jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Dont understand leh. Bridge supposed to be beside Benjamin Sheares bridge, ie at the other end....and linking to the Promenade park somewhat close to F1 area. But why they close the part where the OCBC Children's water playground is (the S curvy part).

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-link-pedestrians-cyclists-to-park-connectors

211a4ad3055c9a325935eea44ab26e0402c56e7674a131cba0b230c254d07a91

7cd5fd2924b9829d44c526941f0671731359b6b93a460536ed7e4dad2a327e0b

7c4c4b6b0e377e2425f365641e2c64277f625c5aa8b4c1d5f5ce1431fd24e1d0.jpg
finally. good move to link up all the green spaces around, URA!
I always have to do a U-turn there to get back to city hall. With this pedestrian bridge, I guess the area around the Singapore Flyer will be developed into some green belt to link up with the Helix bridge, forming a loop. Good for runners/joggers.

sph777

Nope. Can register under your own name. Downside is the Pen may not be available or shirt sizes limited. But last year for FM, Pen B still available
why would ppl sell cheaper than the buying price. Interesting. Unless they got for free or something

Ender

Nope. Can register under your own name. Downside is the Pen may not be available or shirt sizes limited. But last year for FM, Pen B still available
Stange leh, how does this work? Unless is those given to sponsoring companies. And one of the employee sell off his slot?

WussRedXLi

finally. good move to link up all the green spaces around, URA!
I always have to do a U-turn there to get back to city hall. With this pedestrian bridge, I guess the area around the Singapore Flyer will be developed into some green belt to link up with the Helix bridge, forming a loop. Good for runners/joggers.

Yeah......well, for me i will be using this to go Sims Vista hawker (Sims Ave / Geylang Lor 17) or Geylang areas to buy my foods with my kid during weekends next time. heh.....

Dont really like to use Nicoll Highway. Victoria St is somewhat ok but too bloody hot after 9am, literally no shade one.

WussRedXLi

Sibeh fast for the 10km . I will be over the moon if I could go below 50 mins for 10km .

50 mins is can lah..... just need more focus on threshold work. You'd surely have the time to spare aside from work/family since you are more into 21k

Actually instead of 2-3 china shoes, invest on a lactate meter. $300 full set can get from TB already.
I feel it is probably what got me the most and fastest improvements i have seen for the 10k last time when i was still playing this distance, even for 3k/5k i believe the importance is quite crucial though more indirectly. Coz you are testing in the frequency of every 7-14 days, you can see the progress and most importantly it is not guesswork, it is a figure that you see on the meter. People can take years to get from 55 mins to 40 mins or they can take many times faster in just months. Of coz, this is just a tool that you use in your structured training, but it is a pretty important tool......just dont kena analysis paralysis.
Or put it this way, easy days too hard and hard days too easy (esp for threshold) - wont happen.
And once you have the correct info/experience and things dialed in for training, it's not that difficult to hold onto these timings once you have achieved them as PBs, just a matter of consistency rinse and repeat the routine.

Or put in another way, you can run 4-5:00 paces "easily", wear the elite shoes also more shiok. 🤣

Actually my most recent past 1 year plus of training in calisthenics, "training too easy" is quite an easy trap to fall into. Once past the beginner gains stage, you really can stagnate easily if you do not have a hard data reference point (ie reps and weights) and not improve at all. Of coz also got many other factors as well, most impt of which is recovery.

WussRedXLi

How do you manage such a run pace after cycling without feeling cramps or having soft legs? Admittedly, 35KM is not a very long distance for cyclists, but still it isn't short. Solo ride also?

That's why it's called the brick workout session. Is supposed to train your muscles and neuromuscular system to run better after the bike and not totally fall apart. Some folks can run fast in a 5k/10k and are very aerobically fit, but actual race can't even manage 6:00 pace for the last run leg's first few KMs, or worse just cramp like nobody's biz.

Coz the bike is a generally lower cadence higher force activity, while running is the opposite. Also got many other details, like cannot overbike for the distance (for 32k, high end of easy to light tempo works for me, or around 85% of 1hr threshold power/FTP), last few KMs on the bike need to transition to higher cadence and possibly even slightly easing the pace.
Also transition, it might even be beneficial to do some dynamic stretching or some muscle activation exercises, even further fuelling and hydrating quite a bit here (shd be done on the last part of the bike, but still ok to do so here) and take some time here instead of just copying the pros and just bang immediately onto the run.

Unfortunately, this is easier said than done in a true race. Eg for the T100 route, the bike is a +280m elevation gain for 32km (+700m for the 80km distance) and some climbs are well over 10% and some descents require you to brake coz they lead into 90 deg corners. So they do inflict quite a bit of damage if you are not muscularly fit.

ps. Overbiking and trying to chase other cyclists which causes microsurges is probably by far the most damaging activity that folks can do. It takes a lot of discipline to keep this under control.

Tudo88

Stange leh, how does this work? Unless is those given to sponsoring companies. And one of the employee sell off his slot?
I think that will be the case. Corporate slots. I rmb I need to key in a code given by the seller to register and the seller got multiple slots as well.

