jogging and motivation thread

sph777

This was when I last posted in April 27.

I am now in the taper phase of pfitz 18 weeks/55 mile plan.

@Ender Story time :ROFLMAO:

1st 32k ran at May 9: I ran it in cloudy weather with no sun, 5.40 min/km. At that time, I was thinking there was no chance to even break MP because none of my km I ran was anywhere close to my MP.

2nd 32k ran at May 16: I ran this entirely in the rain, 5.23 min/km. I got in the last 2k at MP. My shoes were drenched from puddle.

3rd 32k ran at May 27: I ran this during the Hari Raya Haji Holiday, 5.10 min/km, warm weather. Last 3k at faster than MP.

Screenshot-2026-06-15-202441.png

This is my final 32k run.

That same week, I ran 110k/week.

Mon: 5 x 600m (90s rest): Total 11.2k with warm up and cooldown
Tue: Strength training
Wed: (AM) 32k long run (PM) 8k recovery run
Thur: 10k recovery
Fri: 10' x 3 (1 min rest): Total 9.2k with warm up and cooldown
Sat: 19k medium long run
Sun: (AM) 10k recovery run (PM) 10k recovery run

This was my peak week.

My learning point:

1. It's possible to achieve 110k off 6 days of running. I believe pfitz plan 12/70 and 18/70 has that already.

2. I wouldn't do doubles off long run or hard run (AM) followed by easy/recovery run (PM) again. I learnt my lesson.

3. The most I can see myself doubling now is 15/15 or 10/20, no more than 30k unless my fitness improves tremendously.

4. Strength training is important to handle high mileage, but if you chase high mileage and do doubles, you might struggle to find time for running. My solution to this is to focus on building strength during base building (<100k weeks). And then slowly substitute the strength training for running. Gold standard probably be 2 hours of weekly strength training.

5. You need to increase mileage where you don't lose sleep. Get in minimally 7 hours per day of rest. 8 hours is optimal. And naps throughout the day (1-2) on weekends.

6. Adding on to point 5, my sustainable ceiling with a full-time office job is probably around 100km/week. I can occasionally hit 110km/week if I reduce rest days to one. Beyond that, every additional rest day probably requires another ~10km of running spread across the remaining days. With no work-from-home flexibility, recovery time becomes the main constraint rather than fitness.

7. I also started taking multivitamins or supplements, such as iron since it's very helpful for running due to foot strike hemolysis.

What is next for me:

1. Gold Coast Marathon: Let's see how things go, I did what I can already, the rest is up to taper/race day.
2. IPPT: 1 month prep using a 3k workout plan
3. Decathlon 10k: Early season race to gauge HM fitness
4. Dec/Jan: Likely will run HM or another M, let's see how GCM goes first :LOL:
Looks like you are handling the Pfizinger plan well, the after 32km wall for your GCM should be no problem. When I did the entry Pfizingerplan, I managed to run all thru the 42km without stopping. Even can up tempo to 5:20 at the last two Km. Pfitzinger really built the resilience for repetitive stress over FM by having multiple single long ssessions runs.

If you finished the plan, you would have at least have 4 or more >32km runs. Very well prep for meeting the wall. You might set a high bar for your first FM..lol.
@Kuudere alr had the speed, now the mileage with the Pfzinger plan. I am sure he can do super well at GCM

WussRedXLi

Wah Coach Perry channel also got vid on iron deficiency in runners.

Let the pros do the talking better

WussRedXLi

Note : This is just for the general population, not including the risk from long distance running + aging.

Indeed, for me, i used to have very slight / borderline anemia in the early 50s, before i paid more attention to this. But not a big issue of coz, confirmed by the GP consult.......but of coz for performance sports, that's another matter. For recreational folks, i think not a big issue esp borderline cases.

