jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

@rarenick

Do you know what are the "issues" with Java / Sava?

The Fuoco model now comes with full hydraulics and not like last year's cable actuated hydraulic, so shd be fine.

The "Decaf" carbon fibre any issue? Just for casual riding, no CCP5 definitely, no cycling races. Maybe T100 duathlon (again) but that's about it. Lone ranger training.
Flat pedals, not really a "true" cyclist but rather for sports. (In fact i posted those UK duathletes doing UK champs who can podium local T100 duathlon, they also run flat pedal and running shoes coz cuts down transition time, they are damn fast, 1st runner up first 5k he ran 18 min flat and second run 2.5k with a 2.4k equivalent of a 9:12 :oops: , bike leg flat course avg speed 36.5kmh....@ age 62 for the 1st runner up and the first place also i think is age 50+)

edit - stupid "Decaf" logo on the bars tho.... maybe i will tape it up or stick some sticker from Taobao or something.

And perhaps safer to just get ready stocks.
Coz deposit is 80%, not too comfy with that much.

My closest LBS is Hup Leong. Not sure if they are willing to service/troubleshoot such brands.

https://www.carousell.sg/p/2025-jav...er_request_id=TDwnNa1YKMpTe-sh&t-tap_index=20

https://www.carousell.sg/p/sava-r7-carbon-road-bike-–-shimano-105-di2-r7170-12-speed-electronic-groupset-full-carbon-frame-wheels-hydraulic-disc-ready-stock-1362456504/

Max tyre width is 28mm tho.....but i am ok with that
105 brakes, probably same as SLX 2 pot. Enough lah.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?a...803ddd772086578005bc322966"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

WussRedXLi

Also, i cannot bring the bike into the house. Not negotiable one. Locked outside and my 2 CCTVs cannot cover coz blocked by a corner.

So there is not way an expensive bike would work for me, even if given to me FOC or i win Toto Grp 1.

rarenick

@rarenick
Do you know what are the "issues" with Java / Sava?
The Fuoco model now comes with full hydraulics and not like last year's cable actuated hydraulic, so shd be fine.
The "Decaf" carbon fibre any issue? Just for casual riding, no CCP5 definitely, no cycling races. Maybe T100 duathlon (again) but that's about it. Lone ranger training.
Flat pedals, not really a "true" cyclist but rather for sports. (In fact i posted those UK duathletes doing UK champs who can podium local T100 duathlon, they also run flat pedal and running shoes coz cuts down transition time, they are damn fast, 1st runner up first 5k he ran 18 min flat and second run 2.5k with a 2.4k equivalent of a 9:12
:oops:
, bike leg flat course avg speed 36.5kmh....@ age 62 for the 1st runner up and the first place also i think is age 50+)
edit - stupid "Decaf" logo on the bars tho.... maybe i will tape it up or stick some sticker from Taobao or something.
And perhaps safer to just get ready stocks.
Coz deposit is 80%, not too comfy with that much.
My closest LBS is Hup Leong. Not sure if they are willing to service/troubleshoot such brands.
https://www.carousell.sg/p/2025-jav...er_request_id=TDwnNa1YKMpTe-sh&t-tap_index=20
https://www.carousell.sg/p/sava-r7-carbon-road-bike-–-shimano-105-di2-r7170-12-speed-electronic-groupset-full-carbon-frame-wheels-hydraulic-disc-ready-stock-1362456504/

Low end carbon bikes usually either reliable but heavy or lightweight but unreliable. However, over time, a bike brand will improve their bikes. If u ride slowly with java should be ok. How fast u intend to ride it? As for sava I suspect it is a copycat brand of java. If u want cheap and reliable, can also consider polygon. Alternative is aluminium bike, cheap n not so fragile unlike carbon. Most bike shops will repair other brands. But if they usually charging high fee for labour/repairs, it will be an overkill for your cheap bike.

WussRedXLi

Low end carbon bikes usually either reliable but heavy or lightweight but unreliable. However, over time, a bike brand will improve their bikes. If u ride slowly with java should be ok. How fast u intend to ride it? As for sava I suspect it is a copycat brand of java. If u want cheap and reliable, can also consider polygon. Alternative is aluminium bike, cheap n not so fragile unlike carbon. Most bike shops will repair other brands. But if they usually charging high fee for labour/repairs, it will be an overkill for your cheap bike.