The FM that was given to me by another runner, his slot also sponsored by the Sunpride, the banana company.

WussRedXLi

Watch the women marathon, guarantee that you wouldn't be disappointed

Dafug, now then i realised that the 2:09:56 WR by Ruth still stands, but Ruth herself is kena banned by AIU.
Simply coz they cannot definitively prove whether Ruth was on juice or not during that 2024 WR run? :oops:
Even though with various factors, like this timing vs her previous dont even come close to passing the sniff test and etc?

xllms

Actually my most recent past 1 year plus of training in calisthenics, "training too easy" is quite an easy trap to fall into. Once past the beginner gains stage, you really can stagnate easily if you do not have a hard data reference point (ie reps and weights) and not improve at all. Of coz also got many other factors as well, most impt of which is recovery.
think i fall into this "training too easy" with my focus on zone 2 and lack of stimulus
Actually instead of 2-3 china shoes, invest on a lactate meter. $300 full set can get from TB already.
thanks for sharing and searching TB, the multi-test version from EAGLEONS晶捷 caught my attention.

sales69

Guys, you all tried before Altra zero drop shoes?

I like the NB Minimus zero drop line last time. But never tried before Altra.

The local agent selling a last year model for around $115.

Tempted to try. But wary of adding to my backside itchy pile of shoes. :s13:

WussRedXLi

think i fall into this "training too easy" with my focus on zone 2 and lack of stimulus

thanks for sharing and searching TB, the multi-test version from EAGLEONS晶捷 caught my attention.

But with that said, i have been self testing blood glucose for many years so i have no fear of the lancet device (get the auto one which can preset the poking power, if done correctly you would barely feel any pain). That's the one big caveat for runners/cyclists/hyroxers/swimmers self testing.

Also probably not really useful if one has not yet exhausted and nailed down the fundamentals and also established a routine of structured training (or even semi-structured) that you can follow for months and not too much affected by work or family. Like the long run/ride is especially taxing on the time aspect.....so if cannot really commit consistently ie 1 long run in a training week of 7-10 days, why not drop down to say trying 5-8k distances first and doing well in it, where the long run is shorter and one can stick with more consistently.

But then once you have found something or a running training method or a few methods that really works for you, this tool would really be a further boost as you get faster and the risk of stagnation rises. Or something like put it this way, take the smartwatch with its optical HR monitor or chest strap monitor and GPS pace......it's a tool, it's actually not essential if you think about it, but it is a good tool to have. Over 5-10 years ago it was not realy super mainstream nor was it deemed as "important" for us amateurs. Nowadays, no GPS pace / HR monitor or for cyclists the power meter , most intermediate athletes would exclaim "Har?" 🤣

BTW, one more "issue", the test sticks only 1.5 years expiry, but i think can drag to 2 years lah. But then, by the time you get them on your hands, probably 3 months or so after production date liao, even after you alww the sellers.
^^^^
ps. Some branded cyclists socks/sleeves already cost more than a set of 72 pcs of test strips, so yeah......in some cases the price $$$ is reallly a moot point. 1 branded jersey already cost more than the meter + the 72pcs strips.....havent even count in the bottom (bib shorts) which costs around the same as the top. Pretty moot if you ask me.

Ender

Guys, you all tried before Altra zero drop shoes?

I like the NB Minimus zero drop line last time. But never tried before Altra.

The local agent selling a last year model for around $115.

Tempted to try. But wary of adding to my backside itchy pile of shoes. :s13:
If you have not worn zero drop shoes recently, have to transit gradually with your mileage. Or your Achilles tendon might call for help.

Ender

Dafug, now then i realised that the 2:09:56 WR by Ruth still stands, but Ruth herself is kena banned by AIU.
Simply coz they cannot definitively prove whether Ruth was on juice or not during that 2024 WR run? :oops:
Even though with various factors, like this timing vs her previous dont even come close to passing the sniff test and etc?
I think really need the hard evidence to ban her. At most is highly suspicious liao.

winningeleven

50 mins is can lah..... just need more focus on threshold work. You'd surely have the time to spare aside from work/family since you are more into 21k

I feel it is probably what got me the most and fastest improvements i have seen for the 10k last time when i was still playing this distance, even for 3k/5k i believe the importance is quite crucial though more indirectly. Coz you are testing in the frequency of every 7-14 days, you can see the progress and most importantly it is not guesswork, it is a figure that you see on the meter. People can take years to get from 55 mins to 40 mins or they can take many times faster in just months. Of coz, this is just a tool that you use in your structured training, but it is a pretty important tool......just dont kena analysis paralysis.
Or put it this way, easy days too hard and hard days too easy (esp for threshold) - wont happen.
And once you have the correct info/experience and things dialed in for training, it's not that difficult to hold onto these timings once you have achieved them as PBs, just a matter of consistency rinse and repeat the routine.

Or put in another way, you can run 4-5:00 paces "easily", wear the elite shoes also more shiok. 🤣

I did run 48:59 mins for 10km in Nov 2024. Just that now i feel won't want be able to do it

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.