jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Easy Z2 ride at 300W :unsure:

I'd pay 5k SGD to get to that level. 🤣 Forget about simi superbike.

BTW the fella videoing also fooking fit zai.

WussRedXLi

Age 33 lor i now trying to maintain the pace but hr kinda of high

Slowly run more and progressive improve / never rush to build base......prevent injuries. Do some strength as well, very important, if i could turn back the clock back in 2022/2023 i'd do just that. Do a little little bit of speedwork and progress up. Very very impt is mindset/discipline so as to maintain consistency.

You'd be uper amazed in 6-12 mths later.

WussRedXLi

I notice my first km pace is 7min + and heart rate 160 but after that will spike up liao but my pace getting slower.

Maybe should I walk for awhile den continue running or should I adjust my pace till 9 to 10min /km?

Can, just racewalk or brisk walk is fine. Pace can be 8-10min/km no issue one.

WussRedXLi

Bring down your pride and ego, unlearn what you know about running (fast), relearn how to jog slowly. Don't care how other people are looking at you, don't care if the old uncle or a chiobu overtakes you. If need be, just do fast walk to let the heart rate drops further. You will need a long while before you can jog at low heart rate. Maybe another few months.

I started with walking first, 2 years. Coz of my wife. Cardio and speed still went up. Occasional jogging + my SITs of coz, but never would i ID myself as a runner.

Then 1st time "TT" ran 2 laps at my place rooftop, 6:20 mins for 1600m via my stopwatch on phone. That time i didnt even have smartwatch/GPS. 🤣 That is basically 4:00 pace. But i still remember my lactate clearance no good, last 200-300m my legs not only jelly but i nearly could not feel my legs no strength nearly fall down feeling liao.

So just even via walking, can be done one. But the walking must also mimic best training practices / consistency. Walking intervals/"sprints"/base walks
The consistency part no issue, coz for my wife is literally "do or die" (i nearly could claim my HDB's Home Protection Scheme liao).

WussRedXLi

How is this even possible.

SBJ 320cm i think

That time i maxed out at around 205cm. 216 passing mark and then 212, had to secretly time until when PTI/conducting ohhuicer not looking then i jump (which is most of the time, coz Airforce mah 🤣) . The tester usually is give chance one coz own people, wont look or care. 🤣
I use the jump and then skip a bit method. (y)

WussRedXLi

Agree lack of nutrient may result in bone loss from long distance running, but in general even being sedentary with calcium and vit D deficiency are extremely bad for bone health or worst.
Agree long distance can affect boen health, especially as you mentioned lack calcium and vit D. But the main cause is catabolism due to low fuel in the blood. Intra workout with highly dense calories fuel is recommended when doing long runs.
Hence BMI is the signal. If you were in high BMI whole life and sedentary, BMD might be less of a concern. Though you may have other health issues.

Nevertheless, a DEXA scan is highly recommended especially those with low BMI. At least you have a baseline BMD to compare progression with running.

So if BMD is poor and you happen to have low BMI while running high mileage, the next best course of actions are to reduce mileage, focus on increasing BMI and build more muscles.

Best is to screen BMD occasionally if really going for endurance running soley for the long term (and no other forms of training)....coz will never confirm and know whether diet/supplementation is working effectively or not also, or like in the vid's case any other condition.

Even RA rheumatic arthritis can lower density....due to the chronic systemic inflammation. Or for that matter, any other similar comorbidities that involve chronic systemic inflammation. Can also screw up other things, one other thing that was screwed up in my wife's case was things like Haemoglobin (anemia), and it got to pretty dangerous levels.
And in not high levels of RA, it is subclinical and be unchecked for decades, and thus the BMD lagi affected as well and lagi exacerbated due to other things like diet/supp endurance running etc.

So it might not be 1 sole reason also.

These things dont go southward in a matter of months or even few years. Is really a very long period of time. Cheap cheap, that time my wife did (i think only last year) was what.....$160 or so if i remember correctly, somemore was private (Mount Elizabeth). I asked the rheumatologist why must check, he said must check, coz some people do overdo things to mitigate their medical condition....esp he knows our sporty background now (I wear my cycling outfit there coz my kid and I cycle there past few times).