Jialat....this one relatively "light", tmall said is 7.8kg without pedals. So probably not much material... haha.

Only issue is potholes, if cannot see then go over big ones at > 25kmh pinch flat liao lor. I kena twice before already. Just scared the CF crack and fail, haha.....

Im quite controlled with my speed, i only test high speeds at very well known stretches be it PCN or road.
So far PCN and roads my mileage is like over 30k km? (already gave up logging all rides, sometimes bike comp also out of batt lol). So not been riding for long but my weekly mileage is quite high....now is comfortably over 300km/week but weekends Sat/Sun with my kid is zone 1 basically.

Im also looking at the CAAD 13, which is 105 R7000 (the older 11 spd) at 2.6k.
I no issue with aluminum.......
Merida 6000 105 Di2 R7150 at 3.7k but seriously over my budget and risky to park outside.

Im ok with 170mm cranks (i am trying out 165mm on my foldie, about to arrive liao), coz my rides are often but never really above 50k. No issue with no bike fit......coz i have been doing lots of strength and plyo stuff (+ nutrition / supplements) since running, and before running was walking, so the base is all there already.
I even train my neck for maintaining aero tuck, my push up is 1.5 mins "TT" @ 63 reps, 50cm decline push up......i tested some weeks ago. So the deltoids, triceps, pecs no issue. Also train my traps (side lateral raises).

Longest i am able to maintain aero position (even on my foldie) i tested was 40 mins without a break....strong enough i can get quite low. T100 bike leg on and off 1hr 9 mins (IIRC) no issue.......gotta come back up on the technical sections. haha.

WussRedXLi

BTW, wanna ask what is the length for 700c wheels front to back for roadbikes ah?

If cannot fit in the lift easily i think can give up also, no need to think too much.

rarenick

BTW, wanna ask what is the length for 700c wheels front to back for roadbikes ah?
If cannot fit in the lift easily i think can give up also, no need to think too much.

Around 165cm front to back, also depending on bike's wheel base measurement. You push the bike front into the lift then turn the steering to one side like 90 degree angle and push the bike in some more, it will fit in. Otherwise if desperate, u can lift up the front vertically like a wheelie position, it will give u lots of space. Can even fit in 2 full size bikes.

rarenick

Jialat....this one relatively "light", tmall said is 7.8kg without pedals. So probably not much material... haha.
Only issue is potholes, if cannot see then go over big ones at > 25kmh pinch flat liao lor. I kena twice before already. Just scared the CF crack and fail, haha.....
Im quite controlled with my speed, i only test high speeds at very well known stretches be it PCN or road.
So far PCN and roads my mileage is like over 30k km? (already gave up logging all rides, sometimes bike comp also out of batt lol). So not been riding for long but my weekly mileage is quite high....now is comfortably over 300km/week but weekends Sat/Sun with my kid is zone 1 basically.
Im also looking at the CAAD 13, which is 105 R7000 (the older 11 spd) at 2.6k.
I no issue with aluminum.......
Merida 6000 105 Di2 R7150 at 3.7k but seriously over my budget and risky to park outside.
Im ok with 170mm cranks (i am trying out 165mm on my foldie, about to arrive liao), coz my rides are often but never really above 50k. No issue with no bike fit......coz i have been doing lots of strength and plyo stuff (+ nutrition / supplements) since running, and before running was walking, so the base is all there already.
I even train my neck for maintaining aero tuck, my push up is 1.5 mins "TT" @ 63 reps, 50cm decline push up......i tested some weeks ago. So the deltoids, triceps, pecs no issue. Also train my traps (side lateral raises).
Longest i am able to maintain aero position (even on my foldie) i tested was 40 mins without a break....strong enough i can get quite low. T100 bike leg on and off 1hr 9 mins (IIRC) no issue.......gotta come back up on the technical sections. haha.

Park outside buy alu frame alu wheels, lesser risk to get stolen as compared to full carbon bike. Install air tag if u using Apple.

