jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I should consider doing slow elimination one by one, but I get discouraged quickly, which is why I came here to vent.

I'll look for a few models of insoles to test it out, and hopefully it will be a cheap fix. :s42:

I searched, it seems like Gel Jolt is the same model used by the SAF. So it's SAF shoes ba. SAF started to use this in 2021.

But with that said, it still shdn't cause any issues even if you changed to this.

I think if you wear those super aggressive/unstable shoeslagi higher likely hood of pain here and there if your lower limbs not strong and is unprepped.

VonDeVous

Mila Azul

I searched, it seems like Gel Jolt is the same model used by the SAF. So it's SAF shoes ba. SAF started to use this in 2021.

But with that said, it still shdn't cause any issues even if you changed to this.

I think if you wear those super aggressive/unstable shoeslagi higher likely hood of pain here and there if your lower limbs not strong and is unprepped.

Yes, I purchased it from Emart for $40+

I'll try wearing it for a few more times to see if it makes a difference, but I suspect the issue might be personal, as my insoles are on their way and I'll be able to assess if the discomfort persists once they arrive.

ChatGPT recommended I consider switching to a different pair of shoes

I'm currently looking at these three shoes that Chatgpt recommended to me because I have flat feet.

Skechers Men's GOrun
Skechers GO Walk Arch FIT 2.0
Skechers Men's Gowalk Arch Fit

Ender

Hello shoe experts, any recommendation for zero drop shoes with some protection against gravel ?
Mainly for rucking on local trails.

Have been looking at this, not sure if it is overkill for my needs:
https://www.rdrc.sg/products/xero-s...-cream-sunny-lime-mens?variant=42457603932243

Open to suggestions from Taobao.
TB alternative for minimalist shoes are Hobibear (哈比熊) and Whitin . You can also try Vivobarefoot, they sell on taobao, but they are western brand, so likely a lot more expensive than Hobibear and Within .

Do you wear barefoot or slippers for long distance walking regularly? Coz if you were walking on cushion shoes, transiting to these minimalist needs gradual progression, else the Achilles might get injured.

Kuudere

haha no more races this year I think, nothing on my plate yet. I'm actually looking at the Johor Bahru runs this June/July if any of you are interested, they have a few night runs, but I got no car leh, need tompang, otherwise a bit hard.
Can take grab, I think there is one night race in jb at Iskandar. Just go from Tuas checkpoint and get grab there.
Looks like you are handling the Pfizinger plan well, the after 32km wall for your GCM should be no problem. When I did the entry Pfizingerplan, I managed to run all thru the 42km without stopping. Even can up tempo to 5:20 at the last two Km. Pfitzinger really built the resilience for repetitive stress over FM by having multiple single long ssessions runs.

If you finished the plan, you would have at least have 4 or more >32km runs. Very well prep for meeting the wall. You might set a high bar for your first FM..lol.
I am not expecting too much, just see how far I can go. I enjoyed the process of training more than racing.

Race day just have fun, see what I can do.

My next marathon plan will likely be Marathon Excellence Wind plan, peaking at 90km.
Good point raised.

Actually i feel these topics in nutrition/recovery are not often discussed enough....... recently (after CNY period) i feel the recent boost was due to just changes and tweaks to my recovery....be it big or small. My so-called training did not change at all and is more or less what i can do wrt my lifestyle schdule. Any nutritional deficiency, from carbs to proteins to micronutrients, can really hamper recovery, which is basically the other 50% of the equation.

eg your said iron....the incidence of some sort of iron deficiency in women is as high as 50% doing marathon training with high mileage.

Especially so that you all running long distance, must take lah.....esp if not really paying attention to diet. Esp zhar boh which is higher risk than men, or if 100% eating out and predominantly hawker food. Unless if taking sufficient meat + liver (eg cai png). For me, i am taking 2-3x a week 10mg (very safe), in addition to diet food, in which i'd take at least 2 times a week liver from cai png.
But i get it, some dont like pork liver from cai png due to smell, and that is a legit thingy. Luckily my cai png store cooks it pretty decent esp my 11.30 lunch time when it is still pretty fresh from the wok as they usually cook it at 10-10.30am.

For shorter distances not so terok. For 3k 5k i think can chill, largely non-issue as far as chronic deficiency is concerned.

