jogging and motivation thread

Hyruga

Yes, evidence indicates that marathon runners and long-distance runners generally live longer than the general population, with studies showing up to a 30% lower risk of cardiovascular death and a 25% lower risk of death from all causes.

WussRedXLi

I think really need the hard evidence to ban her. At most is highly suspicious liao.

IIRC, at ifrst was provisional ban as AIU was collecting evidence, then a few months later AIU did the sentencing. That's fine. But now then i realised her WR still stands.
Yeah, apparently is due to the timing. The diuretic was to hide the PEDs used and prohibited for use by athletes.

But with that said, she probably was still very very close to the WR level of performance and fitness at that time. Even if she / the coach cleverly used PEDs, probably it'd not be easy to detect and also at very low levels, probably sufficient to let her get to WR level.

Of coz, amateur view here. Just guessing and PCW here. 🤣

Ruth Chepngetich's marathon world record (2:09:56 in Chicago 2024) stands because anti-doping rules usually only invalidate results achieved after a positive sample, not before. Her positive test occurred in 2025, and her, as mentioned in this BBC article, and also explained in this ESPN article, 3-year ban specifically relates to the March 2025 incident.
BBC +1
Key details:
  • Timing of Offense: The positive sample for a diuretic occurred in March 2025, while the record was set in October 2024.
  • Rule Application: World Athletics regulations generally allow records to stand if they were achieved before the doping violation.
  • Ban Details: She received a 3-year ban (reduced from 4 years for admitting to taking a housemaid's medication, as reported in this CNN article) starting from her provisional suspension date in 2025.
    BBC +3
Therefore, only results after her 2025 positive test are typically subject to disqualification.

Diuretics hide Performance-Enhancing Drugs (PEDs) by increasing urine production, which dilutes the urine sample and lowers the concentration of prohibited substances below detection limits. Known as "water pills" or "masking agents," they help athletes pass doping tests while also assisting with rapid weight loss.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) | (.gov) +4
How Diuretics Mask PED Usage:
  • Urine Dilution: By flushing water out of the body, diuretics drastically increase urine volume. A lower concentration of banned substances (like steroids) in a large volume of water makes them harder to detect.
  • Lowering Concentration: If an athlete uses prohibited substances, a diuretic helps keep the concentration of that drug's metabolites below the threshold set by testing labs, says the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Detection and Bans
Due to their misuse as masking agents, diuretics are listed as S5 Diuretics and Masking Agents on the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) prohibited list, banning their use both in and out of competition

sales69

If you have not worn zero drop shoes recently, have to transit gradually with your mileage. Or your Achilles tendon might call for help.
Ya planning only 3-4km. Recently not running much due to plantar pain.

But undecided. Really don't want to add more shoes that I won't wear haha.

WussRedXLi

I did run 48:59 mins for 10km in Nov 2024. Just that now i feel won't want be able to do it

Most importantly is love what you do and pursue the interest.....then can do so for longer and more number of years. For running it might be pure speed, mix of speed + endurance or just endurance alone and the next challenge might be ultras with more focus on techniques like running on trails, race execution + fueling.
Some cyclists are even addicted to ultra cycling, going overseas and do over 1 week of ultra races, coz the challenges of unknowns like the weather and stuff like that challenges them.

My interest(s) also vary around...... heh. Just try new things.....some try already find no good at it, or worse can get injuries, then move on to others.

WussRedXLi

Forgot about this..... Dr Chris Raynor (orthopaedic surgeon) usually has some pretty good info about medical stuff.
He just posted something about Achilles and other areas prone to injury. Might be worthy to take a look if you always have PF, AT or any other tendon injuries. I learnt quite a lot from it, heck even some meds like statins (well folks use it for life literally) could be a significant factor in weakening tendons, and as we know tendons are already damn slow in keeping up when compared to muscles and aerobic fitness. And then you combine with comorbidities like diabetes, gout, autoimmune or inflammatory based etc.

Apparently, try not to get any tendinopathy in any of your tendons esp repeated/chronic. Once kena, you will never get it to previous factory default state no matter the rehab and strengthening done later......performance will be downhill from there. Healed tendons at best get back to 90% of their original strength, with changes in elasticity, stiffness and fatigue resistance.

Positive takeaway : How to train for prevention?
- Slow heavy reps, 6-8 reps (good time under tension 3 - 5 seconds for eccentric), 2X a week. He mentioned 80% of 1RM but unfortunately i doubt endurance athletes know their 1RM or 3RM.
Heavy and slow calf raises, squats, RDLs.

- Isometrics

- Plyometrics

Listen to your body, if there is pain at your joints above 3/10 and stays elevated for the next 24hrs, and esp if it feels warm to the touch (inflammation) and there is discernible temperature difference between your left and right side, it's time to regress.

WussRedXLi

just like how I feel about my 21km (100m less of a complete HM) @ 2:04:15 & 10km @ 56:00 in Feb 2025 :ROFLMAO:

Btw, one thing bro......other than the meter (next time ba), one thing you can actually do as well right now to determine LT2 is run at a pace that you can feel burn in your legs and starting to go jelly, note that pace and then backing it up a little. Then run at that new pace and confirm that it is more sustainable. Personally I use this "trick", with time you will get pretty experienced at this effort and would back off automatically, coz in the real world you are also affected by wind and gradients.

