jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I havent participated in a race in Singapore since 2012 i think , the last time round was Ocbc Cycle 2012 , when I placed 21st overall for the 40 km .

The gradient is definitely not 9% , probably closer to 5-6%

I usually go MY as the course is longer and I treat it as a day or two off work.

Shaving works , i shave before cycling races, need less effort

I see. OCBC cycle around for so long already! :oops:

There are various climbs. The typical one that SCSM use is ~ 5%, also in T100.
The vid below shows the second one via Ophir, prob can say 9% avg but got some peaks, tho not so sure about absolute accuracy but shd be ard there. I think not very dissimilar to what we can normally access via Republic Blvd on normal days and then cheong down Sheares Ave (on the "opposite" side where ECP terminates to Sheares Ave)
Still, with correct gearing/RPE, is ok lah....... not say 18-19% Vigilante / Jln Demarwan and sustained type.

Some athletes (might not be super proficient in cycling) insufficient leg strength coz paced wrongly previously in the run or not sure....maybe wierd gearing also or dont know how to use gearing, or just more recreational athletes, walked up this slope.

edit - actually in the vid can already see 1 fella stalling. 😅

Tudo88

BYD is cheap ok for international events, don't complain.. LOL

It’s cheap for me after 25% off haha.

Suprisingly this year Pen C D E all sold out but not Pen B. So I am guessing the pacers all start from Pen C onwards?

WussRedXLi

BYD is cheap ok for international events, don't complain.. LOL

T100 also increasing. If trained first and then last 1-2 months (where you 100% know you are ready and no injury) then checkout, can expect to pay $278 for 2027 for standard duathlon.

Basically around the same as half marathon race, you pay $278 for HM kicks.

But then you'd get premium route/scenery, can instagram etc.....access to Maurten hydrogel, Maurten electrolytes (i think some drink mix 160), ice.......crazy number of aid stations for the run (1.5km spacing) etc. Splash / refill ice to your heart's content.
Oh yeah some prev years even saw stuff like Coke.

Only problem is the %!@#@! weather, either that or Cat 1 (2026, race cut short for some distances cat), or wet grounds coz near intermonsoon season liao......2024 was so wet that the transition area was all muddy @ promonitory even with their best efforts with floor boards.
High heat index is a given and accepted condition, that one no need to debate.

Ender

Key word, serious runner. That means you dedicate quite a significant of time to running, at the expense of other social life. Some of the cost for running can be offset from the lifestyle that could had happened if you are not into running. I am a unker closing to 60s. My age group who aren't into running would usually spend their personal time drinking beer at kopi shop and disturbing beer ladies. Typically spend $20 for two bottles to keep the beer lady happy, 4 night per week, that's $80, a week. So about $4000 a year. Similar spending for running, but healthier.

WussRedXLi

Unfortunately Daisy didnt quite make the sub 16 she wanted in an official race. (she did 15:58 in 1 previous parkrun)

edit - took place at 22 deg C. Maybe just need to see and wait later in the year and hope for the best.

Quite interesting this Daisy Glover mummy. She as an amateur + small kid mummy duties (but elite level performance) and managed to train to a level that is even faster than Pros in races (but currently Holly is more of a ex-running Pro / ex national running representative for Team GB, she more into Hyrox currently).
But of coz to be fair Holly mentioned she has been ill 2 weeks ago and hasnt been training for this distance for a while etc, so.....and still pretty warm weather on that evening, so still very decent performance under such circumstances.

Daisy's 16:12 vs Holly Archer's 16:20

Holly Archer finished in second place in the Colchester FNR 5K Elite Women's 5k race, which took place in August 2026. [1]

Race Results Summary
    • 1st Place: Daisy (keepupwith.daisy)
    • 2nd Place: Holly Archer (@hollyaarcher)
    • 3rd Place: Maddie (m4ddie.jl) [1]

Kuudere

Was actually curious what will happen to my speed during a half past 6 marathon training block but seems l

If not for me pressing the wrong button, I think this would be a 8.23-8.25 2.4km run.

This year goal was to hit Sub 830 but guess I need to try sub 820 the next time round already.

alCVmWk.jpeg

W0PmIUU.jpeg
Well done, I wouldn't have been able to run this fast during my marathon block. I have to dedicate a 2.4k/3k training block to run a fast 2.4k.

Screenshot-2026-08-13-072720.png

This was my workout yesterday and I took a full month after the marathon to train for the ippt 2.4km. For this block, my mileage was low, wasn't gunning for 2.4k PB but I wanted to get as close as possible to my 8.20 2.4k form if possible.