AI Overview

Anaemia risk rises steadily after age 50. While only a small percentage of adults under 50 are affected, prevalence reaches 10% to 12% in community-dwelling adults aged 65, and it continues to climb sharply in the following decades. [1, 2, 3, 4]
The escalating risk profile for each age group is outlined below:

Age 50
  • Prevalence & Risk: The baseline risk begins to tick upward around this milestone. Most occurrences in this demographic are typically due to easily identified, treatable causes.
  • Primary Causes: Iron deficiency (often from gastrointestinal bleeding or menstruation) and early-stage chronic kidney disease. [1, 2, 3, 5]

Age 65
  • Prevalence & Risk: Anemia affects roughly 1 in 10 older adults in this age bracket (approx. 10% to 12.5% prevalence).
  • Annual Incidence Rate: The likelihood of developing new-onset anemia each year is about 6% for men and 4% for women aged 65–69.
  • Primary Causes: Causes are generally split into three equal groups: (1) Nutritional deficiencies (e.g., Vitamin B12 or iron), (2) Anaemia of chronic disease (inflammation or kidney disease), and (3) Unexplained Anaemia of Ageing (UAA). [1, 2, 4]

Advancing Age (80+)
  • The rise becomes much steeper. By age 85, prevalence exceeds 20%. For those in assisted living or chronically ill, rates can approach 50% to 60%. [1, 2, 3]

WussRedXLi

@Kuudere alr had the speed, now the mileage with the Pfzinger plan. I am sure he can do super well at GCM

Too bad no $$$ to go overseas enjoy the cold.

The weather here is like "sickening" to say the least. If not too hot, then is halfway cancelled coz of lightning risk, like the recent T100 for long duathlon and triathlon. Heng short and olympig distances not affected.

In fact 2023 also nearly affected, but heng it let up and end up roads wet (risky coz bike leg can buang until buay lin chu). 2024 i was actually wondering if it is a good call to enter coz of this due to late April being well into the intermonsoon season....not to mention the higher heat indexes.
And of coz 2023 SCSM downpour...same, but in the end let up, but then damage also done towards those performance runners into timings.

sph777

Too bad no $$$ to go overseas enjoy the cold.

The weather here is like "sickening" to say the least. If not too hot, then is halfway cancelled coz of lightning risk, like the recent T100 for long duathlon and triathlon. Heng short and olympig distances not affected.

In fact 2023 also nearly affected, but heng it let up and end up roads wet (risky coz bike leg can buang until buay lin chu). 2024 i was actually wondering if it is a good call to enter coz of this due to late April being well into the intermonsoon season....not to mention the higher heat indexes.
And of coz 2023 SCSM downpour...same, but in the end let up, but then damage also done towards those performance runners into timings.
as always run here can never achieve peak timings but still I enter races here to achieve my own goals haha

WussRedXLi

as always run here can never achieve peak timings but still I enter races here to achieve my own goals haha

Of coz, local stuff is 100% cost effective, and also least time consuming. :ROFLMAO:

And of coz this can be repeated time and time again until happy, so also got the "experience" factor - even SRY mentioned this quiet a number of times, am sure you would have heard it from him as well. Like I also used to get dropped in grp 1 rides. Now not anymore (maybe partially also coz of fitness increase, but i doubt that answers everything). Practice really makes perfect.

Then latter this year we sure kena the effects of the Super el nino, or at least a strong one. Plus first half of next year also.

xenotine

What shoe is recommended for slow and long recovery run ? I am still using nimbus 26 for 2 years plus . Should be time for change

WussRedXLi

Not to say want to judge others or become non-inclusive or what..... Seems like copying cycling pattern.

WussRedXLi

V02max - 65.2

velocity @ VO2max = 2:50 pace

I think she does our 2.4 or Pocali sweat run she can hit under 7 mins with some training shd be no issue.

I think possible, coz her 5k is like lower end of 15 mins.
2:25 marathoner

cCsEsmB.jpg

WussRedXLi

Alex Yee and Cassandre Beaugrand.

