jogging and motivation thread

Ender

But do you need to run continuously ?
A secret to ultra running is there are many walkings. Unless you are the elite level gunning for podium. Not just distance, if it includes trail, elevation is a major killer.

So far in edmw, I only know happyko did the 100km in 17hr plus.

Jeremy1

A secret to ultra running is there are many walkings. Unless you are the elite level gunning for podium. Not just distance, if it includes trail, elevation is a major killer.

So far in edmw, I only know happyko did the 100km in 17hr plus.

Just wondering the 100km is not a continuously one, still have makan break in between ?

huattoeat

This week runs feel good. So come here share share.

Screenshot-20240705-225357.png

First 5km at ~6:30. Next 5 at ~5:50.

Ender

Just wondering the 100km is not a continuously one, still have makan break in between ?
Depend on organiser bah whether they have makan station or not, else bring you own snacks or energy bar. How much makan break time is up to you. The longer you take a break, the longer your timing will be, as the clock still count when you stop.

Kuudere

Very close to my recent 10k pb in terms of hr and pace 153 bpm and 5:56/km
My guess yours is like zone 3 to 4 machiam very calm

I average about 148 HR for the 1hr 20 minute long run that Garmin made me do yesterday. Majority zone 3, can talk at this HR. 12 seconds in Z4 as expected since I did a 400m dash at 5k race pace.

Z4, hard to talk but still have some control. Z5, can't talk and no control :LOL:

WussRedXLi

But do you need to run continuously ?

Just check this fella out. Or can contact him?
https://www.youtube.com/@RunUncleRun/videos

Best to leave these 100km and above events to those very experienced ones. Even experienced fellas DNF not rare occurence. Can have other challenges. Or maybe it's coz for me i dont really take DNFs too well, so just keep it simple and short and sweet, gao dim. lol

For the vast vast majority of walkers/runners, it is not fun at all. There are other challenges, can try like walking faster than other joggers (already off my bucket to-do list).......in fact last year AHM i did just that coz last 3 km suddenly ITBS pain kicked in. :unsure: :ROFLMAO: Right Kneecap just could not be bent (extreme pain), maciam like auto lock-up....i walked @ 7min pace for 1km and then 6 min+ 2nd, and then final push 5min+ for last km.

Found it :ROFLMAO:

Anyway, from what i remember from such large scale events, lots of accelerations and decelerations needed once you get caught in "jam". Quite bad for the knees/joints. Coz many would be running at 6-8 min paces. You gun at 3.30-4.00 is sorta asking for trouble to yourself and risking injury nia, other than wasting a lot of energy to do that.

d7yStUE.jpg

Lchlch

Tio fever liao,😅. Last time I also like that, every day have to run, else don't feel right. Now with TAO scheduling my training, I designate Sunday as my rest day.
Jialet lah bro...
I tried to sleep longer today but my mind very unease, asking me go jogging, but i simply don't feel like it n body like gonna shutdown.

Jeremy1

Jialet lah bro...
I tried to sleep longer today but my mind very unease, asking me go jogging, but i simply don't feel like it n body like gonna shutdown.

Then go n run finish and continue to sleep after that :s21:

Lchlch

Because you're walking up in circle, hopefully won't faint :s22:
Bro ,last time I ever walk up to my house before, and then took lift to ground floor, walk up again.
Usually do 2 times, whole body sweat n in heavy panting unless jogging..

Jeremy1

Bro ,last time I ever walk up to my house before, and then took lift to ground floor, walk up again.
Usually do 2 times, whole body sweat n in heavy panting unless jogging..

I think it's even more tiring than running.

But don't know how is the vertical challenge be conducting since there will be a lot of people climbing the stairs at the same time, isn't it too crowded 🤔

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.