jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

BTW can i ask you about bending the hanger back?
2 weeks ago my kid knocked his bike onto my parked bike (resting on roadside kerb, ughh) and my bike fell sideways to the walkway, my rear derailleur edges can see some scratch marks.
Fast forward to today, my 11th - 12 gears got a bit of difficulty getting into it. Went to Hup Leong and they said is hangar bent, they do not stock my model. Red colour is the hanger right?
Can i ask if it is safe to bend it back by brute force? Heard about it before as a quick and dirty fix, bo bian.
I tried it already and it seems a fair bit better already, shifting is 90% of the time ok, but i was already at the limit of my bending strength. I wanna get to 99%, not sure if it is good to ask my kid + me 2 pax strength to bend it.
I used my 2 hands to cusp the blue circled part and just yanked it out towards me. I think when these things fall, the impact peak loading is quite high, hence bending it inwards. So we gotta bend it outwards
lyJF6SG.jpg

Got proper tools to test and manually adjust back. Can pay shop to do it. If u do it yourself, there might be a risk of (metal fatigue) breaking. Some people want peace of mind will just buy original or compatible hanger.

WussRedXLi

Got proper tools to test and manually adjust back. Can pay shop to do it. If u do it yourself, there might be a risk of (metal fatigue) breaking. Some people want peace of mind will just buy original or compatible hanger.

Ok, i shall see on Monday which shop can do. Maybe Bike Settlement first near my place at Bencoolen (can use CDC lol) or maybe then Pro Cycles/Ride in Style/Derek Bicycle Svcs which are all at Bukit Merah accessible via Rail Corridor. If all shops dont wanna do it, then i have nothing to say liao. 🤣

Did some homework, i guess Hup Leong does not have that derailluer hanger alignment tool. Surprised that they dont even have this, maybe cannot earn much money this way.
Shdnt cost more than $30 and 20 mins, actually if i have the tool i probably can do it also.

tb_1946_derailleur_hanger_alignment_gauge_designed_to_measure_and_straighten_misaligned_derailleur_hangers_bike_tool_1e2f178325a6f608ce84ec531220c0bc1e8faa98.jpg

image_89b7716a-8678-4fbc-87d0-56dc0b1b71bb_1800x1800.jpg

I parked my bike like this that's why. Next time i think it's either leaning against a wall/bush or best if possbile just lay it onto the ground, safest. Evening leaning it against a lampost or similar also a bit risky.

xllms

1) Recovery is Crucial: The video emphasizes that fitness gains happen during recovery, not the workout itself. As you age, your recovery window gets longer, and skipping rest days leads to accumulated fatigue, injuries, and a decline in performance.
2) Running Too Hard on Easy Days: Many runners believe they are running at an "easy" pace, but they are often stuck in a moderate effort zone that is too strenuous for proper recovery.
3) Pace is a Result, Not a Goal: The video advises against forcing a specific pace, and instead to focus on effort, heart rate, and recovery.

rarenick

Ok, i shall see on Monday which shop can do. Maybe Bike Settlement first near my place at Bencoolen (can use CDC lol) or maybe then Pro Cycles/Ride in Style/Derek Bicycle Svcs which are all at Bukit Merah accessible via Rail Corridor. If all shops dont wanna do it, then i have nothing to say liao.
1f923.png

Did some homework, i guess Hup Leong does not have that derailluer hanger alignment tool. Surprised that they dont even have this, maybe cannot earn much money this way.
Shdnt cost more than $30 and 20 mins, actually if i have the tool i probably can do it also.
tb_1946_derailleur_hanger_alignment_gauge_designed_to_measure_and_straighten_misaligned_derailleur_hangers_bike_tool_1e2f178325a6f608ce84ec531220c0bc1e8faa98.jpg

image_89b7716a-8678-4fbc-87d0-56dc0b1b71bb_1800x1800.jpg

I parked my bike like this that's why. Next time i think it's either leaning against a wall/bush or best if possbile just lay it onto the ground, safest. Evening leaning it against a lampost or similar also a bit risky.

Be careful when lean against lamppost. So many people scratched their top tube paint when the bike slides. You need to rest the saddle inner curve on the lamppost and then back turn the pedal to push against the lamppost as support. Thus u have 2 opposing force. Most secured and safest. No scratch, won't fall.

If u want to flip bike over, be careful. It might scratch your saddle. I kena scratches for expensive saddle (costing few hundred bucks). Also some people say it might affect the brakes hydraulic system over time.

WussRedXLi

Be careful when lean against lamppost. So many people scratched their top tube paint when the bike slides. You need to rest the saddle inner curve on the lamppost and then back turn the pedal to push against the lamppost as support. Thus u have 2 opposing force. Most secured and safest. No scratch, won't fall.

If u want to flip bike over, be careful. It might scratch your saddle. I kena scratches for expensive saddle (costing few hundred bucks). Also some people say it might affect the brakes hydraulic system over time.

Heng my bike / 3D printed saddle from china....cheap enough. Top tube already slightly scratched, that's the good thing about chinese bike / CF, just use it properly as a functional tool and not as a lifestyle display piece. 4hrs on the saddle no issue also, no saddle sores etc.

