This drink more on the lower end balanced side of hydration+energy, probably suitable for general training. Bought in bulk to save money since i used to buy at convenience stores after my runs.Looks like 4.2g of carbs /100ml.
I used to do redbull, but then will caffeine overload at my rate. That one iirc 45g if carbs per 250ml can which i get for 75c. But 80mg of caffeine. If can tahan 500ml, that is 160mg, a bit too much for me.
One thing i dont like banana is that sometimes they get squashed in the back pocket, so usually i'd eat earlier in the journey.
Thanks for your sharing and I can relate with this. I think for myself, every 10-12km gel will likely be safe. Also, I am looking into how much to hydrate and I definitely that 7 sips of water is too much. I am thinking ~4-5 sips of water each time. Will have next week to test it out again.yes, i used to have GERD as well, less issues these few years, which is probably i prefer not to eat anything before any runs. Another helpful practice for me on longer runs is to break up into 2, eg. a water break in between to fuel my body before a return run of similar distance (usually 10-12km one way).
While I have not look into refueling during my runs since I don't run marathons, at most HM. I am also unwilling to spend money on fueling packages for my runs at the moment (running is meant as a low cost recreational activity). But I have run enough to have some observations on myself, which my energy level usually begin to drop after approx. 90min.
So if I start doing refueling for my runs, my strategy will be every 60-75min regardless of distance. In the event I do a HM, i suppose i will refuel at around 10km (60min) and around 17-18km (60+45min), and have fluid intake in between 60min and 105min mark, and probably another one after the 105min mark, keeping my body well fueled to push harder for the last stretch.
I think activated charcoal works for me mostly if I take heavy dinner the night before.Wow.......good sharing and good testing. That's the spirit, need to actively test and get the info.
I dont suffer from chronic GERD, but i suspect some days i do reflux a bit esp when i eat too full. Then at night when i sleep, i would taste the dinner. Then end up i need to take activated charcoal, if not stomach really bloated, maciam like food poisoning feeling like that. Cannot sleep one, like wanna vomit if i dont take activated charcoal. This happens like once every month frequency. Sometimes it stretches for 2-3 days a stretch.
Yeah if cannot work then LL bo bian, see if wanna train for it or not. If not then stick with the current and see what paces you can do and if it works.
If 36g of gel and with zero breakfast, then stick with it with the intensity.
The intensity really is also one key factor, of coz as you get closer to LT1/LT2 paces it would be more terok.
For some, i guess maybe even easy pace might be jialat.
Share with you since this morning i also burned a fair bit.
Last afternoon and evening carb loaded as much as i could with 3 meals all with carbs....at night 2 bananas. This morning before i went out i ate 70g of instant noodles (for sodium as well) which has 53g of carbs as per label, and 1 banana. From Tg Pagar to Kovan along Serangoon road, 12km in @ Kovan i ate 2 bananas. Then hit punggol before Punggol Nth Ave i drank my 250ml packet of season iced lemon tea (now all the drinks healthier, i think 4.5g per 100ml so that is just 11g). All this is zone 2.
Then i went to round Seletar Aerospace one round there at tempo/LT2 effort, started to sip my Kang Shi Fu honey green tea (7.4g/100ml). Reached Yishun ave 1 and continued to eat my Xiao ding dang jap snacks but also minimal carbs lah, i think those 2pcs max 10g.
Continued to sip and finished Kang Shi Bo honey green tea at Sembawang Rd junction before Mandai Rd.
All these beverages is basically HFCS-55, 55% fructose and 40-45% glucose. Glucose is high GI "instant energy" kinda kick that can be used by our muscles cells by conversion into ATP immediately or for latter use. Fructose is lower GI, needs to be metabolized by the liver to become glucose, which then becomes the "instant energy" as mentioned above, but this takes approx 90 mins.
Anyway, enough waffling too much science, basically we just look at g/hr lah, or at least how many grams you can tahan for the whole course / how many hours of duration.
For me just now the ride was not a race, but i need the calories. According to the Magene bike computer algo, i burned 2.2k calories. A HM at my weight of 72kg male according to AI is around 1.55k, a FM around 3.1k. Not sure if the AI figure can be directly compared to my Magene bike computer, but just a very rough ballpark for comparison is can lah.
I think the algo compares the speed and elevation also, and also how frequent is the start-stop nature which you cannot avoid on some bike routes. It's like a vehicles start-stop city traffic flow vs highway non-stop, the gas mileage different one.
So basically adding all up, including the BF of 53g carbs from indomie, 3 bananas = 80g, ice lemon tea 11g, kang shi bo 37g, xiao ding dang snack 10g. Can say for this morning, i consumed total of 191g carbs. Round it up to 200g, coz i drank some F&N Zapple as well.
Assume yesterday i carb loaded as much as i could (most probably not lah, but it was decent) and this morning i started with breakfast as first consumption of carbs. But after consuming, i started the ride like immediately from my house, this is not a run or marathon. No need warm up for me. Reached Eu Tong Sen, i hoot Z2/LT1 RPE liao.
Higher RPE of around LT2, was 1 round at Seletar Aerospace (i think 2km length) including the lead up to SA from Seletar North road, and then whole of Mandai, iirc that one is like 7.8km length.
In fact latter part of Mandai after BKE, i was like VO2max/anaerobic/neuromuscular effort.......that's how i hit new top speed PB.
Also, when i nearly reached home, i hit the stretch of West Coast Highway before Keppel Rd and started to wind up after Kampong Bahru junction after Sentosa Gateway. So for that WCH stretch all the way to Keppel Rd just before Cantonment Link i usually would cheong one. Able to maintain no lower than 40kmh and i peaked 46 kmh for this 1.6km stretch.
