can get than actual SG weather, that's prob the only way to try test how much temps affect your performance.
Absolute accuracy of the treadmill aside.

42 deg C i mean by Heat index temperature. Hottest temp just now was 36.2 deg C peak for a while at Paya Lebar.

Running overseas really no cross my mind yet...... $$$

Skyrillex

Ya, do what you deem can sustain a longer active lifestyle. Coincidently, I will also be concentrating on HM as max race distance after 60 yo. But if opportunity arises to go for oversea race , then it is the FM.
Yea since if you have the opportunity to go for overseas race might as well just take it slow and enjoy the race and surroundings. And also i feel that now HM is like the perfect distance to race in without the need to really emphasize on longer runs (25km+), which i really dreaded as time goes by.

Yeah that's just a breakdown of what long run should be. What I seen, is usually 80 - 105 minutes. 90 minutes is a good sweet spot.

Doing more is better than less, since it allows you to transit to HM easily from 10k.

Not so sure if I would do HM this year though. Maybe if there's Sundown or Marina Run like back in 2023. Will sign up to either one of these two since both are evening/night runs.

Sundown i think is as equal as gone as i heard from some running groups, as for what kind of rumors I'm not too sure.
I ran in Marina Run last year, and it was actually quite well organized. But of course there's this local problem of HM distance not tally and race roads not barricaded properly. If there is one next year i hope the organizers can do a better job.

Ender

Yea since if you have the opportunity to go for overseas race might as well just take it slow and enjoy the race and surroundings. And also i feel that now HM is like the perfect distance to race in without the need to really emphasize on longer runs (25km+), which i really dreaded as time goes by.

Sundown i think is as equal as gone as i heard from some running groups, as for what kind of rumors I'm not too sure.
I ran in Marina Run last year, and it was actually quite well organized. But of course there's this local problem of HM distance not tally and race roads not barricaded properly. If there is one next year i hope the organizers can do a better job.
Someone mentioned sundown was sold to china company. Most don't think it is coming back.

bbbbbw

jog a new route today. the other side of the ulu pandan pcn connector. from clementi road to boon lay way and back...

Skyrillex

Someone mentioned sundown was sold to china company. Most don't think it is coming back.
Yea probably, that's why they had a race in Nanjing.

AHM would be excellent if there is one next year though. Not only cheap but the overall race was well-organized.

Ender

Yeah, my shoes were extremely wet during the rainy season, mostly due to running on puddles. So, even when I washed it, it got smelly quickly. Also, the shoes are heavier to run in when it gets wet.

But at the same time, I don't enjoy running in hot weather since I get more tired easily.

The best is slight drizzle, I like that the best since there's no puddles and you get to run in cool weather.
If you have shoes that still smells, and tomorrow weather is anything like today , hot and low humidity, bring them out to sun for a few hours.

WussRedXLi

Disclaimer :
Just watch for entertainment.
Im just interested in things related to speed, that's all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.