jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Hard core. Completed a dream bike. Nothing major to upgrade already.

Sunday i heard so many whoomp whoomp whoomp sounds passing me that i nearly ejaculated.
Now i also want whomp whomp whomp.

But bo bian, i lowly paid lowly educated, so this kinda cheap thrill suffices
(but srsly, i have thought about it from all angles, this is the best option for the type of riding i do)
I also dont want "only" trispokes for front/back coz so many bromptons doing it liao....nvm that they are 349.
If it was a road bike + rear disk then lagi more impractical. This is the best compromise liao

Back to training next week, for next year race.

(I'll be going for the full boring black)
5KQKUvj.png

sph777

Sunday i heard so many whoomp whoomp whoomp sounds passing me that i nearly ejaculated.

(but srsly, i have thought about it from all angles, this is the best option for the type of riding i do)
I also dont want "only" trispokes for front/back coz so many bromptons doing it liao....nvm that they are 349.
If it was a road bike + rear disk then lagi more impractical. This is the best compromise liao

5KQKUvj.png
How well did u do?

WussRedXLi

How well did u do?

Not below 2hrs. 2:09:xx.... For reference that xmm who did 1:28 SCSM 2024, last year standard duathlon did 1:51 or 1:50 i think, this year 1:41.
My run i training that time estimated i could do 4:20-4:30 pace and still be in around LT1 ish low LT2 at most, end up did 4:46 and then 5:02 i think. The bike also slower coz i never expected the climbs to be that terok and impactful to the timings, coz downhill that time i could not be in full aero tuck to try regain back....so end up uphill slow (obviously) and then downhill also not as efficient/fast.
3 major climbs : A is Sheares bridge towards rochor exit, then B is after Ophir flyover climb up Sheares again, then C is ECP towards Prince Edward climb Sheares again.
There is 1 minor climb as well, Beach road turn right (rather slowly) into Ophir flyover so you cannot use momentum to carry you up and through it nicely.
The huge number of u-turns also kills momentum...quite terok.

So basically is a huge energy sapper, 32km here is not 32km cycling trip in your local group rides at other places, maybe can be compared to doing 32km over at Sentosa?

Same with running lah....uphill is slow, then downhill you are actually trying to brake with the quads and use energy coz gradient is quite high. If gradient is gradual 1-3% then very shiok, just pedal as normal and enjoy. Same with running, just coast down and recovery back as much as you can.

rarenick

5KQKUvj.png

I have a road bike if want to go fast.

Also have a crius bifold for pcn riding. Using fat tyres to slow myself so that I can hit zone 2.

My spin bike at home is for weekday training.

bbbbbw

First road bike straight away 18k. Not simpur.

Dunno why he was asking for recommendations. Should have told him bastion or pinarello.

Actually last time my bro lent me his Brompton which got me keen in cycling. I wasn’t ready for a road bike so considered a mountain.

But mountain is slow so I bought hybrid. Bought sirrus cos one of specialized shop locations was near my house- just cycle to service next time.

Initially wanted to buy sirrus 5.0 but changed to 4.0 cos didn’t like the 5.0 colour for my size. Cycled a mixture of mainly pcn and some road.

Considered canyon aeroad but they don’t have a brick and mortar shop. So went back to specialized cos of their shop location near my house.

It’s easy to filter which model cos it’s always the popular tarmac. SL8 expert has smaller roval wheels and sram rival so not really feeling it.

Was looking at sl8 pro but didn’t really want ultegra and they willing to order a sram force.

Then I thought why not sram red “no need to upgrade anymore” so considered Sworks.

Actually I also considered pinarello dogma, Scott addict RC and factor ostro vam but I like the shop location near me so can go there see see look look whenever I free

WussRedXLi

Tomorrow i also going to GP to take 2 days of recovery.

Quite lethargic in office these 2 days.

Ok go koon liao.

sph777

Not below 2hrs. 2:09:xx.... For reference that xmm who did 1:28 SCSM 2024, last year standard duathlon did 1:51 or 1:50 i think, this year 1:41.
My run i training that time estimated i could do 4:20-4:30 pace and still be in around LT1 ish low LT2 at most, end up did 4:46 and then 5:02 i think. The bike also slower coz i never expected the climbs to be that terok and impactful to the timings, coz downhill that time i could not be in full aero tuck to try regain back....so end up uphill slow (obviously) and then downhill also not as efficient/fast.
3 major climbs : A is Sheares bridge towards rochor exit, then B is after Ophir flyover climb up Sheares again, then C is ECP towards Prince Edward climb Sheares again.
There is 1 minor climb as well, Beach road turn right (rather slowly) into Ophir flyover so you cannot use momentum to carry you up and through it nicely.
The huge number of u-turns also kills momentum...quite terok.

So basically is a huge energy sapper, 32km here is not 32km cycling trip in your local group rides at other places, maybe can be compared to doing 32km over at Sentosa?

Same with running lah....uphill is slow, then downhill you are actually trying to brake with the quads and use energy coz gradient is quite high. If gradient is gradual 1-3% then very shiok, just pedal as normal and enjoy. Same with running, just coast down and recovery back as much as you can.
Still a good timing. Sheares bridge is madness. To do it multiple times is crazy.

WussRedXLi

Still a good timing. Sheares bridge is madness. To do it multiple times is crazy.

For 80km bike (5 laps) with the triathlon, 1 fella on youtube GPS recorded 680m of total elevation gain 3 big climbs and 2 small ones per lap. The 3 big ones are Sheares of coz and smaller ones the flyovers.

No do strength training is either DNF or walk up lor. (seen quite a few walkers)

But this year better than last year as it was raining last yr. Was so scared coz even on Sat there was a Sumatra squall in the morning, but passed just 10km south of Sentosa. Thur also squall.
Last year many folks crashed after the first flyover coming down and turn right, coz that part was a narrowing (Rochor bridge flyover 4 lanes and then hard right narrow to 1 to 1.5ish, and with bumps coz often road/construction works there i think condo or something)

gDHbmoY.png

WussRedXLi

Dunno why he was asking for recommendations. Should have told him bastion or pinarello.

Nowadays also got some fuerdai effect here in SG. (CN not uncommon liao).

That is also why i am training my kid, confirm hardware limited next time but i want him to be strong enough to still be on par. Some/many girls are also very affected by branding. Then it's a vicious cycle between the sexes, endless comparisons.

For us middle age liao of coz we dont really care or are affected by such things, if got then is bonus enjoy it with good health, if dont have still carry on do your own journey and still reach your destination.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.