jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Oh yeah same channel, this one .... 8 mths ago ..... at elevation but not sure what is the gradient % there and i know from cycling climbing vids that on screen it is usually deceiving trying guess, 43s fastest split which is a 1:54 800m. Lactate measurements inside.....iirc he hit 18 or something. edit - oh yes hit 18.x
ok dont think he puked, was prob another vid.

But of coz all are brutal in their own right, just training different energy systems / distances and their own specific set of challenges.

Managed to search for 1 more. That hill was AM session.
Got 25 x 400 for PM session. I think is beginning of the training block @ altitude so taking it easy.
He can go much faster than 70+ for the 400s.

Description
Josh Hoey (1:43 800m pb) does a threshold workout in the afternoon after a hard hill workout in the morning. Josh would go on to break the U.S. 800m indoor record at the 2025 Millrose Games.

WussRedXLi

Found it. Oxidation rates. Not stomach tolerance/absorption limit

Heather is triathlete, Conor is cyclist. Both are parking fit as far as amateur standards are concerned. (actually Conor is retired pro)

GTN

HSCb3w4.jpg

GCN vid

WussRedXLi

a few thoughts from my own personal experience
1) if u just switch to morning runs from evening runs. your body may need a few weeks to get used to the switch
2) morning runs typically needs a "warm up" period ie.. the first 2km take it slow.. so average pace for the run will always be slower. But once warmed up should be ok to match pace.
3) if it's normal/easy run of less than 10km. I just take a cup of black coffee and I am good to go
4) if that morning's run has intensity and/or more than 12km. I also take a mug of milo "kao" in addition to black coffee.

i typically only monitor what i eat the previous evening when I have a 2hours+ run planned.

Oh yeah, warm up also, is definitely necessary in the morning. Other than the swings, can do the A, B, C skips as well, sure wake up neuro and HR one.

WussRedXLi

My area's mama / liquor shop sells 6 cans of redbull for $4.50, so that is 75 cents per can. 80mg caffeine.
Cheaper than Gucolin / Haribo.
My kid and i hoot 1 can each or share 1 can when going for the weekend rides, in addition to other stuff be it kit kat or snickers, or maltese, or mcdonald's ice cream sometimes (mi xue $1 ice cream also can, but recently they raised their matcha ice cream from 1 to 1.50).

I no budget for gels. :frown:

After ride, also very very very impt to fuel up esp if your sessions are long (esp hardcore cyclists usually sessions too long for their own good actually). If not the quality of next session could be affected, and also the recovery rate (which also in turns affect the next session. Standard for me is Amoy or Maxwell, coz near to my place, but generally is cyclist haven there coz central and easy bike parking (actually more like anyhow throw one, but within eye line of sight coz of security). heh.....

WussRedXLi

Sato inside also
But nowadays too thin until face changed liao....you compare with the vid i posted this afternoon earlier on.

WussRedXLi

Thought you wanna try cheap china gels or that taiwan one.
I am sold on the M-action gel. Ho jiak where gel is concern, and only like slightly more than $1 per pack from PDD.

Havent buy yet for testing on training..... Still it's rather expensive to be always using for stomach training unless till very near to the day. Winsports is still 1.60 per gel from TB.
My goto for longer morning sessions is still red bull for 46g of carb 250ml. Diluted with cold water is solid taste.....really perks you up. 80mg caffeine is just nice no need those 200-300mg (i think might risk over HR also...we all not bodybuilders in which HR is comparatively low)
Heng rear pocket of jersey can store 1 can easily and some choc bars/candies etc....the rest just fuel pitstop as needed.

T100 uses Maurten / Pure. Heng no SIS, that one is jin pai jiak, i'd rather gun myself with 100Plus and risk bonking than take, since i no time goal. Next year dont know use which one tho.....but usually is atas enough brand or got solid quality one......so no SiS.

Sam Long trains at 150-170g/h

Tudo88

Yesterday took flame 4 for intervals. First impression was I can't even walk properly in them haha. Plate seems relatively firm but when it comes to intervals at 3.45-3.50/km,it did feel good. Will use it for a progressive Long run and see how it goes

kuti-kuti

Running is addictive?
Been using the gym threadmill.
Got lots of people waiting to take turns on it yet still want to wait to use it. Can see slow gradual improvement in stamina and doesnt feel so much tired as previously.

Kuudere

Actually the Kenyan one i posted does not seem brutal....I mean hell yeah you prob can dish out 1 km x 2:50 now also if not 3:00 flat. Till i read the description and they are just "tapering" before the race and just getting some legs turnover for neuro and so trying not to gun hard for injury prevention. :unsure: 🤣

5 days removed from a major marathon, we have the athletes from Central Athletics Club under Coach Peter Kirui in a "light" speed-work training session just to keep in shape and to avoid major injuries before most of the athletes embark on international marathons and road-races. The video covers only 2 sets of the athletes covering 1 kilometre each with rest-intervals of 3 minutes each at a "low" target pace of 2:50min/Km.