During marathon block, I was a lot slower because my marathon pace was more conservative and I just focused on slower long runs (Pfitz plan - basically sacrifice speed for aerobic gains)

After doing ippt in late august, I will take a bit of break and then start HM training in September. Will try the 12 weeks/63 miles plan, I am aiming to break my HM PB.

sph777

Well done, I wouldn't have been able to run this fast during my marathon block. I have to dedicate a 2.4k/3k training block to run a fast 2.4k.

This was my workout yesterday and I took a full month after the marathon to train for the ippt 2.4km. For this block, my mileage was low, wasn't gunning for 2.4k PB but I wanted to get as close as possible to my 8.20 2.4k form if possible.

During marathon block, I was a lot slower because my marathon pace was more conservative and I just focused on slower long runs (Pfitz plan - basically sacrifice speed for aerobic gains)

After doing ippt in late august, I will take a bit of break and then start HM training in September. Will try the 12 weeks/63 miles plan, I am aiming to break my HM PB.
good solid plans for all your goals! All the best!

Tudo88

Thanks. Was quite surprised also since not much intervals during my shortened marathon block also.

Next week see whether can hit sub 40 for 10km during 7 eleven run anot haha. Might use a negative split strategy this time round although not my preferred style

GlassDoor

any idea what gels we are getting at this year's bydsim?
got a variety pack of sis go isotonic energy gels. already used 4 of the 7 flavours.
seems to work well for me cos i am used to starting my runs fasted with just a cup of black coffee.
used one at 7km of 16k run. then 7km, 13km and 20km of 25k run. no bloating or discomfort or bowel issues.
But at almost 3 bucks a pop. it much more expensive than the decathlon ones that i used to buy.
Any other cheap and good?

Ender

any idea what gels we are getting at this year's bydsim?
got a variety pack of sis go isotonic energy gels. already used 4 of the 7 flavours.
seems to work well for me cos i am used to starting my runs fasted with just a cup of black coffee.
used one at 7km of 16k run. then 7km, 13km and 20km of 25k run. no bloating or discomfort or bowel issues.
But at almost 3 bucks a pop. it much more expensive than the decathlon ones that i used to buy.
Any other cheap and good?
Cheap one, I am using currently is M-Action(迈胜) from PDD. 40g per pack, with 24.9g of carb. Quite standard. Taste wise is great, like jello. Very cheap.

For elite gel, those >45g carbs, can try the Taiwanese brand Wins. Cheapest on PDD.

GlassDoor

Cheap one, I am using currently is M-Action(迈胜) from PDD. 40g per pack, with 24.9g of carb. Quite standard. Taste wise is great, like jello. Very cheap.

For elite gel, those >60g carbs, can try the Taiwanese brand Wins. Cheapest on PDD.
been running through different ai to fine tune training plan. thus far the most logically sounding one is gemini.
Also discovered that even within the same engine the proposals can differ depending on how you prompt them.
any valuable insights?

dreamaurora

Key word, serious runner. That means you dedicate quite a significant of time to running, at the expense of other social life. Some of the cost for running can be offset from the lifestyle that could had happened if you are not into running. I am a unker closing to 60s. My age group who aren't into running would usually spend their personal time drinking beer at kopi shop and disturbing beer ladies. Typically spend $20 for two bottles to keep the beer lady happy, 4 night per week, that's $80, a week. So about $4000 a year. Similar spending for running, but healthier.

Not sure where the guy get his figures from. Apparel so expensive meh? Next week marathon I will be using a Mizuno tank top, an Anta running short, and a pair of Balega socks only $60+ in total cost. Shoes no need to buy latest and greatest model. I always buy one generation behind and most of my shoes below $100. The most expensive one that I have is carbon plated Asics Yogiri S4+ which cost me around 180 SGD when I bought it in Tokyo.

Anyway just ordered Wave Prophecy 14 from Mizuno Store. $115 after discount. Going to test it over the weekend then decide whether to use my Yogiri or the Prophecy for my marathon next week. It looks really badass though.

SH_J1GC255131_00.jpg

sales69

Not sure where the guy get his figures from. Apparel so expensive meh? Next week marathon I will be using a Mizuno tank top, an Anta running short, and a pair of Balega socks only $60+ in total cost. Shoes no need to buy latest and greatest model. I always buy one generation behind and most of my shoes below $100. The most expensive one that I have is carbon plated Asics Yogiri S4+ which cost me around 180 SGD when I bought it in Tokyo.

Anyway just ordered Wave Prophecy 14 from Mizuno Store. $115 after discount. Going to test it over the weekend then decide whether to use my Yogiri or the Prophecy for my marathon next week. It looks really badass though.

SH_J1GC255131_00.jpg

Interesting and wacky design. Mizuno is underrated and mostly forgotten brand nowadays.

If there were no China shoes, I will be stocking their shoes instead. Cheap and good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.