Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Jurong640

U didn’t explore the huge Book Xcess ?
We also enjoyed the lunch promotion a few years ago.

Haven’t been to the big box hotel Pendas Cade that used to serve Nice and cheap lunch set.
Nope. Didn't have much time 2 weeks ago, i reached Sunway Big Box already around 3pm to 4pm after going to Thai Temple at Mount Austin. Ate a little bites at Burger King and shop around a little before going to NSK. Will try one day to take bus in.
At Tuas, only has CW buses serving you.
Although it has longer waiting time for buses, it isn’t stressful as there is no crowd.
Yeah, i wanted less crowd and more peaceful. I always see Tan Kin Lian facebook, he always show the way taking CW buses using 2nd link and to forest city. How long is the typical waiting time? We have to take CW bus from Tuas Link MRT to go in right?

Roastduck

Nope. Didn't have much time 2 weeks ago, i reached Sunway Big Box already around 3pm to 4pm after going to Thai Temple at Mount Austin. Ate a little bites at Burger King and shop around a little before going to NSK. Will try one day to take bus in.

Yeah, i wanted less crowd and more peaceful. I always see Tan Kin Lian facebook, he always show the way taking CW buses using 2nd link and to forest city. How long is the typical waiting time? We have to take CW bus from Tuas Link MRT to go in right?
You can take any CW buses at Tuas checkpoint be it JE or JP or Tuas link.
After clearing jb customs, then you have to take the specific bus to your desired destination.

Most of all, the jb custom counters are almost right at door steps when you alight.
it is a breeze clearing jb custom
Most bro here work want to mention this cos they don’t want crowd to swarm there and make it into another woodlands 😜

Habrosus

https://www.causewaylink.com.my/routes-schedules/

Those bus services without a queue structure are normally the less frequent ones.

Bus to Gelang Patah is outside the convenience store, though got to be alert in case the staff asks to go to the already-parked-somewhere-nearby bus.

Buses to Bukit Indah, Sutera Mall, and Perling Mall are right at the far end.

Jurong640

https://www.causewaylink.com.my/routes-schedules/

Those bus services without a queue structure are normally the less frequent ones.

Bus to Gelang Patah is outside the convenience store, though got to be alert in case the staff asks to go to the already-parked-somewhere-nearby bus.

Buses to Bukit Indah, Sutera Mall, and Perling Mall are right at the far end.

Use the Lugo app to give you the ETA. It is very useful as it gives you predictability as to whether any bus will show up at all.
thank you both

Andrew833

I think from 1pm to 2pm, this timing got less buses. The rest of the timing, estimate need to wait about 20mins. To Sunway may be more.
I only record the whole journey from the time I board CW bus at Tuas Link to my destination time.
Sunway- waiting time is longer but very fast reach.
2nd is GP and Perling.
3rd is Bukit Indah
4rd is Sutera and TUTA.

potato13

tml planning a Father and Son fun in JB as the wife is away with her gal frd in Batam..

Anyone has any recommendation for theme park etc for 13yo Boy?
Son suggested to go escape Johor (Paradigm) :cry:

The last time we went, before he finish burning his energy, Im Burnt Badly already.. LOL..
Need some other suggestion.

twosix

tml planning a Father and Son fun in JB as the wife is away with her gal frd in Batam..

The last time we went, before he finish burning his energy, Im Burnt Badly already.. LOL..
Legoland?

beanstalk6

At 13, he is a little over-aged for Legoland and the likes of Energ X Park (inside Big Box). Try X Park opposite Sunway Big Box where there are ATV, go-karting and high ropes.

potato13

At 13, he is a little over-aged for Legoland and the likes of Energ X Park (inside Big Box). Try X Park opposite Sunway Big Box where there are ATV, go-karting and high ropes.

Yup.. i google, saw X-park.. pricing not quite cheap..
Other the ATV and go-kart, what other is offer there?

Son still doesnt really like go-kart.. hmm..

Elon Jobs

We might be going to this new place at Sutera this weekend if weather permits.
https://secretsingapore.co/joyful-dreamland-rainbow-park-johor-bahru/

13 year old is tricky in between age. I’ve shortlisted a few places for my own kids when they are older:
https://maps.app.goo.gl/UxYZ5NsHAruRCz1r9?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/ce7tGg2ykh5XY5Zf6?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/cLDff7EDPVvwcVPt5?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/1rZPHNBFejGh9H9f9?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/BCCECkrvpEphoVdc7?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/9AfQu1b39Vsf7LVx7?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/1BdEjrAQr3CsMpAz9?g_st=ic
You can see if it suits your kid and itinerary. I’ve left out karting as your son don’t like it.

beanstalk6

Yup.. i google, saw X-park.. pricing not quite cheap..
Other the ATV and go-kart, what other is offer there?
You saw the website, haven't you, so it is all listed there. I've gone there, done that. The options are as they are for early teens who are past the age for indoor playgrounds. I take comfort that mine are able to enjoy more options over there for the same price on this sunny island. After all, isn't this the point? You can also bring him to ride horses or fish but I reckon yours is not the active, outdoor type.

Aaagogo

Ng Ming Huat is a IYKYK place, despite every birdie having passed by the place.

quite a bit of CNY snacks can get from one of the many direct sources, but of course don't expect high quality butter pineapple tarts lah ok, although they sell the decent quality butter

last week they had a not bad chocolate chip cookie, with a ingredient list that was miss-arranged, the first item on the ingredient list was butter...

on top of the small cookie is a baking sized chocolate chip with a bit of salt. but this week, the container same but never apply the ingredient list sticker.

photo-6307662982242045451-y.jpg

Hae Bee Hiam and love letter are my Tied 1st CNY snack. Arrow head is 3rd.

both hard to find my level of good ones, because my late grandma makes her own love letters and HBH, so i'm always comparing to her flavor.

this one is ok, spicy enough but can be more spicy

can ask for sample

photo-6307662982242045445-y.jpg

the peanut filling inside quite fragrant, and not overly hard to bite.

f72bc8a610e1abaf.jpg

got more things, just never take more photos

potato13

We might be going to this new place at Sutera this weekend if weather permits.
https://secretsingapore.co/joyful-dreamland-rainbow-park-johor-bahru/

13 year old is tricky in between age. I’ve shortlisted a few places for my own kids when they are older:
https://maps.app.goo.gl/UxYZ5NsHAruRCz1r9?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/ce7tGg2ykh5XY5Zf6?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/cLDff7EDPVvwcVPt5?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/1rZPHNBFejGh9H9f9?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/BCCECkrvpEphoVdc7?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/9AfQu1b39Vsf7LVx7?g_st=ic
https://maps.app.goo.gl/1BdEjrAQr3CsMpAz9?g_st=ic
You can see if it suits your kid and itinerary. I’ve left out karting as your son don’t like it.

Thanks man!
I see quite a number of your shortlist we already went.. LOL..
Shall try showhim those didnt..

I also wish he like karting leh.. at least father and son can race abit..
For now, he no interest.. maybe another year or so.. hopefully. lol.

You saw the website, haven't you, so it is all listed there. I've gone there, done that. The options are as they are for early teens who are past the age for indoor playgrounds. I take comfort that mine are able to enjoy more options over there for the same price on this sunny island. After all, isn't this the point? You can also bring him to ride horses or fish but I reckon yours is not the active, outdoor type.

yup.. my boy now no more indoor playground for him..
mine not yet into such outdoor activity..
Hopefully 1 more year he would prefer such, than we as parent can enjoy with him.. (Hopefully my energy dont burn finish 1st) LOL

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.