Then you do your threshold sessions with that, 4 reps 2 reps or even continuous threshold up to you. 20 mins LT2 session for middle age actually shd be sufficient, no need for that many days of recovery. 40-60 mins range better dont try first, actually i dont do that duration neither except for TTs. Actually i dont even do 10k often, can you imagine going threshold for 12-15k also? That's another way of looking at it)

Also one other thing i forgot to share earlier, is that for age 50 and above, it might be better to adapt to a 8 to even 10 days training week. Dont follow the calendar week. So this way you can actually squeeze in 2 x *quality* threshold sessions if say 10k is what you are after, plus also fit in your strength + plyo. You want these to be quality 20 mins and hitting targets.
8-10 days easier to fit in your easy long run session also, coz it usually does not feel good to schedule it next to the workout session(s).
Also this way, easier to adopt a semi structured approach without being too rigid and too difficult to follow coz of work/family.

Sprints / strides do before your easy day or even workout day.

The strength portion also, maybe for legs can try just 2 working sets, 1st set can be a reasonably hard one but with reps in reserve , sort of a pre-fatigue set. 2nd set to failure. One trick i use is to do until tired already and muscles burning, dismount and shake it out for 5 to even 10 seconds to clear lactate, mount again to do till failure, you can try for even a 3rd round. When you are advanced enough, even 1 working set might work. You will know progress as you are able to handle more weights. Use the various resistance bands, they are practical for home use and also serve to help keep track of progression over time.
But for this, do take note of your form, it is very important to avoid joint injuries. The starting of any pain, time to regress first before continuing to overload.
Actually i'd recommend Bulgarian split squats, and then single leg raises....try to do weighted versions, calf raises can use your 2 hands against a bar in front of you, for BSS just loop a long reistance band around your neck. Then some minibands for the hammies, psoas, glute spread for glute med as accessory exercises, done and enough to cover most bases.
For plyo, the usual drop jumps are enough. Maybe a couple of broad jumps also if you are interested.
Again, slow proressive overload as usual, very safe one.

Actually for what you have achieved before from your posted runs, i believe 45 mins for 10k or similar for 8k, 12k distances (slightly faster or slower) is very achievable. But if that's what you are interested in, of coz....it's just a rough eg.

VonDeVous

why would ppl sell cheaper than the buying price. Interesting. Unless they got for free or something
coz may have something on, cant make it. injury or last min plans.
selling is getting back some money rather than totally waste that bib. put to good use, both parties benefit

WussRedXLi

Frick. Not happening to me even if i train optimally for the next 12 months. Dont even talk about racecraft or what.

Tudo88

selling is getting back some money rather than totally waste that bib. put to good use, both parties benefit
The Bib I bought was cheaper than than super early bird and can register under own name. I think is corporate or sponsors slot.

Kuudere

night race
it's a good addition, i like night races. But I got to see the price first. :ROFLMAO:
I am sure got people will try it haha.
To do all 3, should at least have past evidence of running 10/21.1k together in previous SCSM editions.
Sibeh fast for the 10km . I will be over the moon if I could go below 50 mins for 10km .
Got to start building base 😂 Takes a while to build back the base~

Took me a month to build back my aerobic base to run 5km at the below pace. Didn’t do a lot of speed sessions except for strides and tempo run.

XQPSnys.jpeg

For those that want to try Kipstorm. Feel like getting the Kipstorm elite to run 2XU and then return thereafter haha.
Best to check their policy, I think 15 days is just too long. Can clock a lot of mileage by then :ROFLMAO:
Dafug, now then i realised that the 2:09:56 WR by Ruth still stands, but Ruth herself is kena banned by AIU.
Simply coz they cannot definitively prove whether Ruth was on juice or not during that 2024 WR run? :oops:
Even though with various factors, like this timing vs her previous dont even come close to passing the sniff test and etc?
Totally doesn't make sense to not nullify the world record since it was so close to her doping timeframe.

There's no way she can run the WR without doping.
Lutkenhaus!

Lutkenhaus kick is extraordinary, 21.8s without blocks, is insane. And he did this right at the end.

I can understand why he sees himself as 400/800 guy. That kick means that he can overwrite his current 400m performance and be world class if he decides to focus on 400m also.
IMG-1113.png

sph777

I think Tudo answered Ender alr similar question like these are free from company so they sell

GlassDoor

Ya planning only 3-4km. Recently not running much due to plantar pain.

But undecided. Really don't want to add more shoes that I won't wear haha.
imo if u are experiencing plantar pain.. zero drop shoes are a bad idea.
6-8mm drop shoes with relative flexible midsole is best. ie avoid plated or high stack shoe until plantar situation improves.

sales69

imo if u are experiencing plantar pain.. zero drop shoes are a bad idea.
6-8mm drop shoes with relative flexible midsole is best. ie avoid plated or high stack shoe until plantar situation improves.
Some YouTube physios suggest zero drop for plantar. While some others suggest otherwise. Quite mixed opinions...

For now, among my shoes, I found Redhare 9U and Xiaonian as most protective and give less pain after run.

Could be the cushioning helping to absorb shock.

Recently I tried using this door wedge below to press hard again the sore spots on underside of foot.

Seems to work well to relieve tension. Can feel less pain at the heel and make running more manageable.

shopping

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.