jogging and motivation thread

Ender

It's not that I believe that coaching has no benefit, but a lot of that can be attained through clubs/self-training until at a level where you can't really make any form of improvement (mileage is there, not much local competition).

The paid clubs have good coaches and runners to train with as well, so until then, don't really see much point.
Ya, Running clubs has good trainers .

WussRedXLi

Hi expert guys, need your advice
Me intend to brisk walk 50km.
What is the good strategy that can endure the walk and won't feel both legs turn jelly fast.

Walking 50km is like nearly running 2 marathons in terms of energy expenditure. That means ultra running distance. So doubly confirm that you really want to achieve this.
Or something like leisurely cycling 200km on a cheap foldable bike.

Just fuel nicely every 60 mins and take many breaks. :ROFLMAO: And make sure no blisters/chafing for the legs/groin.
Actually those really tight running shorts is a good idea, or cycling shorts/bibs. Cycling duration is usually really long, their apparels and design pay really good attention to chafing.

WussRedXLi

Not true lah piang. People do deep tissue release to loosen up the ITBS and that's damm hard massage ok.

That's the thing, though i am not trained in physio rehab but from what i researched i think i tend to believe that the IT band cannot be loosened via massage or foam rolling the IT band. The band utself is too tough. It is either hit or miss or sometimes worsen things.
At first i was also tempted to get a foam roller and roll away the IT band to try to loosen and help with my pain , recover any scarred areas. Heng i did not do that. I hit myself with NSAIDs for 4 days and luckily most of the pain (inflammation) subsided and i slowly ran again after 6-7th day, short distances......coz i remember them saying not to totally cut activity as one of the points among many.

Instead masssaging is focused on other muscles like the TFL and glutes. Not the IT band. which is not the root cause. Of coz i am not trained in this area so the pax affected gotta see the physio/physical therapist for professional help if interested. For myself i was ok to first "DIY" so no issue.......but i don't wanna confirm other's decision over here of coz.

So when i heard esp the "gua sha" ie chinese thingy, i believe better don't anyhow........esp if the fella doing is not qualified and then whack the IT band itself and cause even more irritation. Got articles and vids stating this as well.

https://www.physioandfitness.com.au/massage-versus-foam-roller-for-the-itb/

WussRedXLi

I rather go for those paid running club, but even then it only makes sense if I am sub 40 min 10km like that. Because for the free clubs, not many can reach that pace and you end up with no one to pace with.

Wait...... actually what is the real reason that you or others here wanna engage trainers or even 1-1 etc?

I think i agree with bro Kuudere....if talking about 19-20 mins 5K and 40 mins 10K standard, can actually DIY like me, though it might take a fair bit of time. But remember, consistency and discipline. You all rushing for time like wanna hit that goal of 40 min for AHM 2024? No mah. If lower than that, then yeah maybe it's better to get proper guided training.

Either that or non-private running clubs, am sure over there got fast runners of 39-40 mins 10k runners of that calibre, just need for them to show up and then get to know them, it's sooner or later ba. Maybe if not 1 club then jump to another. That would accelerate things a bit via smarter /structured training.
^^^^^^^
but for one reason or another, i still cannot bear to turn up for any club runs, or for that matter group rides for cycling. Not sure why.....i like OTOT and ad-hocness.

It's not impossible if your day job allows for it, all of you are quite a bit younger than me also. I don't know if i got good or avg genetics, but i am very sure the vast majority here are quite a bit younger than me (and Ender).
For me i did not do any structured training at all, but one thing i know, one of my mindset is that i really hate "losing", ie not able to attain my goal, though of coz don't anyhow set sky high goals lah. My mindset is like that. If i see someone riding fast, i also gun. Actually last time when i play cars, also like that.......probably is the character. But pls don't follow me, it is dangerous with regards to cycling and driving, nowadays i also mellowed a lot liao. Some of my pals last time play cars until crashed, 2 cases.
Now no money, so play running and cycling, coz also speed related. :ROFLMAO:

Coughs, though i think PTO goal i might not be fit enough to do decently well even if it's next year's 2025 aim.....that one might be a wee bit too high for me to train for after researching on what other amateur athletes can do (main thing i always come across is age and also years of training/experience, much more than me). Just to enter to prove that i can finish an event, that i am not really interested, for eg i enter SCSM to prove that i can run/walk 5-7 hrs and finish it and get the medal/finisher T-shirt, even if FOC i also wont do it. I also won't pay money to go PG or Sepang just to slow lap it.

Anyway, tbh one big reason is that 1-4k i'd rather spend on a bike or more shoes. :ROFLMAO:

Ender

Hmm....interesting. I read some pro cyclists and ex pro cyclists (turned coaches) who developed osteoporosis in their hips and legs later in life. Coz their training and life literally revolved around 1. cycling and 2. cycling and 3. more cycling. No impact one.

