jogging and motivation thread

xllms

For some unknown reason(s) to me, SK zharbohs dont mind china brands gotten from TB/ali etc..... Lameda, UKE/Deer etc.
I have never seen this in SG with regards to cycling. Maybe, just maybeeeee once in a blue moon some guys wearing EVR and that's about it.

I mean, ok not say others are discriminating or what...... but i was rather surprised folks asking me about my SAVA bike. Yesterday yet another fella was asking, ok or not i think this is like the 10th time or something liao, and that's only since Apr when i got the bike. I said ok lah.....can. 🤣 I upgraded the front and rear brakes tho. TBH, i have never ever seen a JAVA or SAVA roadbike on the road, despite being out there for donkey hours per week.

At least for running you'd have come across stuff CN shoes and stuff like AONIJIE

UKE

BTW some of you can try the cycling socks as well. Most of them are really decent.
Not say compression running socks but some of them are quite high (for aero, cover leg hairs etc) and do provide a bit of compression properties. Some might not like a full blown compression sock during training, for eg. I'd even say they feel better than Lululemon something like that.....

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?abbucket=14&id=846981993779&mi_id=0000BtWjqJmacxNfatbtqiA06mQTDgrScY_H579RGW6Xj1Q&ns=1&priceTId=2150474c17585064251691785e1e40&skuId=5631303821281&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.12&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"cb787c039e6af9dfc0c694098d2536bc"}&xxc=taobaoSearch

me using China cycling socks for my running shoes. Affordable and good enough. <RMB10/pair. Last me approx. 1.5yr.

WussRedXLi

Anyone tried horse riding stance as part of your training? What's your review?

Not chinese way but tried via ang moh way. Called a wall-sit.

There was another thread here in EDMW by another fella asking to test (i think last year only). That time i tested and was able to hit 5 mins and ended it coz of boredome, quite a fair bit of lactate but i shd be able to do more than that.

Anyway, such isometric holds confirm safer than squats/deadlifts.
Just that the wall sit is very much quad centric.

Mecisteus

I posted this before. Be careful if you are low BMI and doing long distance.

WussRedXLi

That why i always post 5km is very healthy..... (heck nowadays i more like dig 3k)

If want to play endurance and interested in klonger timings, best to cross train, do multi discipline sports. And add strength, power training, proprioception etc....including upper body, big compound lifts etc.

Kitaro9202

Hi guys i recently start jogging like 3 week ago.

Try to jog weekly twice a week about 3km per session.

My pace is about 8 to 9 min/km

Is there anyway to get my heart rate lower when jogging?

Most of the time spike up to 180+

Ender

This runner's low bone density is the result of a rare genetic condition. In which high mileage impact exercise has reverse his bone density instead of improving it. He mentioned it how he found out about his condition in the video.

Copilot;s take away from the video.
Copilot

Yes, that’s correct—and it’s the key paradox in this case.

Normal physiology

• High-impact exercise (running, jumping) stimulates bone formation through mechanotransduction.
  • Bones sense load → activate Wnt signaling (via LRP5 and related pathways) → increase bone density.

With LRP5 mutation

• The mutation impairs the Wnt signaling response to mechanical stress.
  • So instead of strengthening, bones fail to adapt or even lose density under repeated loading.
  • This is why his extreme mileage accelerated bone weakening instead of making bones stronger.

However for long distances as you mentioned, the main mechanism for bone density loss is likely catabolism. Intra workout fueling is therefore important to mitigate catabolic effect.

Mecisteus

This runner's low bone density is the result of a rare genetic condition. In which high mileage impact exercise has reverse his bone density instead of improving it. He mentioned it how he found out about his condition in the video.

Copilot;s take away from the video.

However for long distances as you mentioned, the main mechanism for bone density loss is likely catabolism. Intra workout fueling is therefore important to mitigate catabolic effect.
Generally, running can improve bone density.

But when you run long distance and without proper intake of calcium, your BMD can worsen.

Plus considering that you have low BMI which means you are probably undereating and not absorbing enough calcium.

Ender

Generally, running can improve bone density.

But when you run long distance and without proper intake of calcium, your BMD can worsen.

Plus considering that you have low BMI which means you are probably undereating and not absorbing enough calcium.
Agree lack of nutrient may result in bone loss from long distance running, but in general even being sedentary with calcium and vit D deficiency are extremely bad for bone health or worst.
Agree long distance can affect boen health, especially as you mentioned lack calcium and vit D. But the main cause is catabolism due to low fuel in the blood. Intra workout with highly dense calories fuel is recommended when doing long runs.

Mecisteus

Agree lack of nutrient may result in bone loss from long distance running, but in general even being sedentary with calcium and vit D deficiency are extremely bad for bone health or worst.
Agree long distance can affect boen health, especially as you mentioned lack calcium and vit D. But the main cause is catabolism due to low fuel in the blood. Intra workout with highly dense calories fuel is recommended when doing long runs.
Hence BMI is the signal. If you were in high BMI whole life and sedentary, BMD might be less of a concern. Though you may have other health issues.

Nevertheless, a DEXA scan is highly recommended especially those with low BMI. At least you have a baseline BMD to compare progression with running.

So if BMD is poor and you happen to have low BMI while running high mileage, the next best course of actions are to reduce mileage, focus on increasing BMI and build more muscles.

winningeleven

Your age group ? Usually younger 20 plus can be as high as 190.

The more u run. U better U r !

sph777

Can try to jog slower if u want to reduce the heart rate as that means this pace is still fast for you. The best way to improve is to run more as @winningeleven said.

rarenick

Bring down your pride and ego, unlearn what you know about running (fast), relearn how to jog slowly. Don't care how other people are looking at you, don't care if the old uncle or a chiobu overtakes you. If need be, just do fast walk to let the heart rate drops further. You will need a long while before you can jog at low heart rate. Maybe another few months.

WussRedXLi

WTF......i never track.

• 因天气原因,快件时限可能会受到影响,我们将竭尽全力加快处理,请您耐心等待,由此给您带来的不便敬请谅解。
    2025-09-23 04:00:20

abpwsair.jpg

wp2425.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.