KFC super-fan from singapore spent 18 years hunting for world’s best fried chicken reveals country that came out on top

Brionic

wow... more power to u jacky tan

4241d17d909aa8148d3133d33a5cf613

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/kfc-super-fan-spent-18-102637706.html

On an 18-year quest spanning 24 countries and five continents a fast food lover hunting for the best KFC in the world has decided the finest “finger-lickin’ good” chicken is in Mongolia.

Jacky Tan, a 41-year-old marketing consultant from Singapore, began his adventure to find the world’s best Kentucky Fried Chicken in 2005 after finding the Original Recipe tasted different abroad.

Since then, he has taken every opportunity to try the deep-fried delicacy while traveling for work or with his wife Michelle, a 41-year-old assistant who he often has to persuade to take a reluctant detour from their holiday.

Even on the couple’s honeymoon, Jacky managed to visit a KFC in Barcelona, but Spain had the worst he has tried, closely followed by Hong Kong and Australia.

Jacky makes the same order in every country and has developed a ranking he has dubbed TaF-CA, an acronym for taste, freshness, crispiness and aroma – the four key criteria he uses to evaluate each KFC.

Asked why the quest means so much to him, Jacky said: “I don’t come from a very rich family, so I would have to save up to afford a KFC.

“So for me, it’s really a luxury.

“Now of course, I have my own income. I can’t say exactly how many KFCs I have had, but definitely more than 1,000.”

While there are many strong contenders, Jacky’s research found Mongolia stood out from the rest, where he said he had to queue for an hour but the deep-fried poultry was “unique”.

“I visited the KFC in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia, in 2013 during a business trip with my colleagues,” Jacky said.

“It had just opened and there were loads of people queuing so we had to wait for an hour. But the wait was totally worth it.

“I rank the chicken based on taste, freshness, crispiness and aroma, and the Mongolian fried chicken hit all of these indicators. It’s very unique. I was totally impressed.”
(PA Real Life)

moi tried in Taiwan before, ish same like sinkie KFC 20+ years back - big chicken piece, crispy fragrant coating

-Hera-

Power lah this Jacky, jiak so many cheekons before

McGraw

poor chicken, die already, fried already still tio hiamed by hooman :(

Infectant

that's not true. i tried the kfc at ulanbaatar, it's just okay. near it is a coffee bean cafe.

freshvibes

No.1 on the list is Mongolia. Would never have expected that.

Meanwhile USA at 19th is :ROFLMAO:

Ender

I wonder how he can eat KFC overseas without the signature Lingham chilli sauce?

Dopod007

The best chicken I hv tasted was in Hanoi. I saw the restaurant staff went to catch a live chicken to the kitchen to cook. It was done in two ways, boiled and fried. It was heavenly nice, so juicy and tasty. Cannot be fresher than this...

rbtr8r

He should rank SG first. Even in SG the taste can be different.

my colleague say thomson is the best.

so his ranking not accurate.

winningeleven

I only tried the kfc in Iceland and New Zealand. Only have original unlike sg / Malaysia have crispy / spicy favour.

Iceland has the most expensive 2 pcs meals I ever tried. Cost about $17 based on the exchange rate when I was there in 2016

singexpat

mongolia version is kinda oily leh.

louisville is among if not the top for me. i can literally taste the spices on the skin and the whipped potatoe is so good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.