Advice is that it's better to cross train. Race walking / running. (racewalking got slight differences, eg i found racewalking not to irritate IT band vs running, ie i walked the last 3 km of AHM 10k, could not run at all)

Same goes for swimming.

So much for the adage that running is bad for your knees.

Cannot go to either extremes.
Coincident that Dr Mok Ying Ren wrote this on his FB page. Nothing new, but re iterate that running is not the factor for knee issues from a few studies. He listed the main factors which are,
BMI, Previous injury, family history.

He may be biased coz he is a runner and ex champ.

Interesting graph on Hip and Knee injuries vs the no. of marathons.

WussRedXLi

Oh one more thing, 19-20 mins 5k or 40 min 10k, i am sure those plans on youtube can do it. Even if you are not genetically gifted.
Though if you are middle aged and above 50, then possibly might be a bit problematic?

WussRedXLi

Coincident that Dr Mok Ying Ren wrote this on his FB page. Nothing new, but re iterate that running is not the factor for knee issues from a few studies. He listed the main factors which are,
BMI, Previous injury, family history.

He may be biased coz he is a runner and ex champ.

Interesting graph on Hip and Knee injuries vs the no. of marathons.

I think just adopt all the best practices around that one can easily search via google or youtube is more than sufficient. Avoid the extremes also.

You see, i always see similar examples like soccer......that one really could be very hard (intensity + duration), and you know when folks are younger, they just whack, ie training errors. If not properly conditioned and then suddenly exposed to such hard training + esp in a repeated manner weeks and even months for 1 season and then rinse and repeat for next seasion, then sure jialat.

Like if you think back to your and my NSF days, wah lao, you tell me.......how many training errors? Even stretching also got error. Simi si recovery? Got enough protein from the cookhouse food i arm chio liao, during our time. Quite often i did not even have time to properly wash my metal mess plate, if i wanted to properly finish my food, coz of the tekan.

WussRedXLi

Oh yeah one bloody irritating thing is chin ups. Before breakfast chin up bar. Before lunch chin up bar. Before dinner chin up bar. Do every day. This "can" improve the IPPT chin up result.

ctan84

That's the thing, though i am not trained in physio rehab but from what i researched i think i tend to believe that the IT band cannot be loosened via massage or foam rolling the IT band. The band utself is too tough. It is either hit or miss or sometimes worsen things.
At first i was also tempted to get a foam roller and roll away the IT band to try to loosen and help with my pain , recover any scarred areas. Heng i did not do that. I hit myself with NSAIDs for 4 days and luckily most of the pain (inflammation) subsided and i slowly ran again after 6-7th day, short distances......coz i remember them saying not to totally cut activity as one of the points among many.

Instead masssaging is focused on other muscles like the TFL and glutes. Not the IT band. which is not the root cause. Of coz i am not trained in this area so the pax affected gotta see the physio/physical therapist for professional help if interested. For myself i was ok to first "DIY" so no issue.......but i don't wanna confirm other's decision over here of coz.

So when i heard esp the "gua sha" ie chinese thingy, i believe better don't anyhow........esp if the fella doing is not qualified and then whack the IT band itself and cause even more irritation. Got articles and vids stating this as well.

https://www.physioandfitness.com.au/massage-versus-foam-roller-for-the-itb/

https://journals.riphah.edu.pk/index.php/jrcrs/article/view/1618

You were saying? You must be that WOT fella tat my ex-lecturer was talking about here who advocates "pseudo-science" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

FYI, deep tissue release on the ITB is a common recommendation that physiotherapists order for patients. But you do, you do it properly, from insertion to origin. I have seen "masseurs" done it the other way around.

Kuudere

Oh one more thing, 19-20 mins 5k or 40 min 10k, i am sure those plans on youtube can do it. Even if you are not genetically gifted.
Though if you are middle aged and above 50, then possibly might be a bit problematic?
Just wanted to add on this, apart from plans, there are also:

1. Running books (can get those for cheap)
2. Youtube (in particular recommend Sweat Elite) >> The CEO is a 2.20 marathon runner and he documents his workouts + other world elite runner workout. Do not have to worry too much about the times set by the elite runners but ideally should complete the same workout interval/repetitions pre-race.
3. Strava > Can follow the top local runners strava and get a sense of their workouts + timings

Lchlch

Walking 50km is like nearly running 2 marathons in terms of energy expenditure. That means ultra running distance. So doubly confirm that you really want to achieve this.
Or something like leisurely cycling 200km on a cheap foldable bike.

Just fuel nicely every 60 mins and take many breaks. :ROFLMAO: And make sure no blisters/chafing for the legs/groin.
Actually those really tight running shorts is a good idea, or cycling shorts/bibs. Cycling duration is usually really long, their apparels and design pay really good attention to chafing.
Thks bro.
I scare blisters and leg no strength.
Need to spread out my pace evenly n not do a fast walk in the beginning...?