If one is really afraid of "anyhow taking supplements" esp since iron is not a totally benign supplement, just check FBC even if dont wanna pay for iron panel, more or less can get the story liao even if FBC is not definitively diagnostic by itself. Just talk to your GP.
But of coz, if one's Hb is in the single digits on your full body checkup test, then no need simi iron panel ordered by a specialist, "Houston, we REALLY have a problem". :ROFLMAO: Anyway the GP consulation in the body checkout test also def would flag this out, unless if you skip the consulation after results come out.

Other than sleep (recovery), any of these these deficiencies and similar hampers recovery and performance adaptations, which is just as important as the training itself

edit - this article mentioned as high as 56% :oops: for those really into some sort of competitive running, maybe they mean with some decent goals and not suka suka runners.
https://runnersconnect.net/iron-deficiency-in-runners/
My iron supplement is 15mg daily haha
@Kuudere alr had the speed, now the mileage with the Pfzinger plan. I am sure he can do super well at GCM
I am aiming for a conservative goal, since it’s the first time running the marathon
Too bad no $$$ to go overseas enjoy the cold.

The weather here is like "sickening" to say the least. If not too hot, then is halfway cancelled coz of lightning risk, like the recent T100 for long duathlon and triathlon. Heng short and olympig distances not affected.

In fact 2023 also nearly affected, but heng it let up and end up roads wet (risky coz bike leg can buang until buay lin chu). 2024 i was actually wondering if it is a good call to enter coz of this due to late April being well into the intermonsoon season....not to mention the higher heat indexes.
And of coz 2023 SCSM downpour...same, but in the end let up, but then damage also done towards those performance runners into timings.
I think for myself, the main drawback about sg races is inaccurate distance, underestimating the actual distance. I have raced in a number of local races (Skechers 2024, Pocari Sweat 2024, Bizad Charity Run 2025, Income Eco Run 2026). Only Pocari Sweat got it right and it was at Bedok reservoir.

I don’t mind the weather, but at least give me accurate distance or overestimated distance 🤣

For this reason, I am looking at running more AIMS certified races going forward. In Malaysia, there is 13 races that are certified to be legitimate distance, so I can slowly go for those.

as always run here can never achieve peak timings but still I enter races here to achieve my own goals haha
Sg is more suitable for tune up races, I don't have much confidence in the race distance being accurate. But I sign up for tune up preparation for overseas race + run for competitive aspect.

So, even if I don’t hit PB or run a lot less like in income eco run, at least I wouldn’t regret

Coless

any runners here can share how to lower heart rate for zone 2 runs? tried running 8–10km at easy effort, but my apple watch keeps showing around 150 BPM. doesn't feel hard though, can still talk and run. pace was around 6:00/km.

milkiee

any runners here can share how to lower heart rate for zone 2 runs? tried running 8–10km at easy effort, but my apple watch keeps showing around 150 BPM. doesn't feel hard though, can still talk and run. pace was around 6:00/km.
honestly, there is no shortcut to this, you just need to run more and it will slowly go down after time.
i noticed my HR going down gradually within 1-2 years of consistent running.

Kuudere

Try running at slower pace, 6.30/km or below

My easy pace is 5.50 min/km, 130s bpm, I tested this recently, was conversing with my friend throughout the run

sph777

Can take grab, I think there is one night race in jb at Iskandar. Just go from Tuas checkpoint and get grab there.

I am not expecting too much, just see how far I can go. I enjoyed the process of training more than racing.

Race day just have fun, see what I can do.

My next marathon plan will likely be Marathon Excellence Wind plan, peaking at 90km.

My iron supplement is 15mg daily haha

I am aiming for a conservative goal, since it’s the first time running the marathon

I think for myself, the main drawback about sg races is inaccurate distance, underestimating the actual distance. I have raced in a number of local races (Skechers 2024, Pocari Sweat 2024, Bizad Charity Run 2025, Income Eco Run 2026). Only Pocari Sweat got it right and it was at Bedok reservoir.

I don’t mind the weather, but at least give me accurate distance or overestimated distance 🤣

For this reason, I am looking at running more AIMS certified races going forward. In Malaysia, there is 13 races that are certified to be legitimate distance, so I can slowly go for those.

Sg is more suitable for tune up races, I don't have much confidence in the race distance being accurate. But I sign up for tune up preparation for overseas race + run for competitive aspect.

