Kia K3 or Mazda 3?

kingarmpit

Both abt the same price, but i think interior trimming the kia K3 looks slightly better... yet Mazda 3 got more gadgets (keyless, sunroof, start-stop). Mazda costs alot more if serviced at AD though, but die die must service with them to retain warranty. Any comments on durability over first 5 years?

what are your views? And also, i'm looking at listed prices on sgcarmart, would the ADs give discount if indicate interest physically?

Kia Forte K3 1.6 EX (A) $109,999
Mazda 3 Sedan 1.5 Standard (A) $107,988

Unclemun

Both abt the same price, but i think interior trimming the kia K3 looks slightly better... yet Mazda 3 got more gadgets (keyless, sunroof, start-stop). Mazda costs alot more if serviced at AD though, but die die must service with them to retain warranty. Any comments on durability over first 5 years?

what are your views? And also, i'm looking at listed prices on sgcarmart, would the ADs give discount if indicate interest physically?

is the EX really so expensive?

AL5509

May we get to know is TS looking at driving alone most of the time or get to ferry your family members mostly?

I happened to test drive both of these rides monthly back.

Mazda 3 looks 'good' inside out on the exterior, with all the flashy function, the feel of MIJ car does feeeeel good but the 'power' of it maybe on the downside if you happened to ferry your family members often.
Likewise, the size of it may be abit tight thou.

K3 'look' fine too, plus the size.
And if I do not remember wrongly, k3 have rear air-con which Mazda 3 does not.

Think go test drive and see which you prefer.
And of course if you can, ask 3 more of your friends or family members to hop on and try full-load as to some, it does make a different.

Kindly share your POV too.
Happy shopping.
Cheers

kebinu

K3 is now 99k thereabout. Mazda 3 is 104k?

There's more discount at the showroom.

Dragon

Administrator

Between the 2, I'd choose the Mazda3. Hope this helps. :)

AL5509

Yup.different.
Japan made items are proven.

On the fair side, I do not find K3 that bad thou, the price may be competitive or even lower.(please go to showroom to get updated price list with discount).

But of course, MIJ's ride is proven as am with one which is still doing fine; hopefully. :s13:

However as suggested in my earlier post; go test drive and have a feel of the ride.
Consider what you really need IN the car and decision will arrive when you are ready to commit.

warr

this has been discussed in many other threads. the deal breaker for me with the Mazda is "no rear aircon". if you carry passengers often, then you should seriously consider it. Even with full blast from front aircon, it will still not be effective and is very noisy.

this is material factor to consider. for others like branding, looks, reputation, it is all subjective. A KIA in 2014 is not the same one in 2005. just ask the Forte owners of 2010, you'll know it's above expectations.

Dragon

Administrator
Do take into consideration the OMV and perceived resale value too. :)

kingarmpit

May we get to know is TS looking at driving alone most of the time or get to ferry your family members mostly?

I happened to test drive both of these rides monthly back.

Mazda 3 looks 'good' inside out on the exterior, with all the flashy function, the feel of MIJ car does feeeeel good but the 'power' of it maybe on the downside if you happened to ferry your family members often.
Likewise, the size of it may be abit tight thou.

K3 'look' fine too, plus the size.
And if I do not remember wrongly, k3 have rear air-con which Mazda 3 does not.

Think go test drive and see which you prefer.
And of course if you can, ask 3 more of your friends or family members to hop on and try full-load as to some, it does make a different.

Kindly share your POV too.
Happy shopping.
Cheers

Good pointers for me to take note of when going for test drive one of these few weekends! I dunno if I should be troubled by lack of rear air con, only the wife and kid sits at the back and they currently turn off the rear air con in current car anyway. Not going to buy a car based on preferences of occasional passengers.

I previously visited the showroom only to get the price list and see if I can fit into the car... First impression is that it has quite some gadgets, but only the higher end variant (~7k more) has rear airbags; the baseline has only two front airbag. Other than that, stuffs like navigation, factory-fitted leather seats, auto headlights/wipers are not worth $7k to me. The interior is okay, not luxurious but not bad either.

kingarmpit

Very obvious.
Mazda 3.
clear cut.

MIJ

Aside from the plastics...I find the K3 interior quite nice leh.... Maybe my standard low...

But your MIJ comments are on reliability? I have to admit 10yrs back the Hyundai accent, elantra, excel have really bad reputations... But the recent Kia K series seems to have improved on reliability... My colleague's K5, 4 yrs liao not a single issue...

kingarmpit

this has been discussed in many other threads. the deal breaker for me with the Mazda is "no rear aircon". if you carry passengers often, then you should seriously consider it. Even with full blast from front aircon, it will still not be effective and is very noisy.

this is material factor to consider. for others like branding, looks, reputation, it is all subjective. A KIA in 2014 is not the same one in 2005. just ask the Forte owners of 2010, you'll know it's above expectations.

I don't quite like the auto-start/stop engine.. Cannot do persistent override, have to be pilot every time press here press there to turn off every start....

Would rather burn more fuel than to wear the starter motor and batt

PrOfAtSiR

Aside from the plastics...I find the K3 interior quite nice leh.... Maybe my standard low...

But your MIJ comments are on reliability? I have to admit 10yrs back the Hyundai accent, elantra, excel have really bad reputations... But the recent Kia K series seems to have improved on reliability... My colleague's K5, 4 yrs liao not a single issue...

Very simple lah,
You go buy a k3,than look for a Mazda 3 owner in 5 yrs time.
Around the same mileage,same year.

Than you will see the difference in sound proofing,parts will fall apart etc,maintenance,parts cost

My point of view is to Buy a car which give you reliability,small small add on gadget not so important.

Ultimately,it's your $,your decision.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.