Ender

Hi expert guys, need your advice
Me intend to brisk walk 50km.
What is the good strategy that can endure the walk and won't feel both legs turn jelly fast.
The last time you did 42km, head giddy. Taken care of fueling(snack with high calories), hydration (with salt like isotonic) and heat stroke. Do regular break rather than wait until struggle than rest.

sph777

It's not that I believe that coaching has no benefit, but a lot of that can be attained through clubs/self-training until at a level where you can't really make any form of improvement (mileage is there, not much local competition).

The paid clubs have good coaches and runners to train with as well, so until then, don't really see much point.
I think SRY probably eventual plan is for a paid running academy thing just that until he is back, probably can only do 1-1 coaching

sph777

Wait...... actually what is the real reason that you or others here wanna engage trainers or even 1-1 etc?

I think i agree with bro Kuudere....if talking about 19-20 mins 5K and 40 mins 10K standard, can actually DIY like me, though it might take a fair bit of time. But remember, consistency and discipline. You all rushing for time like wanna hit that goal of 40 min for AHM 2024? No mah. If lower than that, then yeah maybe it's better to get proper guided training.

Either that or non-private running clubs, am sure over there got fast runners of 39-40 mins 10k runners of that calibre, just need for them to show up and then get to know them, it's sooner or later ba. Maybe if not 1 club then jump to another. That would accelerate things a bit via smarter /structured training.
^^^^^^^
but for one reason or another, i still cannot bear to turn up for any club runs, or for that matter group rides for cycling. Not sure why.....i like OTOT and ad-hocness.

It's not impossible if your day job allows for it, all of you are quite a bit younger than me also. I don't know if i got good or avg genetics, but i am very sure the vast majority here are quite a bit younger than me (and Ender).
For me i did not do any structured training at all, but one thing i know, one of my mindset is that i really hate "losing", ie not able to attain my goal, though of coz don't anyhow set sky high goals lah. My mindset is like that. If i see someone riding fast, i also gun. Actually last time when i play cars, also like that.......probably is the character. But pls don't follow me, it is dangerous with regards to cycling and driving, nowadays i also mellowed a lot liao. Some of my pals last time play cars until crashed, 2 cases.
Now no money, so play running and cycling, coz also speed related. :ROFLMAO:

Coughs, though i think PTO goal i might not be fit enough to do decently well even if it's next year's 2025 aim.....that one might be a wee bit too high for me to train for after researching on what other amateur athletes can do (main thing i always come across is age and also years of training/experience, much more than me). Just to enter to prove that i can finish an event, that i am not really interested, for eg i enter SCSM to prove that i can run/walk 5-7 hrs and finish it and get the medal/finisher T-shirt, even if FOC i also wont do it. I also won't pay money to go PG or Sepang just to slow lap it.

Anyway, tbh one big reason is that 1-4k i'd rather spend on a bike or more shoes. :ROFLMAO:
For me it's cause hit the plateau, whether solo train or paid running club( safra tpy), not progressing any more so was really interested to get 1-1

WussRedXLi

https://journals.riphah.edu.pk/index.php/jrcrs/article/view/1618

You were saying? You must be that WOT fella tat my ex-lecturer was talking about here who advocates "pseudo-science" :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

FYI, deep tissue release on the ITB is a common recommendation that physiotherapists order for patients. But you do, you do it properly, from insertion to origin. I have seen "masseurs" done it the other way around.

Look bro, im not trying to argue with anyone here. "WOT" is just coz im just trying to share as much info as possible. As mentioned im not trained, but since i have had such experience b4, i hel;p.

1. When I see gua sha (chinese), i scared. Hence my sharing of info, coz i have been through ITBS, and no joke it struck suddenly during the last 3km of my AHM 2023. It was very bad, totally could not run.

2. Not stating massage doesn't work, but if you read my info, it's probably safer not to touch the IT band. But work on the surrounding muscles. The literature seems to be a bit mixed up.

Another issue is costs. Think a good few hundreds ($400? per session) was posted. So i posted my story of NASIDs and not touching the area, cross training etc.
I also know how to post medically or politically correct things but then to the suffering (eg me) we also need to look at costs. At what cost man?

Anyway, end of the day, i avoided touching be it the band or connecting muscles.

WussRedXLi

Thks bro.
I scare blisters and leg no strength.
Need to spread out my pace evenly n not do a fast walk in the beginning...?
The last time you did 42km, head giddy. Taken care of fueling(snack with high calories), hydration (with salt like isotonic) and heat stroke. Do regular break rather than wait until struggle than rest.

Weather also warmed up, see forecasts of up to 35 liao, really need to look at electrolytes, hydration.

Lchlch

Weather also warmed up, see forecasts of up to 35 liao, really need to look at electrolytes, hydration.
Yeah bro, the weather too hot, very thirsty too.
Especially along the coastal sides, the sea wond even make the walk difficult.

Lchlch

Thks bro...
I will go slow in the first half to conserve fnergy n hopefully legs won't feel any sore and pain...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.