One doing marathons and the other playing 10k 5k setting national records.

Maybe Cassandre will again set another PR and national record in the Monca 5k.

LfBPTft.jpg

WussRedXLi

First "race" at TMCR return leg. 2 groups, vast majority youngsters....maybe 1 or 2 in their 30s.
Already travelled from city area to TMCR as 2 packs, counted as warm up.

They have the 10-30s power, i have the pacing experience, and possibly lactate clearance/aerobic base. Managed to overtake many, eventually was trying to chase P1, motivation. But gave up in the end and just followed, though i think can overtake as i actually caught up twice but he surged again, eventually i also dont wanna cause any accidents as i believe that guy was really pushing. (he first km off saddle sprinted liao to overtake as 2 group breakaway in which his pal later also lao hong and dropped, which for me will be a mistake as i am more into even pacing and own effort runs, even if i dont get drafting advantage)

Also found out that i mistook the distance. After the usual U-turn on the way back to first traffic light, that is already 5.5km. To the second traffic light is 7.3km. I thought it was less, ie whole leg back to NSRCC traffic light was 5km.

No data stats (didnt even turn on my watch as workout and i dont sync my sessions to the app installed on my wife's phone) but i never dropped below 39, majority of the time was like 42, some parts 45, changed upon a peak at 47.
Just eyeballing of coz, i think vs my long time ago "TT" on WCH, shd have improvements.

WussRedXLi

Garmin 61
Test 54.7 relative VO22max, he is not a lean person, 88kg, good for Hyrox heavier stations also, but run legs is -ve.

WussRedXLi

Mila Azul

I'm experiencing issues with my ASICS Gel-Jolt running shoes, and they seem to be causing more pain in my knees and the midsoles.

I'm wondering what could be the underlying cause of this discomfort.

Should I consider replacing the insoles to see if that resolves the issue, or would it be more practical to simply purchase a new pair of shoes?

WussRedXLi

I'm experiencing issues with my ASICS Gel-Jolt running shoes, and they seem to be causing more pain in my knees and the midsoles.

I'm wondering what could be the underlying cause of this discomfort.

Should I consider replacing the insoles to see if that resolves the issue, or would it be more practical to simply purchase a new pair of shoes?

I remember this Gel jolt shoes from like 2020/21 time when i was racewalking that these are very casual shoes leh......something even "lower" than Dynablast.....or even the ASISCS Contend level. Shd be very neutral shoes that if you are just running casual sessions it shd not cause knee pain.

Regardless, rock your feet from side to side, feel anything that is like "poking" against the bottom of your feet at the arch area (ie high arch) or instability? Firm or not firm midsole shd not cause such pain.

Can try the change insoles thingy, that's so easy to do, and then to try and use other shoes and see if the issue goes away and then you use back this Gel Jolt shoe and see if it comes back.

What i am afraid is, the shoes might not be the one factor causing this issue. So you need to slowly solve it via elimination one by one. So just try and let us know the results.

Mila Azul

I remember this Gel jolt shoes from like 2020/21 time when i was racewalking that these are very casual shoes leh......something even "lower" than Dynablast.....or even the ASISCS Contend level. Shd be very neutral shoes that if you are just running casual sessions it shd not cause knee pain.

Regardless, rock your feet from side to side, feel anything that is like "poking" against the bottom of your feet at the arch area (ie high arch) or instability? Firm or not firm midsole shd not cause such pain.

Can try the change insoles thingy, that's so easy to do, and then to try and use other shoes and see if the issue goes away and then you use back this Gel Jolt shoe and see if it comes back.

What i am afraid is, the shoes might not be the one factor causing this issue. So you need to slowly solve it via elimination one by one. So just try and let us know the results.

I should consider doing slow elimination one by one, but I get discouraged quickly, which is why I came here to vent.

I'll look for a few models of insoles to test it out, and hopefully it will be a cheap fix. :s42:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.