Ender
Reached at about 3:30pm. Only 1 person ahead. Only one bib and 4 pins. Minimal waste.Long queue at Guoco for income race collection
Reached at about 3:30pm. Only 1 person ahead. Only one bib and 4 pins. Minimal waste.
Long queue at Guoco for income race collection
Usually, april weather is on the warmer side. And evening is warmer than morning. Unless it rains, then it will be cooler.Can’t tell if it is a tampering thing or the weather has been pretty terrible lately even during evening. Can’t muster much energy for my runs.. my eco run is going to be in trouble![]()
Thanks for sharing the map, there will be a lot of turns. I have got to make the best out of the 8.5 - 10.5km straight stretch at Nicoll highway.
Marathon very hard to predict performance, you don't cover up to 42km before the race. The most that people run is 32km. Beyond, it's possible to cramp out or hit the wall afterwards.running my first marathon next month and am pretty nervous about it. Not sure if I can finish it and I have a dream goal of within 4 hrs. how do you know you are ready? need any kind of advice from everyone.
Also what kind/brand of fuel do you take during this run and what's your strategy for eating them?
Will take my own sweet time to collect tomorrow!!Long queue at Guoco for income race collection
ACtually like cstalin said, if no train for fuelling at this juncture just 1 month away, just hoot liquid fuel.
I really dont see how the vast majority cannot tahan liquid fuel and a very conservative amount of gel per hour ...unless if you are the type in which sip water also kena stitch type even at zone 2 Even my kid totally no issue with it.
Today he took 57g + 37g liquid nutrition for 1.5hrs, no issue. Before that 3 bananas at the road traffic lights before we started and along the way 1 more banana just 30 mins in. And on yeah, probably approx 10g of carbs from diluted soda before we left home.
Lots of fuel, yes.......before anyone says anything, at the end of just prior to 2nd hour, he told me he wanna bonk already. Luckily we hit Jln Anak Bukit area, start of the nice part of Rail Corridor, we limped home at 15kmh and after that took proper meal immediately when we hit city area. Found out yesterday he didnt take much carbs at all (at most 50g for whole day). I peng san.![]()
It is quite an extreme hazard to be riding around while having the bonk feeling.
Only issue is, you need to carry liquid fuel even if you mix it to be very very concentrated form (dilute with water at water station), which is extra weight.
ps. BTW for the others who frequents RC, the previous closed part of Rail Corridor already partially opened, now opened till Henderson Rd flyover part. Previous was closed till Jln Kilang Barat, the ABC market part.
I don't need much race entitlements, so I am actually ok with that. My TW HM cost me $56 but I had a lot of entitlements from it, mostly after the race. A lot of freebies.Reached at about 3:30pm. Only 1 person ahead. Only one bib and 4 pins. Minimal waste.
Not tomorrow. Next Sunday .Tmr better be adequately prepared with good shoes which dont pond / vaseline / plasters. Or maybe even running sandals if you have a pair, if they push back start time.
Is a "standard" sumatra squall, ie very strong initial wave, and then lighter rain but then the lingering duration really depends. Sometimes long, sometimes short. Also amount of rain is location dependent depending on if it's a strong or moderate or weak squall. If lucky, a weak squall might leave some dry/drier spots and if it's around the city area then heng.
But at this moment, nobody knows. After midnight shd be able to gauge on the 240/480km radar.
Not tomorrow. Next Sunday .
These days humidity too high for comfort at night, not sure in morning.
Usually, april weather is on the warmer side. And evening is warmer than morning. Unless it rains, then it will be cooler.
Thanks for sharing the map, there will be a lot of turns. I have got to make the best out of the 8.5 - 10.5km straight stretch at Nicoll highway.
Will be a better race if it extended to ECP, but I will see what I can do.
Marathon very hard to predict performance, you don't cover up to 42km before the race. The most that people run is 32km. Beyond, it's possible to cramp out or hit the wall afterwards.
One of the predictor run is 29km long run with 23km marathon pace, and you use that to monitor your HR change. As long as average HR <80%, then should be good.
Will take my own sweet time to collect tomorrow!!
Part of the loop will be re-open in July 2026, and the rest of the loop will be open fully in July 2027.
I don't need much race entitlements, so I am actually ok with that. My TW HM cost me $56 but I had a lot of entitlements from it, mostly after the race. A lot of freebies.
I find the u-turn around the 20k mark from Bayfront Ave to MBS a bit weird. I run around here quite often, iirc there only got stairs before reaching the path towards art science museumUsually, april weather is on the warmer side. And evening is warmer than morning. Unless it rains, then it will be cooler.
Will be a better race if it extended to ECP, but I will see what I can do.
Marathon very hard to predict performance, you don't cover up to 42km before the race. The most that people run is 32km. Beyond, it's possible to cramp out or hit the wall afterwards.
One of the predictor run is 29km long run with 23km marathon pace, and you use that to monitor your HR change. As long as average HR <80%, then should be good.
Will take my own sweet time to collect tomorrow!!
Part of the loop will be re-open in July 2026, and the rest of the loop will be open fully in July 2027.
I don't need much race entitlements, so I am actually ok with that. My TW HM cost me $56 but I had a lot of entitlements from it, mostly after the race. A lot of freebies.
Smallest race bib I have ever seenReached at about 3:30pm. Only 1 person ahead. Only one bib and 4 pins. Minimal waste.
https://railcorridor.nparks.gov.sg/faq/I just hope the remaining 900m part between henderson and blk 138 bukit merah opens as originally planned by July 2026.
Which part(s) will only open in July 2027?
