Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Habrosus

Yesterday checked, my Manjialink card after top up expiry 6 month later.
I last top up in April, Nov expire.
Ok lah, we go via 2nd Link, one minimum top up amount, to and fro already 2/3 gone. :s13:

I've 3 other cards not used the past 6 months at least. Think instead of trying on my next trip, I'll save those queuing behind me getting delayed in case of rejection, by topping up the minimum amount. Got to use different cards for return journey and slowly finish the older cards for retirement. :grin:

Meemoosaa

Because the Italian restaurant that @Meemoosaa recommend only open 430pm, I tried the other Italian restaurant behind it... Very tasty...

This is also very good but pricer ! I don't think they do pizza right ? The other one does pizza. I think these two Italian at Sunway beats Bottega anytime of the day but their location more ulu lor. Pics looks great !

Meemoosaa

So the pics are from da zio francesco? I thought from Monnalisa

Yes, you are right, way better than Bottega.
The Tuscan Ragu, the depth and flavor, mamma mia...
got secret nutmeg powder as garnish some more.
They give me free bruschetta also on the house.

Mix of both restaurants but I tend to go to Mona Lisa more because of their pizza and simpler dishes. I think hubs also had the ragu the last time and he loves it. Happy to know you enjoyed it too.

Meemoosaa

Walk from sunway big box

Sunway grid

Sunway boulevard

Monalisa restaurant that @Meemoosaa recommended not open yet 😞

Sunway Citrine

Jaya grocer aircon so warm here compared to r&f, eco botany and Mt Austin...

The walk not too hot, coz can go inside building and under shelter...

Walked passed the international school also, looks so nice and clean and expensive, completely opposite the school I saw at selesa jaya where the back yard of the school smell like fish. They converted the backyard as fish farm, with 8-10 PVC tarpaulin fish pond...

waaahh you are a rare creature, attempting to walk from Sunway Boulevard to Citrine Hub ! I did it only once and it was close to the evening, cannot imagine what is it like in the middle of the day.

The Jaya at Citrine is usually fine but I think these few days probably mini heat wave. Btw, they have a great Japanese there called Sushi House. Name sounds dodgy but it's surprisingly good and value for money too. Did you check second floor ? In a weird way I actually like the peace of Citrine hub, out of the way, less crowd.

SongManKranji

waaahh you are a rare creature, attempting to walk from Sunway Boulevard to Citrine Hub ! I did it only once and it was close to the evening, cannot imagine what is it like in the middle of the day.

The Jaya at Citrine is usually fine but I think these few days probably mini heat wave. Btw, they have a great Japanese there called Sushi House. Name sounds dodgy but it's surprisingly good and value for money too. Did you check second floor ? In a weird way I actually like the peace of Citrine hub, out of the way, less crowd.
They dun hv level 6 ah 🤣🤣

Meemoosaa

There’s many such housing in Malaysia. On EDL, opposite mid valley, TUTA Night market area, even Mount Austin you can find very run down public housing.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/WqVpjdn9gXu1SsrbA?g_st=com.google.maps.preview.copy
https://maps.app.goo.gl/EVY6acnGja2nkMvL6
https://maps.app.goo.gl/wimgKXDy3gXCLjrt5
I always thought it’s abandoned or for the foreign workers until I watched this video. Last minute show the house the Malaysian postman resides in. I feel very lucky our public housing is not I’m such bad shape.

It is NOT normal to have the kind of maintenance and upgrading scheme of public housing like Singapore does. We even have the one service app to complain, and they seem to respond quite efficiently too. Lol.

In many countries, public housing tend to have a bad rep due to the lack of care of the buildings but then their public housing don't cost an arm, a leg and a kidney to buy I believed. :s13:

I had a bit of a shock when I accidentally got onto a CW bus that took me on a ride around the TUTA area during the day, this was before they repainted. In any case, painting is only one aspect maintenance as there are so much other work involved to up keep the structure and integrity of a building.

Habrosus

It is NOT normal to have the kind of maintenance and upgrading scheme of public housing like Singapore does. We even have the one service app to complain, and they seem to respond quite efficiently too. Lol.

In many countries, public housing tend to have a bad rep due to the lack of care of the buildings but then their public housing don't cost an arm, a leg and a kidney to buy I believed. :s13:

I had a bit of a shock when I accidentally got onto a CW bus that took me on a ride around the TUTA area during the day, this was before they repainted. In any case, painting is only one aspect maintenance as there are so much other work involved to up keep the structure and integrity of a building.
Interesting (long) ride, right? Something we'd hardly be able to come across, otherwise. :s13:

With spare time in hand, I'd hop on such bus services which are normally more peaceful too. :grin:

Habrosus

Closer look? :grin:

https://www.facebook.com/reel/1314542879641310?fs=e&fs=e

oceanpriest

Mix of both restaurants but I tend to go to Mona Lisa more because of their pizza and simpler dishes. I think hubs also had the ragu the last time and he loves it. Happy to know you enjoyed it too.
Just learnt from my Italian friend, both owners are actually siblings. Francesco and his mother at da zio francesco and Davide at Monnalisa. That explains why their menu are not overlapping.

