Friday (Morning WFH) – Strength Training
Pull-Ups
Dips
Dumbbell Curls

Saturday (Morning) – 8km Jogging

Sunday (Morning) – Strength Training
Pull-Ups
Deadlift – Squats – Overhead Press Compound
Resistance Band (Chest, Rotators, Triceps)

Ender

Don't dare to mega dose. MY weight shot up tremendously after I started my 5g creatine regime. From a 62 to 65 kg fluctuating weight, now I am a 68to 69 kg. No change in diet and exercise load. I had never crossed 65kg in my entire life til Creatine. Going to be obese soon if I megadose LOL.. Also these added weight are detrimental to my running goals where I should aim for lowering body weight.

WussRedXLi

Don't dare to mega dose. MY weight shot up tremendously after I started my 5g creatine regime. From a 62 to 65 kg fluctuating weight, now I am a 68to 69 kg. No change in diet and exercise load. I had never crossed 65kg in my entire life til Creatine. Going to be obese soon if I megadose LOL.. Also these added weight are detrimental to my running goals where I should aim for lowering body weight.

For 5g daily and around 60-65kg range, i think plus 1-1.5kg is for sure one, that's my experience. Water weight. Other youtubers also reported similar figures, so not isolated egs.
But yours seems quite a bit, easily 3kg i think cannot siam. Interesting......not sure what happened but as usual i guess outlier figs are always possible.

For sure the weight is detrimental for running, + more than 3kg no joke. 1kg still ok. For cycling (climbing) also.....but luckily the vast majority of cyclists here not really into climbing. heh.

I did 10g a few days liao, i think for sure fart quite a bit........ see if this goes away as my intestines get use to it or not. If not then bo bian, 2 x 5g a day lor.

WussRedXLi

How is this training plan? Good or not?

Monday (Evening) – Cycling

Tuesday (Office) – Strength Training
Dumbbell Rows
Twist Bar
Push-Ups

Wednesday (Evening) – Cycling

Thursday (Evening) – Stretching

Friday (Morning WFH) – Strength Training
Pull-Ups
Dips
Dumbbell Curls

Saturday (Morning) – 8km Jogging

Sunday (Morning) – Strength Training
Pull-Ups
Resistance Band (Chest, Rotators, Triceps)

Very healthy, lots of aerobic/cardio and strength. Also can be called performance based liao esp if the running/cycling includes VO2max intervals (esp if you are screened medically and cleared).
Just make sure nutrition + recovery focussed can liao, the latter just focus on decent sleep hygiene is best bang for your buck for the most mileage.

One more school of thought, you can train the fast twitch + motor units (motor neurons + fast twitch fibres and maybe a bit of intermediate twitch 2A fibres). Also trains the neuro pathway.
For running, add some sprint interval training, short ones 50m can liao, prehab with the usual PF, AT strengthening and maybe first few weeks just do 2 sprints per session, later then 3, then 4. No need to do too many. Really neuro work plus some benefits like RE, running form etc.

For strength/cali/etc, concentric motion just burst up, eccentric take 3-4 seconds. Enough liao.
Explosive stuff, like clapping push ups, or just burst type half reps 2 reps per second.......dont just do fully controlled slow ones with weights/resistance bands (we aint bodybuilders or aiming to be one).
Or basically plyometric type movements........
I am sure the impact and stuff adds to bone density as well, not only lower body but upper body as well. eg clapping push ups sure toughens the wrist and maybe clavicle collarbone and humerus, albeit slowly.....though am sure it would compound and add on over years of training + good nutrition.

His channel a bit controversial, not all would agree with him, but i think a good % he says makes sense.
Dont have to do those siao lang 1m type box jumps, but single leg pogo hops (bent knees for hitting more soleus part of the calfs if you want the best for running) would already do wonders for running....even though it's "just" basic plyo.

Ender

Very healthy, lots of aerobic/cardio and strength. Also can be called performance based liao esp if the running/cycling includes VO2max intervals (esp if you are screened medically and cleared).
Just make sure nutrition + recovery focussed can liao, the latter just focus on decent sleep hygiene is best bang for your buck for the most mileage.

One more school of thought, you can train the fast twitch + motor units (motor neurons + fast twitch fibres and maybe a bit of intermediate twitch 2A fibres). Also trains the neuro pathway.
For running, add some sprint interval training, short ones 50m can liao, prehab with the usual PF, AT strengthening and maybe first few weeks just do 2 sprints per session, later then 3, then 4. No need to do too many. Really neuro work plus some benefits like RE, running form etc.