I think it's the same with running gear, From Aonjie (UTMB sposnor even) to cheap no name / semi cheong ones like CHITO running belt, is ok and usable and most importantly value for money. Really cant find myself spenign 200 bucks on a running belt or 700 on a saddle. But sometimes some stuff really lousy and you get what you paid for.

rarenick

Heng my bike / 3D printed saddle from china....cheap enough. Top tube already slightly scratched, that's the good thing about chinese bike / CF, just use it properly as a functional tool and not as a lifestyle display piece. 4hrs on the saddle no issue also, no saddle sores etc.
I think it's the same with running gear, From Aonjie (UTMB sposnor even) to cheap no name / semi cheong ones like CHITO running belt, is ok and usable and most importantly value for money. Really cant find myself spenign 200 bucks on a running belt or 700 on a saddle. But sometimes some stuff really lousy and you get what you paid for.

Every year spend $200+ on bike servicing, not yet include parts replacement. Quiting cycling. Waste money waste time.

WussRedXLi

Every year spend $200+ on bike servicing, not yet include parts replacement. Quiting cycling. Waste money waste time.

To be honest, yes it's expensive. But during cool weather like now or early morning late night go around Singapore damn shiok. My kid told me no need to own car.....too bad wife more of a power walker than cyclist (I have a spare foldie for her actually)

WussRedXLi

Good weather good run, good music, entered trance mode .
Happy, second time got below 10 min for 3k (GPS timing, take with a pinch of salt).
3K split @ 9:57 I think.

I got a bit of suspicion that it is not my aerobic system but more of my lactate clearance that is holding me back. Really jelly for the past few guns i tell you. But anyway... it is what it is.

After that also PB for dips, manage to squeeze out 20......first time.

After that refuelled and went Sentosa to hoot cycling threshold effort, weather too good to be true. 4 reps of Siloso - Imbiah lookout intervals, approx + 400m elevation. After that 15-20kmh @ MBS and BEG to flush everything out....anyway forgot that place during Sundays late afternoons/evenings is cursed shdnt have gone there, nearly headon with a foldie group. :frown:

Legs are totally destroyed now. 🤣 I think i need at least 2 days full recovery. 🤣

1TRqHzD.jpg

WussRedXLi

Julie Derron interview (she was here in Singapore back in Apr for SG T100 but not too good a race, subsequently she won San Francisco)

Sponsored by ON. (coz she is swiss also anyway)

WussRedXLi

@rarenick

Ah bang got 2nd place @ Langkawi for his age group.
We can now confirm know that he is damn fast.

Malaysia's Pogachong (that yellow jersey fella) also not slow sia....despite his age.

GlassDoor

Happy, second time got below 10 min for 3k (GPS timing, take with a pinch of salt).

I got a bit of suspicion that it is not my aerobic system but more of my lactate clearance that is holding me back. Really jelly for the past few guns i tell you. But anyway... it is what it is.

After that refuelled and went Sentosa to hoot cycling threshold effort, weather too good to be true. 4 reps of Siloso - Imbiah lookout intervals, approx + 400m elevation. After that 15-20kmh @ MBS and BEG to flush everything out....anyway forgot that place during Sundays late afternoons/evenings is cursed shdnt have gone there, nearly headon with a foldie group. :frown:

Legs are totally destroyed now. 🤣 I think i need at least 2 days full recovery. 🤣

1TRqHzD.jpg
bravo!!
i got conned by the weather forecast thinking it will rain the whole day. so did my HM in the rain in the morning. was targeting 1:55 but managed a much faster1:48 without actually trying :D. i think the "cold" weather helped greatly.

tried on streakfly 2 and takumi sen 11 as i was suntec. was thinking a fast 10k shoe may help with my challenge. But end up leaving empty handed. simply cannot justify buying a shoe with such limited use case.

Kuudere

1TRqHzD.jpg
Once you pass 2km mark, it's max HR, start to dip from there.

Your running style reminds me of cross country running. Everyone goes off fast and ease out in the later stage. I am more of negative split runner, so didn't really work for me.
Those uni boys are F fast man.

i73bHjI.jpg

0pFA3EY.jpg

PQJm2ou.jpg

qcKnfTm.jpg

R2MlySz.jpg

myivtpF.jpg

Fujiwara is legendary. I think Japanese are best at half to marathon. Their 5k/10k times are not super exceptional but still able to run that fast for half and marathon.

USA has a lot faster 5k/10k runners but not many have marathon times like Fujiwara. 62 HM and 2.07 M, is as good as it gets.
bravo!!
i got conned by the weather forecast thinking it will rain the whole day. so did my HM in the rain in the morning. was targeting 1:55 but managed a much faster1:48 without actually trying :D. i think the "cold" weather helped greatly.

tried on streakfly 2 and takumi sen 11 as i was suntec. was thinking a fast 10k shoe may help with my challenge. But end up leaving empty handed. simply cannot justify buying a shoe with such limited use case.
Takumi Sen is good as well, might be my next shoe after the Vapourfly. More of 5k/10k shoe.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.