This is also very good but pricer ! I don't think they do pizza right ? The other one does pizza. I think these two Italian at Sunway beats Bottega anytime of the day but their location more ulu lor. Pics looks great !
Yeah the pizza looks amazing, but they open late 430pm. Bottega is big already, branches in KL, Penang, JB, more volume can get cheaper ingredients, can sell more affordable, but chefs from various countries. These two Italian restaurants at sunway are small family-run restaurants, more personal touch. Especially the one cooked by the nonna (grandma), kinda remind me of this nonna on ig.

oceanpriest

Sunway is very family friend one lah, don't have tiko pek offerings. Not suitable for you dah ! :s13:
Nearest for him from sunway is nusa bestari, went there once for lunch before going aeon BI and can smell the tiko aura surrounding that area already :s13:

Anyway saw the peranakan restaurant at sunway, did u try? Google maps photos like not bad...

Sunway box retail park to citrine hub. Didn't check second floor, what's there? Pizza? Saw 12rm pasta deal like not bad... Sushi house looks quite good also, next to the wrap shop.

Andrew833

Ok lah, we go via 2nd Link, one minimum top up amount, to and fro already 2/3 gone. :s13:

I've 3 other cards not used the past 6 months at least. Think instead of trying on my next trip, I'll save those queuing behind me getting delayed in case of rejection, by topping up the minimum amount. Got to use different cards for return journey and slowly finish the older cards for retirement. :grin:
Yea, go check all your cards expiry before you use.

Meemoosaa

Interesting (long) ride, right? Something we'd hardly be able to come across, otherwise. :s13:

With spare time in hand, I'd hop on such bus services which are normally more peaceful too. :grin:

For sure, especially when we often chiong parts of JB that are bright and shiny. It was a reminder of the other side of JB and to be mindful of the conditions of others.

Meemoosaa

Just learnt from my Italian friend, both owners are actually siblings. Francesco and his mother at da zio francesco and Davide at Monnalisa. That explains why their menu are not overlapping.

Yeah the pizza looks amazing, but they open late 430pm. Bottega is big already, branches in KL, Penang, JB, more volume can get cheaper ingredients, can sell more affordable, but chefs from various countries. These two Italian restaurants at sunway are small family-run restaurants, more personal touch. Especially the one cooked by the nonna (grandma), kinda remind me of this nonna on ig.

Oh didn't realise they are both siblings. Davide is very chatty and he never once mentioned that. We even "complained" that Zio Francesco is expensive :p but I think they both have different offerings. Must confront him next time why he never mentioned it. Lol He damn PR one while Zio Francesco is very reserved and hardly speaks.

Yeah, gotta take note of Mona Lisa opening hours.

Another gossip, Bottega is managed by an Italian guy who apparently married a wealthy Malaysian/KL woman. Rumour has it that he basically married into 豪门 and did very well with the investment from his wife. :grin: And yeah Bottega has a party / corporate vibes to it. Got DJ , happy hours party sessions.

Meemoosaa

Nearest for him from sunway is nusa bestari, went there once for lunch before going aeon BI and can smell the tiko aura surrounding that area already :s13:

Anyway saw the peranakan restaurant at sunway, did u try? Google maps photos like not bad...

Sunway box retail park to citrine hub. Didn't check second floor, what's there? Pizza? Saw 12rm pasta deal like not bad... Sushi house looks quite good also, next to the wrap shop.

Second floor has more restaurants ! Some of them have tables overlooking the greenery view. Quite nice !

There's another pub-like place upstairs that does some Italian but I think waste of quota if you are looking for proper Italian food. It's great for like large family parties with kids / drinking along with some nibbles kinda of place.

Bookmarked that Peranakan restaurant but not enough stomach to try ! :s13:

oceanpriest

Another gossip, Bottega is managed by an Italian guy who apparently married a wealthy Malaysian/KL woman. Rumour has it that he basically married into 豪门 and did very well with the investment from his wife. :grin: And yeah Bottega has a party / corporate vibes to it. Got DJ , happy hours party sessions.
U mean Chef Giuseppe? He's such friendly guy. Been awhile din go bottega, coz the outdoor settings even with fan still damn hot during day time. Prefer grabfood the pizza to my usual pub in the evening.

Edit: oh wait, should be the other guy

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.