Women after age 40/50 lagi higher risk.

So if dont check, we'll never know, doctor also wont know, nobody knows......just guess nia.

rarenick

I notice my first km pace is 7min + and heart rate 160 but after that will spike up liao but my pace getting slower.
Maybe should I walk for awhile den continue running or should I adjust my pace till 9 to 10min /km?

If only run 3km, first km just fast walk, then slow jog all the way. If u feel panting quite hard then walk. You are young and your run distance is short, I don't see much problem unless u have underlying ailment(s). If your main goal is to run faster, then be patient and train with volume (ie run more) first. P/s: volume = frequency x distance.

WussRedXLi

Tried during lunch time..... strict pull ups with full scapula and core engagement.
Now is 7 reps. Super strict form. (I can do a few more if just trying to max reps)

Been doing scapula pull ups during deadhangs recently past few weeks also. Really good, helps. (y)

WussRedXLi

Well done. Consider trying any one of these next time:
3 x 3, or 2 x 4, or 4 x 2.

In the past I chiong too much max rep, very easily get injured.

Yeah max rep is like TT, and if do, it's just 1 set (with some light warm up before).
Actually nowadays for past few weeks, i dig 1 set warm up and then 1 working set but max it up both strength and neuro. Must be careful with form....... A bit risky, but really time efficient.

Like last night, dips. first warm up set 6 reps. After that i did 22, do until last 2 like pure mental game the pushing up eccentric portion last rep took like 10 seconds maciam like isometric like that, i die die wanna push it out even if it means super slow progress. That last 1-2 rep is what really counts. "Do or die" mentality....sometimes saliva also drip out last rep on the bar.
This morning a bit sore.....2 months ago i do like 3-4 sets no such feeling one.
Now 1 set can liao.

I think Mike Mentzer philosophy last time also. Of coz got pros and cons and depends on individual.
Suitable for me or my age or the sports i do (running and cycling)? Not sure. 🤣 But it does fit my schedule esp since cycling already takes up tons of my time.
Just try, hope i am conditioned enough. Hope no torn tendons/ligaments but so far so good.

ps. But i think Mike Israel (renaissance periodization) that exercise scientist do not recommend this way, but more towards 1-2 RIR.

rarenick

Yeah max rep is like TT, and if do, it's just 1 set (with some light warm up before).
Actually nowadays for past few weeks, i dig 1 set warm up and then 1 working set but max it up both strength and neuro. Must be careful with form....... A bit risky, but really time efficient.
Like last night, dips. first warm up set 6 reps. After that i did 22, do until last 2 like pure mental game the pushing up eccentric portion last rep took like 5-6 seconds, i die die wanna push it out even if it means super slow progress. That last 1-2 rep is what really counts.
This morning a bit sore.....2 months ago i do like 3-4 sets no such feeling one.
I think Mike Mentzer philosophy last time also. Of coz got pros and cons.

U damn good, 22 dips at once is very tough. So far I tried 4 x 10 still manageable. I suspect I will get injured exceeding 15 at once. .

WussRedXLi

Good point of reference
If serious amateur cyclist, high chance dismount and walk with bike liao
Probably not so far away from say Fourth avenue or Mt Faber Kg Bahru side.

WussRedXLi

U damn good, 22 dips at once is very tough. So far I tried 4 x 10 still manageable. I suspect I will get injured exceeding 15 at once. .

Must really take notice of recovery.
If cannot afford the proper and solid recovery (eg sleep, supplements, diet) then yeah best not to start such things. Over time these little things can build up and end up injured etc.

xllms

Easy Z2 ride at 300W :unsure:

I'd pay 5k SGD to get to that level. 🤣 Forget about simi superbike.

BTW the fella videoing also fooking fit zai.

athletes like pogi are superfit unlike me, altho not bbfa, my runs hardly go beyond 300W unless i pia last stretch.

ps: finally no need vpn to surf edmw! 😂

xllms

Good point of reference
If serious amateur cyclist, high chance dismount and walk with bike liao
Probably not so far away from say Fourth avenue or Mt Faber Kg Bahru side.

overtaking pogi on TT is one thing, overtaking pogi on slope is wow!, overtaking pogi on slope with pebblestones is WOW WOW WOW!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.