Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

potato13

Just now first time use PayNow in Malaysia to pay for the beans. Sweet Blossoms do not accept paywave. They accept PayNow and PayLah.

I use the UOB app scan to pay, rate reflected was 3.06. Quite bad, because Youtrip rate was around 3.13 ish
If use most sg bank like UOB, posb, DBS etc.. the rate usually quite chui..
The better SGMYR rate for SG banks are Maybank SG and CIMB SG.

Aaagogo

coming back from a project, drove by BI2, pasar malam day, always nice when you get bonus in the day.

moist evening, looking for 2 items only

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-17-39-59.jpg

cherry and jackfruit are back, but according to what i recently learned, these are J or JJ only, for this size, it's "overpriced" when compared to the 4J sized i just ate in Shanghai. that was 300g for ¥39.90

bigger fruit gives a different bite to the fruit

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-17-39-59-(2).jpg

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-17-39-59-(1).jpg

photo-6244759028663782641-y.jpg

Best muah chee in the world, bought 3, 1 for now, 2 for the future

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-17-39-58.jpg

Best MFC, i have to find out which pasar malam they go to.

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-17-39-57.jpg

put on a heavy plate to make this MFC taste even better

Whats-App-Image-2026-01-07-at-18-00-03.jpg

it's been a while, hello jb chiongsters

Aaagogo

• RON97: RM3.16 per litre
  • RON95 (Non-Subsidised): RM2.56/L
  • RON95 (Subsidised): RM1.99/L
Someone with MyKad and a driving license but no car can pocket more than RM150 per month just by giving up his quota of subsidised RON95 fuel to a foreigner who is otherwise forced to buy RON97.

Viable or not?

can have them create an account with petrol brand app with their details.

Aaagogo

Each Malaysian with MyKad has a quota cap 300L per month. (I think, need to confirm)

Malaysian with MyKad and a driving license but no car.

- if he help a foreigner to pump on a non-malaysia plate vehicle = illegal.

- He can help foreigner whom own a malaysia Plate vehicle to pump at a discounted rate - no issue. as long whenever need to pump he is with the driver and present with his MyKad. (maybe he can earn abit pocket money But i feel its too much of a trouble).

alot of ways lah. want to drive in sg, already quite bad can't pump petrol in sg, then cheap already still want cheaper... sg supposed to be more spending power...

i don't recommend trying to get around their subsidy, it's their subsidy, don't be a l4n ji4o li4ng (hokkien). already very cheap the petrol there, have some self respect.

SongManKranji

coming back from a project, drove by BI2, pasar malam day, always nice when you get bonus in the day.

cherry and jackfruit are back, but according to what i recently learned, these are J or JJ only, for this size, it's "overpriced" when compared to the 4J sized i just ate in Shanghai. that was 300g for ¥39.90

Cherries looks shiok dah. OK gg now 😂

Life is v short. Ai song song kao tuas & Changi.

Panerex

any JB experts did your medical health screening in JB?

Would like to do one, and do not mind topping up on specific cardiac assessment (e.g., treadmill ECG).

TIA

Elon Jobs

any JB experts did your medical health screening in JB?

Would like to do one, and do not mind topping up on specific cardiac assessment (e.g., treadmill ECG).

TIA
I did my screening here back in August 2023 (8/8 promotion, RM302), my wife did it in November 2023 (11/11 promotion, RM295). https://maps.app.goo.gl/n1JSFnhBj9exABdFA?g_st=ipc
I did a lengthy review of the experience on this thread, you can go search by date. Sorry, I’m quite noob with HWZ, can’t link you. Briefly, location was good (especially if you don’t drive and need to fast before the tests), price was cheap, test was comprehensive, but the clinic is quite run down relative to my previous health screening at Novena before Covid, and they have many trainee doctors and nurses working, there. If your kink is being poked by an 18 year old Malaysian girl several times before she manage to draw your blood leaving your vein bruised for the next week, this might be your place. But price is less than half for similar tests, so beggars can’t be choosers. You can visit their website and WhatsApp them for latest price list of their different packages.

My sister and brother in law did their screening here early last year when it was still known as Southern medical. https://maps.app.goo.gl/FMssYowKffrXW6qa8?g_st=ipc We recommended them the place after bringing our daughter there for stomach flu in the middle of the night- their service was top notch and doctors spoke mandarin and dealt with my daughter well. We have been visiting other southern medical branches since whenever the kids are unwell in Johor Bahru.

We shortlisted this place for our health screening in a couple of years’ time. https://maps.app.goo.gl/g3rCrGVWaaKbbSw17?g_st=ipc

Side note: I was scrolling through my Revolut transactions for my visits to wellness lab and southern medical, and it’s triggered my memory that I had a gout attack after drinking the soup at Guoma Paradigm mall https://maps.app.goo.gl/a7xm49U1tFXJMvoL6?g_st=ipc I did not consume any internal organs, just drank the soup. I was not yet 40s then, and my father has history of gout. I visited Southern medical and I told the Chinese doctor I eat regularly at HDL and BITP and the occasional pig organ soup/kway chap, never had gout attack before. He told me the restaurant likely kept reusing their broth and boiled them over and over again, vastly increasing the purine content, coupled with my dad’s history, likely that was the reason. This was back in December 2024, and I have not another gout episode since, and I have not visited Guoma since either. Just a heads up for those with gout family history.

Elon Jobs

Anyone stayed in the "newly opened" Novotel Hotel near KSL mall?
Looks like it got some bad reviews even though its a new hotel?
It’s a feature not a bug- the first month usually all Guinea pigs, they will use them to fine tune and iron out any issues in their system. Same thing happened for Hyatt in 2024, Sheraton in last year and same thing will happen for JW Marriott this year.

Elon Jobs

@Ago bro, last night I could see your pictures, now I can’t. Is it a you issue or me issue? I’ve been using postimage for might trip in December as well so I wonder if others can’t see my images as well.

SongManKranji

Hyatt Place when newly open also full of bad reviews, after sometime then up to standard.
Yes so far hyatt OK except for last stay the shower room drainage seems stuck. They wanted come up told them moi stay 1N nia mai disturb..... 🤣
For me impt empress songz. For me 3 star like granada can cos impt proper car park 😁

Aaagogo

@Ago bro, last night I could see your pictures, now I can’t. Is it a you issue or me issue? I’ve been using postimage for might trip in December as well so I wonder if others can’t see my images as well.

yours still working... not sure which end is having issues

i can still see mine from my end

fe5TMs1.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.