Definitely not the best race route. I have experienced uphill uturn 500m away from the finish line at Bizad Charity Run. I think the strategy will be to save up to burst upon approaching art science museum after coming down the bridge (~400m).I find the u-turn around the 20k mark from Bayfront Ave to MBS a bit weird. I run around here quite often, iirc there only got stairs before reaching the path towards art science museum
$118 for HM, it's crazyWho joining Philippines Airlines run? Can beo pinoy bu. I see the t shirt got simi Heart of the filipino lol. I can wear it in church to attract pinoybu https://www.justrunlah.com/race/pal-run-2026/
I did this on Monday evening, high humidity. Should be able to get in a fast time on next weekend.Not tomorrow. Next Sunday .
These days humidity too high for comfort at night, not sure in morning.
I'm a newbie, just started 2.5 years ago. Did my first half marathon last year. Clocked at 1:52 but didn't really enjoy it because I didn't fuel or drink the entire way and I made the rookie mistake and ran too fast the first 14km, tire punctured after.You got train boh? 1 month left and you don't have a fueling strategy yet?
yah did twice in the last month- 31km and 32 km, 32km still a good distance from 42km thoughHave you been doing your long runs? 30km ones?
liquid gel got no bite leh...do you guys bring food during the long run. brownies? lolLiquid nutrition (sports drinks) with a combination of glucose and fructose is generally less susceptible to causing gastrointestinal (GI) issues than traditional energy gels. The primary reason for this is the lower osmolality (concentration) of liquids, which allows for faster gastric emptying and easier absorption compared to the thick, concentrated nature of gels.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +3
Why Liquid Nutrition Causes Fewer GI Issues:
Supporting Evidence:
- Reduced Concentration (Osmolality): Energy gels are highly concentrated, which can draw water into the stomach and intestines, causing cramps, nausea, and diarrhea. Liquid nutrition is usually mixed to be hypo- or iso-osmolar, which is easier on the gut and speeds up gastric emptying.
- Hydration Integration: Liquid nutrition forces the consumption of water along with the carbohydrates, while gels often require separate, diligent water intake to prevent "stomach sludge".
- Absorption Rates: Both gels and liquids that use a 2:1 or 1:0.8 glucose-to-fructose ratio (or maltodextrin-fructose) are better tolerated than single-source carbs because they utilize different transport mechanisms in the gut, reducing the risk of overloading one transporter and causing malabsorption.
Sports Performance Bulletin +4
- A study comparing 5 hours of exercise found that seven out of nine participants reported GI discomfort with gels, while zero reported issues with liquid carbohydrate ingestion.
- However, if gels are taken with sufficient water (approx. 250ml per 20g of carbs), the risk of distress decreases.
- For very high carb intake (e.g., >80g per hour), liquid drinks are often easier on the stomach than trying to ingest 3-4 gels per hour.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +2
you must have a cape on because looks like you are flying! amazing pace! good jobhttps://railcorridor.nparks.gov.sg/faq/
The Rail Corridor will be also reopened in phases, with the following expected completion dates:
Phase 1 (Jalan Kilang Barat to Henderson Road): 31 July 2026
Phase 2 (Henderson Road to Blk 138 Jalan Bukit Merah): 31 July 2027
That's what I saw from the signboard
Definitely not the best race route. I have experienced uphill uturn 500m away from the finish line at Bizad Charity Run. I think the strategy will be to save up to burst upon approaching art science museum after coming down the bridge (~400m).
Fartlek training suits this type of race the best.
$118 for HM, it's crazy
I did this on Monday evening, high humidity. Should be able to get in a fast time on next weekend.
Dont think u r doomed with 6 weeks left. I think as long u got a long run of 32 to 35km 2 to 3 weeks before actual race day should be ok. This was what I observed from some of sub 4 marathon runners that I followed on their Strava . ( Their 30km timing on the long run before FM were around 2hr:50mins)I'm a newbie, just started 2.5 years ago. Did my first half marathon last year. Clocked at 1:52 but didn't really enjoy it because I didn't fuel or drink the entire way and I made the rookie mistake and ran too fast the first 14km, tire punctured after.
I have been running almost everyday, clocking in around 70-90km per week. My longer runs in the last 2 months are
April 9th : 21km
March 29: 32km
March 11th: 31km
they take up too much time so got to plan a bit to make time lol. Longest I have ever ran was only 36-37km last June. I think I am doomed and I got 6 weeks left lol.
I just hit a PB with 21km at 1:44 and would love to hit a sub 4hrs for a full marathon. I think I will prob do a 33-35km in the next few weeks just so it doesn't mess my head on actual day. Just need a nice warm day without any snow (I'm in Canada). Good time to break into my new shoe and try out the fuels.Dont think u r doomed with 6 weeks left. I think as long u got a long run of 32 to 35km 2 to 3 weeks before actual race day should be ok. This was what I observed from some of sub 4 marathon runners that I followed on their Strava . ( Their 30km timing on the long run before FM were around 2hr:50mins)
Although I rarely joined running race but sometime I also run on my own 21km HM and I did not consume any gel or drink too.
Ah not newbie lah, still got 1 month to train your gutI'm a newbie, just started 2.5 years ago. Did my first half marathon last year. Clocked at 1:52 but didn't really enjoy it because I didn't fuel or drink the entire way and I made the rookie mistake and ran too fast the first 14km, tire punctured after.
I have been running almost everyday, clocking in around 70-90km per week. My longer runs in the last 2 months are
April 9th : 21km
March 29: 32km
March 11th: 31km
they take up too much time so got to plan a bit to make time lol. Longest I have ever ran was only 36-37km last June. I think I am doomed and I got 6 weeks left lol.