jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

It depends on your current fitness. You can run sub 3 with low 18-min 5k (overseas adjusted timing since it's cooler) but must do high mileage or you can run sub 3 with low 17-min or high 16-min 5k like her. Her mileage is high 50s to low 70s, mostly focused on shorter track races.

I like her training approach more though, focus on 5k/10k. Occasionally go run a longer distance TT/race to get an idea of my current fitness.

Too many sets, 400s can be done with less sets (faster pace) or after longer intervals (end strong). Apart from that, maybe can use this as developmental workout into 800s. But since you already done 10x800, can just progress to longer intervals from there or add in a few 400s to end strong. Short rest definitely makes it more challenging, but would prefer longer intervals for 9.6k instead.

I dont know why but i think i will get killed for longer distances.

Actually quite easy, she posts her training vlogs and timetables weekly, so just follow and adjust the pace to one's preferred level.

WussRedXLi

Take a break.

Break / rest already do some rows + integrated good mornings / bicep curls. And push ups etc.

I just tested my endurance in aero position last evening. 40 damn fooking minutes. First time hooted so long. Last time was just 10-15 mins total. Last night not sure why i went bonkers, super motivated. Was sore last night after the workout. Hooted my 3g creatine + 1 scoop whey protein. This morning half scoop whey and 2 eggs.
Was expecting today i knn jialat maybe MC liao.... sure pain.

But now gonna go server room do my decline push ups and some pogo jumps / calf / tibialis raises. (y) Zero pain, and i do mean zero pain. Quite interesting.

I think the issue is more about under-recovery rather than the training part. Nail recovery.

I think i really can feel the difference after starting taking whey (Small portions, 2x a day) and creatine. More about the recovery part, and with that of coz comes improvement.

PBed last night...exact same stretch i use for testing so directly comparable. Sure it was wind assisted, but....still, fastest recorded and i could see the trend up from all the months. And i think recently the trend lagi up. To do with 10 - 30 secs max power output

AbxKtl9.jpg

sph777

Yesterday I am starting to see more serious runners along SK and Punggol. I guess some of them are starting their SCSM training liao. 18 weeks to go.
This year while increasing mileage, I am also doing cross training. Garmin half will probably be a good indicator of how the cross training is helping me

Ender

been experiencing some lower back pain, was a struggle to run last night
Try some hip extension exercises. I have slipped disc, once a while will get discomfort when my training load too high.
I used to have a bench, so will do the 45 degree hip extension exercise.

Since I have long disposed my bench, whenever I have discomfort I will use the edge of my bed and do this. Good thing with these exercise is your spine doesn't get compressed under load when compare to dead lift. I do dead lift too, but now is mostly this.

Jeremy1

Later will cycle 2 * 5.5km to ABC brickworks hawker center to dabao western also..... 6.10pm

Think will do the same thing as i did on Sat 4.30pm, wet my whole top and cycle. heh.... Plus pop some ice cubes into the bottle with just a wee bit of water.

Is the western stall still around, I couldn't find it 🤔

Lchlch

Yesterday I am starting to see more serious runners along SK and Punggol. I guess some of them are starting their SCSM training liao. 18 weeks to go.
Are you joining bro?
I might not, too expensive!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.