jogging and motivation thread

Ender

bro, may I ask ?

what is the different between barefoot and zero drop shoes ?

I am currently using Decathlon aqua shoes, if I want to change to zero drop shoes (altra), can I still have some strike feeling ?
Zero drop still can have thick cushioning like Altra. Altra is not minimalist in my book. Barefoot means no footwear. But some people also refer barefoot to footwear with no midsole foam. Just a piece of thin rubber between feet on ground. Like the Vibram five fingers.
Aqua shoes also close to barefoot. I also use Aqua shoes for my stadium track run when I had shin splint. But for road running, I have the Decathlon sandals and Diadora running sandals, which I used during wet days when ponding is expected.
Never try Altra before, but I had used Newton shoes with negative drop. You will land on the ball of your feet, but the feel it not the same. Basically the cushioned zero drop shoes don't have the ground feel of a minimalist shoes like aqua shoes or sandals. Having ground feel is what triggers your muscle to react any unevenness and hardness of the ground. I

Ender

i bought a china minimalist shoe from taobao. first day wearing it and i can feel a tingling sensation on my feet and my shin feels like it is being worked. i swapped it out with my regular shoes after half a day as i have a run later. scared injured :ROFLMAO:
Slowly rotate in lor. Don't be like me, last time got into the minimalist fad, straight away stop wearing cushion shoes and only run in sandals at >50km week. A few weeks later kenna achilles tedonitis.

dicxz80

Zero drop still can have thick cushioning like Altra. Altra is not minimalist in my book. Barefoot means no footwear. But some people also refer barefoot to footwear with no midsole foam. Just a piece of thin rubber between feet on ground. Like the Vibram five fingers.
Aqua shoes also close to barefoot. I also use Aqua shoes for my stadium track run when I had shin splint. But for road running, I have the Decathlon sandals and Diadora running sandals, which I used during wet days when ponding is expected.
Never try Altra before, but I had used Newton shoes with negative drop. You will land on the ball of your feet, but the feel it not the same. Basically the cushioned zero drop shoes don't have the ground feel of a minimalist shoes like aqua shoes or sandals. Having ground feel is what triggers your muscle to react any unevenness and hardness of the ground. I
Thank you for comprehensive answer

do you mind to share which model of Decathlon sandals and Diadora running sandals ?

dicxz80

the problem is both option will cause potential injury, just in different area

zero drop --> ankle
mid / high drop --> knee

WussRedXLi

Sorry, apologies first...... but this one must post.

This is some scary shiat. Broad daylight. Total negligence. Super big and bright double decker stopped there also can't see or notice, in addition to the lights.

LWZ

Sorry, apologies first...... but this one must post.

This is some scary shiat. Broad daylight. Total negligence. Super big and bright double decker stopped there also can't see or notice, in addition to the lights.

Why everyone just carrying on like he isn't ragdolled and not moving at all

人造人16 号

went jogging again today
Didnt feel as bad as the 1st time. But i ran slightly slower.

Tried to motivate myself by running behind a poly XMM wearing super tight yoga pants, but she's too fast for me to keep up :cry:

so now i set a short term goal, which is to be able to maintain speed behind XMMs so they cannot run away from me

Edit: 1.5km in 12+ mins
keeping my records here so next time i can look back and see whether got any improvements or not.

Ender

Jialat, for Sifan. Sibei hilly.

1st hill, ave 4% grdient for 1.25miles distance,
2nd hill, ave 5% gradient for 900m,
3rd hill is the killer, ave gradient is 10.5%,

Total elevation gained from these three hills according to the article is 1430 feet,~ 435m.

https://www.runnersworld.com/races-places/a61754661/paris-olympic-marathon-course/

What You’ll Want to Know About the Paris Olympics Marathon Course​

WussRedXLi

It's not uncommon in SG, from what i have noticed on the roads be it driving last time or now cycling/jogging. Coz i have come across cases like that as well.

Actually since you mentioned it, shall share it as well, i witnessed something similar just last night but relatively small issue.
A car was u-turning at a traffic junction, illegal u-turn and also not conforming to red arrow lights. ie (1) not supposed to u-turn at all and (2) even for turning cars it is red arrow, just that straight is green solid

A little girl of around 2-3 years old was standing at the junction island about 2 metres away from the mother holding onto her NTUC groceries and holding onto another kid. So the car decided to u-turn illegally and since it is a 2-lane road it is gonna be extremely tight and any sane driver would know you cannot complete the turn at the oppostite lane safely without encroaching onto the pedestrian area if you did not start off wider (ie more to the left) when you started.

Since this was an illegal turn, the driver did not turn slowly / safely as usual.....it's normal human behaviour lah.
Ended up the little girl nearly got mowed down as the lady driver encroached onto the pedestrian space, if she decided to just heck it.

I was the only fella who shouted "Eh.....what the Sh**" the very moment she started to turn, it was literally natural instinct for me. And after halfway i was the only fella who shouted really loud, eh eh eh eh.......coz i knew the little girl would be mowed down if the lady continued. And i was the only fella who screwed the lady driver, saying "Basket, actually she cannot u-turn over here, it's totally illegal". The car literally stopped just 1 metre away from the girl right at the edge of the pedestrian area, headlights straight into her face and me also.

Of coz I can't confirm if my loud shoutings helped or not as not sure if the lady inside could hear me, but the story is this, i was the only fella who shouted out of the approx dozen of pedestrians there who saw this.
But technically at least 2 did not see also lah, coz i was looking around after that and they were on their phones.
All others either stunned or non-chalant about the who episode.

ps. If i were not on my bicycle, i would probably have dashed forward to yank the little girl away liao. But most lilkely also too late, i was some 3 metres away and the car wasnt turning very slowly.

WussRedXLi

Jialat, for Sifan. Sibei hilly.

1st hill, ave 4% grdient for 1.25miles distance,
2nd hill, ave 5% gradient for 900m,
3rd hill is the killer, ave gradient is 10.5%,

Total elevation gained from these three hills according to the article is 1430 feet,~ 435m.

https://www.runnersworld.com/races-places/a61754661/paris-olympic-marathon-course/

What You’ll Want to Know About the Paris Olympics Marathon Course​

Yeah i also posted before , same......also most probably might not be good for Kipchoge.
But it will be intersting.....ie the ball is round one. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

ps

You know the SG society is ****** up when you are still doing your socials etc instead of calling.

DHTiAYN.jpg

k7iqE1e.jpg

WussRedXLi

Aussie Jessica Hull inside (Recent 2k WR holder)
Jpmm Tanaka also inside

Finals got things to see liao, Jessica still chilling along the last straight. Kipyegon needs to pace properly.

No sweat chicken feat lah....no need to breathe one.

PDTDT2H.jpg

OgErfAX.jpg

d1mVn7g.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.