jogging and motivation thread

Ender

i have a garmin forerunner 45S. is there any test to identify your HR zones?
Garmin has their own Lactate Threshold(LT) Test which can get your estimated LT HR and Pace. Then you use Threshold HR for zoning instead of Max HR. This would be the most practical that give you a close enough way to zone short of doing the actual Lactate Threshold or VO2Max test in a Laboratory($$$) to get your LT HR and Max HR respectively.
But I don't think your model has it. Only the mid range and higher end models and it requires an external HR chest strap monitor.

You can google how to do LTHR test. There's a few variations on the internet, most would require you to run your lungs out for around 30min.

Some watch like my Coros Pace 2 or if you upload your runs to Training Peaks, they have auto LTHR detection after some number of runs. However this may not be as accurate as the actual LTHR test.

Once you have your LTHR, just set this HR into your zone setting in Garmin and remember to change the calculation method from default Max HR to LTHR.

Ender

This Sunday while we are having our amateur moment at Stand chart, Bekele and Chaptegai will compete at the Valencia Marathon. Will we see a Anta shoes on the podium? Bekele sometimes can DNF.

The_Davis

just completed daily run for Nov.

ryANLUd.png
Wow 😮 daily 5km

when grow old I want to be like you 😂

Ender

For those looking for thick cushioning, this one is really right there max cushion. I keep hearing the two hosts saying this shoes upper is very plush here plush there, not for heavy sweater like me. It's a sweat collector with minimal breathability..

xllms

20231201 1degC brooks hyperion tempo
11.3km @ 6'03" average
freezing cold, left home and went back to change into a thick fleece hoody and glooves
despite doing dynamic warm ups, left calf start straining at 6+km and by 7.5+km cramp up liao 🤣

WussRedXLi

Drizzling till 6AM just now here South side.
Grounds still very wet now at 8am (even my normal Puma shoes front part start to get wet even just walking for 500m)

Think those going for SCSM need to prep and use shoes that can drain + employ other wet weather tricks to prevent chafing and broken skin/blisters due to wet weather.

EaffkHg.jpg

WussRedXLi

Not really suitable for running, but this type can easily get you into the mood for zone 4 / LT race/brisk walking, possibly cycling as well.

WussRedXLi

So far really haven't seen any chiobu on bikes. :unsure: Of coz i don't get on the roads......but no lululemons on roads anyway.

WussRedXLi

wah uncle if listen to this during running might get a heartattack hahahaha

Me lor....... early 50s liao. :frown:

But i think still can do........of coz do the specific personal FFI clearance first, i already done like close to 10 of those cheap body checkups, no cormorbidities detected.

Last time early 30s my heart got a bit wierd feeling, but checked on stress test treadmill no abnormalities.
Didnt do calcium scoring etc those stuff tho......
However the wierd thing is since covid that time started to workout (first brisk walking then racewalking and now running/cycling) all my wierd feelings all gone. :grin:

milkiee

anybody did a professional running gait analysis before? was it useful for injury prevention?

Tudo88

Seems like will be a wet day for SCSM.Hopefully just light drizzle.

wonder how my VF3 will hold up in wet conditions.

Ender

Seems like will be a wet day for SCSM.Hopefully just light drizzle.

wonder how my VF3 will hold up in wet conditions.
Hopefully like last year, just a little wet and drizzle. Not the down pour type. Then it would be cooling.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.