For potholes that u can see, do ebrake, swerving or bunny hops. My favourite is bunny hops. Then also if it's at night, make sure your front light is bright enough for some distance ahead. If daytime cannot see, then u got to relook into why u cannot see. Is it u too distracted?

rarenick

Anybody got try the dr stretch. Is it worth it ?

Tried once. I don't mind the stretch. You might feel some pain at first but u will also feel shiok as though u become younger and more agile. There are pros n cons to stretching/over stretching. Worth it or not is subjective, but to me I feel close to $100 is too ex. But if I could not stretch myself no matter how hard I try from watching and following YouTube video, then perhaps going to Dr Stretch will be worth it. All boils down to your objective and whether it is affordable to you.

Crimsom

Any recommendations for true wireless earbuds for running?

My jabra elite 4 active spoiled. Wanted to buy the same but jabra discontinued the entire line of consumer product series.

rarenick

Any recommendations for true wireless earbuds for running?
My jabra elite 4 active spoiled. Wanted to buy the same but jabra discontinued the entire line of consumer product series.

To me, any ordinary earbuds with water resistance can already. I'm using edifier x5 pro. During sale is around $29. Sound quality is good for listening to songs. The mic with anti noise is also good for phone calls. The touch/taps functions are customisable. A very good but understated earbuds of this price range. Even better than Creative which I used to buy many sets.

WussRedXLi

Park outside buy alu frame alu wheels, lesser risk to get stolen as compared to full carbon bike. Install air tag if u using Apple.

For potholes that u can see, do ebrake, swerving or bunny hops. My favourite is bunny hops. Then also if it's at night, make sure your front light is bright enough for some distance ahead. If daytime cannot see, then u got to relook into why u cannot see. Is it u too distracted?

In those 2 cases I only chanced upon the potholes at the last min and as usual when going over any bumps to minimize impact is that i'd stand up a bit for my legs to absorb. This is also to minimize crashing,
But i guess the potholes too big, both cases rear tube pinch flat.

I think i need to learn how to bunny hop, even a half fug one shd work.

WussRedXLi

Around 165cm front to back, also depending on bike's wheel base measurement. You push the bike front into the lift then turn the steering to one side like 90 degree angle and push the bike in some more, it will fit in. Otherwise if desperate, u can lift up the front vertically like a wheelie position, it will give u lots of space. Can even fit in 2 full size bikes.

Ok 165cm. For foldies with 451 wheels is 150cm.
Yeah problem is that i need to fit it in with 2 bikes the other one being a foldie so i think max is 45 deg. My area still somewhat ok, it's my parents house in chinatown that we often go to that is the bigger issue, that one my foldie rear wheels already often get kiaped.

I came across Cam Nicholl's review on SAVA and they did some ultrasound. Seems like got voids in the CF here and there. Not sure what about JAVA and if it's a lesser issue. They examined the Phantom 3.0, which is a totally Toray T800 material. At least on the marketing front, the higher priced 2025 Sava R7 they claim got reinforce with Toray T1000 higher modulus CF at some points, issue is if that kind of "patching" works or not. Coz we are not talking about SEKA or Winspace here so gotta take things with a pinch of salt.
CF is supposed to be higher strength than T6061 alu (dont talk about 7075). But if the weak spots weaker than 6061 then that is a shame.
But i guess bo bian at this price point.....just whether a matter of if it presents a safety issue when running.

WussRedXLi

BTW i share some vids about testing T6061 alu carabiners from aliexpress/taobao, the chinese brands like Xinda and some no name ones. I use them for securing my big kites (they pull very very hard esp in gusts, 3 pax also difficult to tarik back). My kakis and i also had this debate before. whether can tahan or not.
The results show that no issue, Of coz if in life or death usages like climbing, use the certified products.

bbbbbw

than
Tried once. I don't mind the stretch. You might feel some pain at first but u will also feel shiok as though u become younger and more agile. There are pros n cons to stretching/over stretching. Worth it or not is subjective, but to me I feel close to $100 is too ex. But if I could not stretch myself no matter how hard I try from watching and following YouTube video, then perhaps going to Dr Stretch will be worth it. All boils down to your objective and whether it is affordable to you.
thanks for sharing then when they stretch you got many pop pop sounds lol? i think they got a 3 session package to try

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.