Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

Andrew833

Hi again everyone. Thanks for the response. Maybe I wasn't clear enough.. so here goes.

I will be dropped at JPO around 9am estimate (lompang friend's car, cannot choose or change destination nor deviate, friend will continue heading elsewhere).

I intend to just hang around JPO until 1pm at most. After that I would like to head to Mount Austin from JPO. My concern is will it be a problem to find any grab taxi from JPO to Mount Austin area ? If not, then great. If so, what are the alternatives to get to Mount Austin from JPO. For e.g. buses to closest civilization ?

Grab is my first choice where possible. Comfort and speed is priority.

Thanks again !
After you finish your shopping at JPO, try grab, if can't get any grab. Take the only bus at JPO, the bus will passby Paradigm Mall, press the bell to alight, then shop there or grab to Mount Austin.

Coffeelix

you're safe, the fella would have to be standing at your gate to hack your lock
Ago, this Meng Kok dim sum is supplied by Chang Man.
When I saw the menu last week, it is the same as Chang Man.
After eating it, I confirmed it is.
Today the Chang man lady boss is around and double confirmed it is.

If u like Chang man, u will like meng kok

Andrew833

Ago, this Meng Kok dim sum is supplied by Chang Man.
When I saw the menu last week, it is the same as Chang Man.
After eating it, I confirmed it is.
Today the Chang man lady boss is around and double confirmed it is.

If u like Chang man, u will like meng kok

Haven't try Chang Man yet. Saw it in Bukit indah.

Andrew833

Habrosus

If going desaru, can but don't know got grab or not. Even have grab, the cost will be very high. Not worth it.
Last time those who drive can take ferry to desaru, just like Butterworth to Penang island. Now don't know have or not.
One way cost around $43, take bus how much only.
One has to be adventurous! :s13:

SantyBalls

Issue with grab/airasia is their crazy surge.

Nonsurge rm6 have alrdy. Peak period i see rm30 also have

Aaagogo

as i step up from ~150g to >200g protein intake daily, my cheat meals becomes more and more tedious, every single calorie must taste out of this world, so i present to you Zaidi Roti Canai

you will have to order in melayu, or at the very least start in broken melayu and then throw in a few english words.

it's not that difficult; Panas, Ais, Teh, Satu, Dua, Tiga, Makan sini, bungkus, kambing, ayam, daging, nasi, telur, Terima Kasih.

if you want to be super baller, start your conversation with "salam ah-leh-kum" it means, peace be with you.

it's not that you cannot order in english, it's about showing a basic respect when you are in a foreign land, on top of that, melayu is singapore's national language. the uncle at counter actually replied to me in english when i order their speciality dish. He asked me "beef can" instead of "daging"

use your broken melayu, they know what you want, after all, why else would a chinese fella go to their restaurant and not order their specialty? he even told me my total twice, first in malay then in english.

when you show that you make an effort, abang is very nice most of the time.

stake out a table, then go to the counter and order, then watch and enjoy the chaos and go pickup when your number flashes, it's super busy, but it runs like clockwork.

i almost licked the plate.

2024-07-27-11-06-06.jpg

2024-07-27-10-30-55.jpg

no public transport options. you have to be comfortable being the only 1 or 2 chinese people eating there.

RM 8 for Roti Canai Sarang Burung Daging, RM 1.5 for Kosong

singapore also got, copy already, but definitely will be more than $2.30, i think that is telur bawang price.

2024-07-27-10-47-28.jpg

bonus; the making of video https://streamable.com/tlwjyt

Habrosus

Just realized Restoran Kak Kak has cut down its opening hours! :crazy:

Saturday6 am–12 pm
Sunday6:30 am–12 pm
Monday6:30 am–12 pm
TuesdayClosed
Wednesday6:30 am–12 pm
Thursday6:30 am–12 pm
Friday6:30 am–12 pm
Updated by phone call 4 weeks ago

Aaagogo

Just realized Restoran Kak Kak has cut down its opening hours! :crazy:

Saturday6 am–12 pm
Sunday6:30 am–12 pm
Monday6:30 am–12 pm
TuesdayClosed
Wednesday6:30 am–12 pm
Thursday6:30 am–12 pm
Friday6:30 am–12 pm
Updated by phone call 4 weeks ago

usually by 11 plus, they already out of at least 50-60% of their food choices.

maybe got chao kuan people start to show up around that time then eat for 2 or 3 hours?