But most important thing is this, i went to MBS for final cool down (Anson Rd/Robinson Rd to MBS promnitory already started cooling down, relac 20-25kmh pace already) and i know that time i hit the bonk limit already. Coz i wanted to accelerate and did not find the power to even get above 30kmh and even before i reached 1 Marina Boulevard i started to have serious hunger pangs (Grehlin/Leptin hunger hormones? The signal by the brain already started). Tried to hoot again at BEG, no way.....i never really got above 33kmh and the bonk + low energy feeling really started to present itself.
Guai guai U-turn and returned home at BEG Sheares Bridge. I wanted to top off with 100km by going to Guillemard just after Sports Hub but i could not.
After u-turn i hit Marina Barrage and sheet feeling really came, i could only limp at 20-25kmh.
Don't carry 9 gels to race, just use the 40g beta fuel gel. I am currently using 36g in training to avoid carrying so many gels.So, super long story, and TLDR -
Summary :
Full carb loading yesterday.
Today before starting + during actual "race"/"session" , 200g carbs total. In gel satchet speak, eg for SiS is 22g carbs each, that's 9 SiS gels.
2.2k calories as per meter (around there lah, i have no way of knowing), stat to bonk probably by 2k calories mark. If convert to running speak, that's like a 30km run in terms of energy expenditure.
Z2 session and maybe 20% of which is harder effort levels LT2 and above. Not talking about optimal performance, but more of just "surviving through the session/race". If want optimal performance coz wanna get PB or what, it most probably would need to be even higher.
I think there is a good degree of truth, always hear this from the triathlon camp folks, esp for the elites/pros. Other than fitness, you are most limited by your nutrition, the race is based on how much you can ingest + oxidate exogenously these carbs.
The previous day carb loading is fixed. And then the nutrition ingestion can be trained, but still limited to a certain degree.
Note, even after "soft bonking", and i am not sure how hard a bonk that is coz i dont know how much glycogen i have left, i still could limp home at around 25-26kmh. But the sudden tiredness/loss in energy is REAL, comparing what i felt along Keppel Rd and MBS/BEG is quite the difference.
That is still a lower range Z2 effort, possibly in running speak that is a ~ 5:30min/km pace for me, that is still a very comfortably/possible 4hr FM pace. Not a truly hard bonk in which i have seen others who could even barely walk at 10 min/km. I guess if i force myself even farther to hoot 30-35kmh hard effort or even continued 28-30kmh Z2 for 30 mins more, things would be very different (big ger symptoms surfacing). But it wasn't a race of coz, so i didnt wanna push that much lah, since already got warning signals coming out.
Time to test my shoes soonFirst time trying out lining elite 6 that I bought off carousel. Slow warmup pace really unstable and bouncing everywhere but once under 5:00/km, it really lives up to the reviews, the bounce and recovery is really top notch. Although hr was high, felt good maintaining mp for 1 hour at 4:45/km and not overly tired
You can gauge your eye condition and see whether it is still causing you issues in the morning tomorrow. If the swelling mostly disappears, then go for it.Don't know should I go for tomorrow race, I am having pink eyes![]()
Sold out race so i went for eco run insteadAre people still signing up for 2xu expecting accurate distance?![]()
Seems hot and humid leh. Good luck broTommorow will rain anot?
Pink eye, I just googled and it says it's very contagious. Better stay at home, coz start point, very close contact with many runners.Don't know should I go for tomorrow race, I am having pink eyes![]()
A Superblast 2 clone with softer foam. This is a very new shoe and i have found zero chinese reviews for it so far so i not sure how this Aussie bro got his hands on it so soon(he never mention the shoes were provided to him for review).
Yeah design reminiscent of Puma Magmax too.From the vid pic. I thought he was holding a puma shoe.
Pink eye, I just googled and it says it's very contagious. Better stay at home, coz start point, very close contact with many runners.
Guess I am lucky I did half marathon first waveToo late, a lot of runners kena liao
Managed to complete my 10Km with halfway run my left leg clamped.

You can try races in TW in the earlier part of the year. Weather is really good, I did my HM there in Jan and have no regrets. Also, it's a lot cheaper to do a race in TW.I prepped two gels this time, hopefully with better sleep on the past few days this time, performance is better.
Have kinda mixed feelings on training block this time as I am constantly travelling for work and travel in the beginning of the year (TW, HK, Shenzhen, Tasmania, Queensland, Tokyo). Training weather has been constantly alternating between hot and cold (did bring my shoes and HR strap to train pretty much daily), so I am not sure if I am training better than I could have if it was all SG weather.
I thought it was rain mist, but didn't know it was hazePast couple of weeks my side mostly only hazy in the evenings but this morning haze was quite bad. Started my run 5.30am orr lu lu cant really see but once first light got a surprise seeing how hazy it was and been running in the smog all the time. Somehow stupid NEA index still showing its in normal range.
Worth it, better to have longer than shorter distance for the race, at least you get what you are paying forThis year's distance seems accurate, I got about 21.27km on my watch.
If everyone else sees the same, kudos to the organisers for finally getting it right.
Respect for completing the 10km, enduring 5km of cramp~Too late, a lot of runners kena liao
Managed to complete my 10Km with halfway run my left leg clamped.
Yeah, i also mentioned this before, if i buy all these drinks at petrol kiosks/convenience stores to drink, sure wallet pok in the long run....though that'd be cool.This drink more on the lower end balanced side of hydration+energy, probably suitable for general training. Bought in bulk to save money since i used to buy at convenience stores after my runs.
Don't carry 9 gels to race, just use the 40g beta fuel gel. I am currently using 36g in training to avoid carrying so many gels.