For strength/cali/etc, concentric motion just burst up, eccentric take 3-4 seconds. Enough liao.
Explosive stuff, like clapping push ups, or just burst type half reps 2 reps per second.......dont just do fully controlled slow ones with weights/resistance bands (we aint bodybuilders or aiming to be one).
I am sure the impact and stuff adds to bone density as well, not only lower body but upper body as well. eg clapping push ups sure toughens the wrist and maybe clavicle collarbone and humerus, albeit slowly.....though am sure it would compound and add on over years of training + good nutrition.

His channel a bit controversial, not all would agree with him, but i think a good % he says makes sense.

Actually I don't disagree with this old guy. His method works for old people. Only thing I am against is is always speaks against other methods which are also scientific base. It reminds me back to the old days when a lot of youtubers jump on the bandwagon to condemn heel strike and promoting forestriking or midfoot, even Sage Canaday too which he later backtrack and quiet down. Nothing wrong with those forefoot or midfoot strike they are promoting.

VonDeVous

increasing your weight also more taxing for your knees ya?

Ender

Started using China gel for my training. First used of this brand CPT for a 2:16 hour long run. Not as nice as M-action in taste. Can't tell if it works, but just completed the run as expected with the same expected fatigue.

The one with SuBingtian face has electrolytes, so should be good for long runs, to tahan the loss of electrolytes. But it's not enough to replenish, a full isotonic drink is still needed post run. The other one has medicinal taste, won't be buying it anymore.

CPT.thumb.jpg.a4fd3f285ab78e7262302dd0a88bdcfa.jpg

rarenick

Maybe these are muscles weight, not fats?

sales69

Started using China gel for my training. First used of this brand CPT for a 2:16 hour long run. Not as nice as M-action in taste. Can't tell if it works, but just completed the run as expected with the same expected fatigue.

The one with SuBingtian face has electrolytes, so should be good for long runs, to tahan the loss of electrolytes. But it's not enough to replenish, a full isotonic drink is still needed post run. The other one has medicinal taste, won't be buying it anymore.

CPT.thumb.jpg.a4fd3f285ab78e7262302dd0a88bdcfa.jpg
Nice. I wanted to get these gels initially but opted instead for Pocari dupe electrolyte powder.

Arrived yesterday. Will try later.

Also bought Plaid 2 and GouGe insoles.

Recently experimenting with different insoles after good results with those from Mizuno Wave Sky.

China no brand "step-crap" insoles also not bad. But these are thicker and cause big toe pain.

rarenick

Dont have to do those siao lang 1m type box jumps, but single leg pogo hops (bent knees for hitting more soleus part of the calfs if you want the best for running) would already do wonders for running....even though it's "just" basic plyo.

I like to slowly fine tune. Will consider all these in future. Now I just make sure I have consistent exercise and sleep. Food wise still need to buck up.

rarenick

extreme mentality will say running bad for knees, should swim instead. used to receive such comments from some people
1f602.png

Just do within our own abilities and let the body adapt and gradually become stronger. Those who overtrain/overstrained, did the wrong movement, too sudden, etc, then get worn and injured. Dont do then lose that function.

tanminghui1

I realised in jogging great runners have huge mileage

Like this video where they interviewed 2 Malaysian runners who got below 2.30. Both have >100km per week. If someone is disclipined to run 100km per week, most probably they can hit below 3

sph777

I realised in jogging great runners have huge mileage

Like this video where they interviewed 2 Malaysian runners who got below 2.30. Both have >100km per week. If someone is disclipined to run 100km per week, most probably they can hit below 3
@Kuudere mentioned this in the thread before:

https://www.threads.com/@sagecanaday/post/DEN9YawRXyJ?hl=en

Sage coached many people over the years and he recommended 85-100k/week of mileage, for a shot at breaking sub-3 overseas. 100-130k/week to gun for 2:40s, at which point should be realistic volume to go for sub-3 marathon in Sg.

So far, I only know two friends in my running circles that average 85-100k/week and both don't have family commitments (single by choice) and have solid work-life balance. One of them owns his business so have flexible schedule to run.

Apart from this, whether you get into injury and hamper your training performance is another matter altogether. The friend who owned business ran 30k (sg weather) in 4:15-4:16 min/km pace and was gunning for sub 3-hour marathon this year until he encountered an injury which set him back to running 3 times a week.

There are of course, some local runners that have fantastic marathon PR that don't run competitively in Sg. Know of 1 guy - Derek Li, ran 2:39 marathon and 1:14 HM overseas. Given the weather in Sg, it's not too surprising really.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.