Yeah some really very brutal......i think you might have seen a longish hill reps / almost sprint one from a similar channel, see if i can find it to share again as i posted quite a while back. The fella (pro) puked 2X i think. Hmmi think it's the same channel (Track access).
1km at marathon pace, is quite easy. 4 x 4k is tough because it's negative split and short rest (90s). Did some research earlier, fastest guy in Notre Dame is 13.27 5k, 28.19 10k.

4 x 4k (90s) would be an interesting workout to try, but not for the faint hearted.
how come the timings for my runs differs that much ? For example i try running at night yesterday and was hitting 6.16min/km but my morning 6am runs is always like 7+ almost 8 min/km.
Welcome to the evening running club!!
Oh yeah same channel, this one .... 8 mths ago ..... at elevation but not sure what is the gradient % there and i know from cycling climbing vids that on screen it is usually deceiving trying guess, 43s fastest split which is a 1:54 800m. Lactate measurements inside.....iirc he hit 18 or something. edit - oh yes hit 18.x
ok dont think he puked, was prob another vid.

But of coz all are brutal in their own right, just training different energy systems / distances and their own specific set of challenges.

Josh Hoey actually did really well, in fact too well earlier on. By end June, he was 1.42 800, 3.29 1.5k. Might have either peaked too early or just not good at racing without a pacer. He clocked both times with pacer and ran a lot slower when there's no pacer.
Yesterday took flame 4 for intervals. First impression was I can't even walk properly in them haha. Plate seems relatively firm but when it comes to intervals at 3.45-3.50/km,it did feel good. Will use it for a progressive Long run and see how it goes
Yeah carbon plate shoes usually pop off when running faster paces!

Ender

Now you know why I have concerns to use it for FM. Pace will be a lot slower, very unnatural to use it at slow pace.

Ender

Havent buy yet for testing on training..... Still it's rather expensive to be always using for stomach training unless till very near to the day. Winsports is still 1.60 per gel from TB.
My goto for longer morning sessions is still red bull for 46g of carb 250ml. Diluted with cold water is solid taste.....really perks you up. 80mg caffeine is just nice no need those 200-300mg (i think might risk over HR also...we all not bodybuilders in which HR is comparatively low)
Heng rear pocket of jersey can store 1 can easily and some choc bars/candies etc....the rest just fuel pitstop as needed.

T100 uses Maurten / Pure. Heng no SIS, that one is jin pai jiak, i'd rather gun myself with 100Plus and risk bonking than take, since i no time goal. Next year dont know use which one tho.....but usually is atas enough brand or got solid quality one......so no SiS.

Sam Long trains at 150-170g/h

Sis is actually quite ok in taste. GU is the one that taste like medicine.

basic___

I tried a couple of gels brands out there and GU is probably the worst tasting.

Decathlons have their own in house brands of gels and there are quite a huge variety of them. Might give them a try next time

Tudo88

Now you know why I have concerns to use it for FM. Pace will be a lot slower, very unnatural to use it at slow pace.
It won't perform well at 5 and above pace. Didn't feel right while I was using them for my warm up at around 5.20-5.30 pace. Need to see how it perform at 4+ paces.

WussRedXLi

Sis is actually quite ok in taste. GU is the one that taste like medicine.
I tried a couple of gels brands out there and GU is probably the worst tasting.

Decathlons have their own in house brands of gels and there are quite a huge variety of them. Might give them a try next time

Wah that means GU if i try, i sure puke.

WussRedXLi

1km at marathon pace, is quite easy. 4 x 4k is tough because it's negative split and short rest (90s). Did some research earlier, fastest guy in Notre Dame is 13.27 5k, 28.19 10k.

4 x 4k (90s) would be an interesting workout to try, but not for the faint hearted.

The only 4 x 4 i try is not 4k, but 4 mins......heh. 4 sets of 4k with 90s is crazy if sustained at slightly above LT2 (4 mmols/L), might as well just say you run a 16k TT or something with 4 pee breaks inside coz been drinking too much water.
Also for variety i recently dig the 3 x 12 x 40 seconds (20s rest) microburst intervals. The 3 sets in between i just rest until my HR returns to 110 range usually around 2 mins. This one quite more specific for cycling demands in real life which is usually surgey, actually 2 nights before i used this in real life, i went to gun mid level modded e-bike. :unsure: :frown: (eventually i lost, the ah beng fella really play life one @ the corners). Straights i could just about level with him coz is e-bike with 451 wheels and limited by his chainring size which even at 58T or even 60T is shd not be very fast top end (rear shd be 11 or 12 cog). So in a way he is top end speed limited....but still bloody chuan coz once we got braking (corners), his subsequent acceleration is breathtaking and i gotta catch him all over again. His e-bike is thsoe type in which need to pedal one then will go, not those Fido e-scooters which no need to pedal.
Can read about microburst intervals here :
https://www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/hiit-micro-burst-intervals/

But i think i shall be returning back to slower LT2 training soon with longer intervals like 10-15 min durations.

WussRedXLi

Trying to find a good recording of this.
edit - have

Josh Kerr visible limping sia.

What is Laros doing. VTEC spoilt.

iyTHh50.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.