Habrosus

Coffizz, anyone? Aka sparkling coffee.

Found a way to have my ZUS coffee without having to travel from Komtar area whenever I arrive via BSI. Not ideal, but still ZUS... canned. :crazy:

First time trying sparkling coffee, still not sure what to think after a few days. The other one's Expresso Latte. Canned being canned, I'd say "OK lah, not bad".

Oh, from Family Mart. :grin:

Habrosus

usually by 11 plus, they already out of at least 50-60% of their food choices.

maybe got chao kuan people start to show up around that time then eat for 2 or 3 hours?
Last time I was there was quite a long while back, got there after 12noon. Closing time was about 1.30 or 2.30pm IIRC...

People still around after closing hour? :s22:

RyanJ

as i step up from ~150g to >200g protein intake daily, my cheat meals becomes more and more tedious, every single calorie must taste out of this world, so i present to you Zaidi Roti Canai

you will have to order in melayu, or at the very least start in broken melayu and then throw in a few english words.

it's not that difficult; Panas, Ais, Teh, Satu, Dua, Tiga, Makan sini, bungkus, kambing, ayam, daging, nasi, telur, Terima Kasih.

if you want to be super baller, start your conversation with "salam ah-leh-kum" it means, peace be with you.

it's not that you cannot order in english, it's about showing a basic respect when you are in a foreign land, on top of that, melayu is singapore's national language. the uncle at counter actually replied to me in english when i order their speciality dish. He asked me "beef can" instead of "daging"

use your broken melayu, they know what you want, after all, why else would a chinese fella go to their restaurant and not order their specialty? he even told me my total twice, first in malay then in english.

stake out a table, then go to the counter and order, then watch and enjoy the chaos and go pickup when your number flashes, it's super busy, but it runs like clockwork.

2024-07-27-11-06-06.jpg

2024-07-27-10-30-55.jpg

no public transport options. you have to be comfortable being the only 1 or 2 chinese people eating there.

singapore also got, copy already, but definitely will be more than $2.30, i think that is telur bawang price.

2024-07-27-10-47-28.jpg

Looks really 👍

Very impactful empty plate. Plate licking good ? :LOL:

Aaagogo

Looks really 👍

Very impactful empty plate. Plate licking good ? :LOL:

if i was sitting at a corner table, 101% i lick the plate, but i was right in the front of the dining hall, 1st column 1st row, so i could only use spoon to scrap and final bits of the kosong canai to wipe the plate. makcik beside me was giggling and laughing when she saw me clean my plate.

their dahl curry is so good, almost as good as any dahl curry you find randomly in india

i challenge you to take your pictures there :ROFLMAO:

i want to see this dish under pretty lights

Aaagogo

Coffizz, anyone? Aka sparkling coffee.

Found a way to have my ZUS coffee without having to travel from Komtar area whenever I arrive via BSI. Not ideal, but still ZUS... canned. :crazy:

First time trying sparkling coffee, still not sure what to think after a few days. The other one's Expresso Latte. Canned being canned, I'd say "OK lah, not bad".

Oh, from Family Mart. :grin:

DIY Espresso Tonic?

x3dnd3x

2024-07-27-11-06-06.jpg

2024-07-27-10-30-55.jpg

2024-07-27-10-47-28.jpg

bonus; the making of video https://streamable.com/tlwjyt
Yes this is very nice. My technician brought me here before. He said there's another one in that area which opens at night and have to call for reservation otherwise confirm sold out.

Habrosus

DIY Espresso Tonic?
I've been trying sirup bandung soda in JB, where some used ice cream soda instead of plain soda. A drink seller here mentioned that the use of ice cream soda would make the resulting drink too sweet.

Now with this coffizz... think I'd need a second one to decide if I'd like it coz I thought it's taken away too much coffee with the fizz...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.