jogging and motivation thread

Ender

what's 300km club by the way
LAst time when Ironman was the organizer, they have some kind of recognition for those loyalist runners. SO if you accumulate more than 300km of SCSM races, you get some minor rewards, like extra t-shirt, priority one day advance registration with lower price than tier one. TOher minor goodies bags. But the big ticket for me is the fast lane queue for post race massage. Now all gone.

hydeyoshi

Really lelong sales now. :)

There are also some Taobao sellers selling at slightly more for $80-$90.

Even this slight premium is worth it. Redhare 9U build quality is great. Only concern is whether one likes its bounce and high stack.

Glad to have these Chinese brands. Bring us back to the days of quality, cheaper shoes.

For western brands, the price hike after covid was wicked high.
What to lookout for when buying from PDD?

一倍十?

sales69

rECKleSSfElla

Actually the anta c202 g9 gen 2 and c202 7 gen are cheap on PDD too. Just that I am not very sure with anta sizing, always have the impression they run small.
I follow Hui's recommendations since he generally wears size 45 the same as i. But for both C202 7 and G9 2 he went 1 size up 46 so yeah.....these 2 models runs small.

rECKleSSfElla

So many new models coming out every few months! Hand/feet itchy again…which brand/non-plated model is recommended for short distance (5-10km) run priced below $80 now?
Just to add on, can consider Red Hare 8 pro or 9 Pro. These 2 not high stacked super trainers but more of your no fuss daily trainers. Can find for around or below 250rmb on PDD.

WussRedXLi

She said it has been proven in the London Marathon.

Not only the top 2, but by various athletes who gotten massive PBs.

So, buy buy buy,

GlassDoor

For your consideration. :)

Normal trainers:
特步薄底香菜2 and 轻舟.
Qiaodan LingHang600 V2
匹克千层浪
Redhare 9U

Supertrainers:
Xiaonian
Anta Zone 2 90

There are still many more options out there. See reviews until headspin. :s13:

Some YouTube channels to watch.

https://youtube.com/@ypnblue?si=gEmgqrjviVOGFSA0

https://youtube.com/@aldrichwu?si=RA-Tt4_-2RAHT-CO

https://youtube.com/channel/UC884DwUaYRiv_dNwFvkNGVg?si=1-uUIvzY82qnq49k

https://youtube.com/@yangedong?si=n1Su8LCP4Wk0i60j

https://youtube.com/@run-are?si=2yfwrfQo0VXkfxY5

Can consider 361 miro SL aka lifeng SL. Personally I prefer this over xiaonian as I like a firmer ride with road feel.
Needs to break in for about 50-70km to get responsive feel. Works well for daily 5-6 min pace.

Edit:
the shoe drains well as opposed to XN and cos of minimum padding dries fast as well.

rECKleSSfElla

@sales69 This new black/red colorway for the Feidian 6E chio leh. Time for you to get a third pair? LOL
ZPlzjG3.jpeg

sales69

Can consider 361 miro SL aka lifeng SL. Personally I prefer this over xiaonian as I like a firmer ride with road feel.
Needs to break in for about 50-70km to get responsive feel. Works well for daily 5-6 min pace.
Thanks for sharing your experience. Edited my post to add the Miro SL.

Damn you just added another shoe to my shortlist. :s13:

Appreciate your earlier sharing about using non-plated, firmer, stable trainers for plantar.

I swapped to my only non plated Mizuno trainer and managed to keep the pain under control. Can feel improving day by day.

Maybe doing slow 6:30-7min pace help as well. Sometimes will do a short burst of speed but feel wonky immediately or after-run.

So won't risk too much until full recovery.

Ender

Bmai really needs to stop plastering the brand name big big on all their shoes. I dont want the whole world to know i wearing PRC shoes leh lol.
Chinese shoes should have the blank wall space on theirs shoes, so we can stick three stripes there. Like sticking photos on our bus cards onto the empty square space. Those growing up in the 80s and 90s should know what I mean.

WussRedXLi

Yeah! Now everyone can become Sawe at a mere USD$500! End of the day the only one to huat from this wave of publicity is Adidas.

Already said before liao, that time on Sunday night, both Adidas and Nike had emergency zoom meetings.
One is how to milk gao gao, the other is how to limit damage control to AF4

WussRedXLi

Bmai really needs to stop plastering the brand name big big on all their shoes. I dont want the whole world to know i wearing PRC shoes leh lol.

I think nowadays 2026 still ok. See quite a fair bit of BMAI, Xtep, and Plaid on the PCNs like Kallang/Geylang, BEG, MBS. I mean at least got 5% of the runners lah.

Imagine that time in mid 2023, i was wearing this.......2022 winter colourway Plaid 1.0
Really had to thicken the face up first before going out for my runs to MBS.
Literally nobody, and i mean nobody, wearing PRC shoes. Maybe 1 out of 1000 you'd see an Xtep, if you are lucky.

Actually quite similar story for road bikes too. Covid era 2021/22 era vs present. That time chinese bikes very much limited to foldies and PCNs

images

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.