jogging and motivation thread

Lchlch

I think it's even more tiring than running.

But don't know how is the vertical challenge be conducting since there will be a lot of people climbing the stairs at the same time, isn't it too crowded 🤔
Bro I nvr join before .
I think batch by batch move uo.
When I registered, there are tume slot for you to choose.
Every 30 mins .
39 storey ..I think unlike hdb, their 1 floor equivalent to 3 floor hdb.
Now I just wait for confirmation first.
Then I update here again.
Should be fun.
And u think cannot chiong too fast, sure ponjiak. I thunk need to slowly walk up.

Ender

Bro I nvr join before .
Every 30 mins .
Should be fun.
And u think cannot chiong too fast, sure ponjiak. I thunk need to slowly walk up.
I also never join vertical marathon before. The lack of scenery changes is the main deterrence.

Lchlch

I also never join vertical marathon before. The lack of scenery changes is the main deterrence.
Bro I think the rewards will be when reach the top.
The sky view ?
I don't know where is Fraser Tower.

Lchlch

Oh just Google, Fraser tower is just opposite the tanjong pagar mrt.

Jeremy1

Bro I nvr join before .
Every 30 mins .
Should be fun.

This is not for people who had knee joint issues.

Lchlch

This is not for people who had knee joint issues.
Oh zhit bro, I forgot, I might hv knee issue!!! Anyway it foc.
If confirm, don't go also nvr mind

But I love to try.
Fraser Tower is just next to Tanjong Pagar mrt, my ex ex coy just across the road, SIA building.

Bring back good old memories...

Jeremy1

But I love to try.
Fraser Tower is just next to Tanjong Pagar mrt, my ex ex coy just across the road, SIA building.

That's why whenever I go to climb Bukit Timah Nature Reserve Summit, I don't usually take the steps up even though it's shorter distance.

Lchlch

That's why whenever I go to climb Bukit Timah Nature Reserve Summit, I don't usually take the steps up even though it's shorter distance.
Oh yeah I tried few weeks back hiking at bukit timah.
It is solid sia, yhe more I walk up, the more I panting n sweating. And it really let out everything inside you.

Jeremy1

Oh yeah I tried few weeks back hiking at bukit timah.
It is solid sia, yhe more I walk up, the more I panting n sweating. And it really let out everything inside you.

Now you need to train up liao

hip_programs

For males between 45-55 yo and sporty and healthy, and runs 10km/once per week but generally can stretch more.
What are the condition to stop? Should I still run and stop until I cant run any more when young?

Jeremy1

For males between 45-55 yo and sporty and healthy, and runs 10km/once per week but generally can stretch more.
What are the condition to stop? Should I still run and stop until I cant run any more when young?

Actually I think you can still run until you cannot run but maybe as you are getting older, you may want to slow down your pace so as not to give too much pressure on your legs.

Not sure what's your running form now 🤔

Just do not run until when you really got problem walking like what my sister friends now both got problems walking cause they stress their leg too much.

Kuudere

I think it's even more tiring than running.

But don't know how is the vertical challenge be conducting since there will be a lot of people climbing the stairs at the same time, isn't it too crowded 🤔
Can try next year's bizad charity run 10km, this was their route this year.

Very xiong because of a lot of hills/slopes. :LOL:

sales69

Mine is about 6min/km at 5km mark. After that slow down automatically.
I don't feel like joint issue though and I am not obese.
If you find you enjoy running, can run further by 10% every 3-4 weeks. Get comfortable with the distance before increasing.

Otherwise can always alternate with other exercises like walking, cycling, swimming, weights, resistance training, etc.

Ender

But I love to try.

Stairs climbing is great for the knees if done with gradual progression. But then it is also damaging to the knee if overtrained.
Better train those knees with squats and regular easy stairs climbing where you don't force to total exhaustion but yet able to progress gradually. Exhaustion and fatigue is where the risk of injury is higher.

Actually same with running, why some get runners knee and some don't. Need gradual progression with base building with weekly incremental mileage. slowly. Not every training need to train till fatigue or heh heh chuan, only less than 20% of the time will push hard. Actually I pushed hard maybe 10% of my weekly mileage niah.

Ender

Can try next year's bizad charity run 10km, this was their route this year.

Very xiong because of a lot of hills/slopes. :LOL:

NUS location very hilly.. Not for PB, but for the experience of hilly run.

Ender

Hard to tell you how much to run in exact numbers. Some people comfortable with less 30km a week, coz they cross train with gym and other stuff, Some solely running can run from 50 to 80km a week for average seasoned runner.

Do within your limit as to never end your run with total exhaustion or fatigue. no pushing for the extra 1km, no pushing of pace till need to breath from mouth. Slow is good for easy days, enough to sweat, but not enough to sore legs, or out of breath. For me. my easy days don't even need to do cool down. Reserve only one session a week for high intensity, the rest just easy run and enjoy it.

Can start 10km a week, a few month progress to 20km a week, for not serious running with no running goals and have othe cross training, 30 km a week is good.

hip_programs

Hard to tell you how much to run in exact numbers. Some people comfortable with less 30km a week, coz they cross train with gym and other stuff, Some solely running can run from 50 to 80km a week for average seasoned runner.

Do within your limit as to never end your run with total exhaustion or fatigue. no pushing for the extra 1km, no pushing of pace till need to breath from mouth. Slow is good for easy days, enough to sweat, but not enough to sore legs, or out of breath. For me. my easy days don't even need to do cool down. Reserve only one session a week for high intensity, the rest just easy run and enjoy it.

Can start 10km a week, a few month progress to 20km a week, for not serious running with no running goals and have othe cross training, 30 km a week is good.
Sounds like a good plan. I appreciate.

Kuudere

NUS location very hilly.. Not for PB, but for the experience of hilly run.
Yeah but as crazy as it sounds, I debut my first 10k race there lol, so it's as good as my PB at that time. Might try it next year

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.