So, even if I don’t hit PB or run a lot less like in income eco run, at least I wouldn’t regret
For now, due to young kid, I'll only travel for races if I can get a major slot then bring family there for vacation haha. Maybe GCM or seoul if my wife wants to go australia or korea down the road

WussRedXLi

There is another "slightly better" marker to use, VT1 or ventilatory threshold 1. If you are still able to close your mouth and still nose breathe at a pretty steady state and not force the air in and out, it is very likely that you are still aerobic.
The "talk test" a bit wierd to use, people outside look at you why this wierd fella murmuring to himself. :ROFLMAO:

This one cannot "gek" one, if you are unable to nose breathe normally

Many factors that can cause this decoupling esp for your 8-10km, the first one being cardiac drift.
If you run like only 3-4k early in the morning then usually not that much of an issue. :D My experience is that usually it starts from around the 2k mark.

milkiee

There is another "slightly better" marker to use, VT1 or ventilatory threshold 1. If you are still able to close your mouth and still nose breathe at a pretty steady state and not force the air in and out, it is very likely that you are still aerobic.
The "talk test" a bit wierd to use, people outside look at you why this wierd fella murmuring to himself. :ROFLMAO:

This one cannot "gek" one, if you are unable to nose breathe normally

Many factors that can cause this decoupling esp for your 8-10km, the first one being cardiac drift.
If you run like only 3-4k early in the morning then usually not that much of an issue. :D My experience is that usually it starts from around the 2k mark.
based on my experience, i find the talking test requires more effort as compared to nose breathing.
i think it's because the exchange of breathe is irregular when you're talking or singing.

Ender

For now, due to young kid, I'll only travel for races if I can get a major slot then bring family there for vacation haha. Maybe GCM or seoul if my wife wants to go australia or korea down the road
Before your kids start primary school, this is the best time for overseas run plus family holiday. Was able to HK and Penang then. School holidays, a lot less choices and very peak.

WussRedXLi

based on my experience, i find the talking test requires more effort as compared to nose breathing.
i think it's because the exchange of breathe is irregular when you're talking or singing.

Yea true , if you are trying to talk as well while running, then that rhythm might be a bit irregular in pattern.

Coz to be honest, LT2 also can talk......just not in long conversational sentences but i definitely can communicate in phrases clearly.
Case in point I just did that 2 nights ago at TMCR. In fact VO2max effort also able to....i was speaking to another fella immediately when i stopped at the first traffic light after the long 5.5km straight.....was trying to ask him if we had any chance of catching another group in front and if he was willing to work together. My heart rate 170s-160s before stopping. So in a way that might sometimes be a bit confusing to some who are not able to differentiate.

Just the nose breathing test is just..... normal nose breathing that most of us already used to. Except maybe for a rare few habitual mouth breathering cases like those suffering from chronic allergic rhinitis

TheGhost

TB alternative for minimalist shoes are Hobibear (哈比熊) and Within . You can also try Vivobarefoot, they sell on taobao, but they are western brand, so likely a lot more expensive than Hobibear and Within .

Do you wear barefoot or slippers for long distance walking regularly? Coz if you were walking on cushion shoes, transiting to these minimalist needs gradual progression, else the Achilles might get injured.
Thanks, will look into that.
Yeap, already on WHITIN for about 2 years, can do Macritchie to Bukit Timah trail with a light 5kg load, no issue so far. Looking for something with a bit more protection and higher durability.

Ender

Thanks, will look into that.
Yeap, already on WHITIN for about 2 years, can do Macritchie to Bukit Timah trail with a light 5kg load, no issue so far. Looking for something with a bit more protection and higher durability.
I see, you are already a seasoned zero drop shoes wearer, Achilles are resilient.
Maybe you are looking at zero drop running shoes, that have more EVA midsoles but retain the zero drop and wide toes box for your toes to spray.
Can only think of ALTRA and TOPO Athletes. Very niche, so not many places selling. I saw TOPO at a shop in Queensway many years ago. Don't know still there. ALTRA has/had a distributer, but don't know who.

rECKleSSfElla

Talking about Topo, past couple of days been getting spammed on Youtube with video recommendations of this Topo Spectre 3.

Its like every few weeks there is a new "next best thing" or "running shoe of year" contender. Last week it was Puma Deviate Nitro Pure and now there is this. Too much fake hype from some of these big time western youtubers.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.