Killer Courses in NUS

Geforce3

The problem is that you base an objective interpretation of 'easier' on % of cohort who qualify for a certain class of honours.

That's meaningless. Graduating with a degree in physics at MIT is easier than getting a first class at NUS phy coz the whole physics cohort at MIT gets it but only a select few in the same course at NUS graduate with first class?

I posted coz i thought yr comment was unfair to my 2nd lower friends in law. Most of them work a lot harder than the average 2:1 in arts. I know a comparison of 'easy' is incomensurable for most courses but frankly the amount of work u need to put in for a 2:1 in law is not a joke.

I spent my first year in arts. In my first sem at law i was so depressed by the increase in workload that i almost left the programme. I did 10-20 times more reading for some of my law mods as compared to my level 1K law mods. Dont come and talk to me about 'easy' until youve been thru the **** that law puts us thru. Dont come and talk until u get yr llb 2:1

looks at you and go... work hard == smarter meh? The only reason they are in is because entry to law is based on air levels which really is a mugger exam. Law like medicine in the states, should have been a post-grad program.

The real sift should have occurred during their undergrad days in another discipline instead of air levels.

oh btw: To get 2nd upper you need to finish in the top 55% of their class based on numerical average for subjects taken at
NUS;

Compare that to the CAP system used in other faculties :s22: The only reason why there is such a wide leeway is cause the bloody state needs more practising lawyers

mistersatki_

ts would develop into a useless guy who pursues paper > practical work
maybe he would excel in the civil service being a yes man
maybe he could be the next mr kfc too if his record is gd

carlogambino

looks at you and go... work hard == smarter meh? The only reason they are in is because entry to law is based on air levels which really is a mugger exam. Law like medicine in the states, should have been a post-grad program.

The real sift should have occurred during their undergrad days in another discipline instead of air levels.

oh btw: To get 2nd upper you need to finish in the top 55% of their class based on numerical average for subjects taken at
NUS;

Compare that to the CAP system used in other faculties :s22: The only reason why there is such a wide leeway is cause the bloody state needs more practising lawyers

Look. Many of the issues we deal with in law are hard as **** (imho) and the workload is really not a walk in the park.

It has nothing to do with entry score whatsoever. There are many courses that have lower entry scores than law but which are way harder (than law) for the vast majority of people.

The point is that getting 2nd upper (in law) is not easy despite the 50% requirement. And you're not qualified to say its easy until youve been thru it yrself.

Its 5-55th percentile for 2nd upper btw. Top 5% get first class.

moregoodyears

pruss huan.
i'm not sure about other countries, but very evident in singapore. or least to say - nus
everyone's revolving around grades, even before the course has started ;)

am i here to learn, or am i here to get an A?
the culture seems to say that, you don't learn unless you get an A :s13:

I know of some cbkias who are damn bloody selfish cos they don't want to share notes and are reluctant to discuss about module content even though we are taking the same module. The only time they are concern is during result day and gt some fugger will even sms me at 8am.

Genesisz

Look. Many of the issues we deal with in law are hard as **** (imho) and the workload is really not a walk in the park.

It has nothing to do with entry score whatsoever. There are many courses that have lower entry scores than law but which are way harder (than law) for the vast majority of people.

The point is that getting 2nd upper (in law) is not easy despite the 50% requirement. And you're not qualified to say its easy until youve been thru it yrself.

Its 5-55th percentile for 2nd upper btw. Top 5% get first class.

For law, been there and done that. It is not and has not been easy.

Bottom line is you must have passion in what you study and/or do.

mihawk

hard work is all relative. what is hard work to you may be a joke to another cuz they work even harder than ur 'hard work'. also, you want a system where 'hard work and effort' can translate into result. if everyone also 'hard work and effort' how? everyone also get A and honors?

there is no easy way out in life.

carlogambino

hard work is all relative. what is hard work to you may be a joke to another cuz they work even harder than ur 'hard work'. also, you want a system where 'hard work and effort' can translate into result. if everyone also 'hard work and effort' how? everyone also get A and honors?

there is no easy way out in life.

The real issue is whether a comparative approach brings any utility to the table --i.e whether it is possible to objectively ascertain that some modules are 'more difficult' than others.

Frankly this 'incomensurability' argument has been used ad nauseum. There may be some validity to it but the charitable interpretation is not without merit -- are all modules 'equal' in difficulty?

Personally i feel that the workload for certain mods is a joke compared to other mods. This is independent of the faculties that offer the said mods

mihawk

The real issue is whether a comparative approach brings any utility to the table --i.e whether it is possible to objectively ascertain that some modules are 'more difficult' than others.

Frankly this 'incomensurability' argument has been used ad nauseum. There may be some validity to it but the charitable interpretation is not without merit -- are all modules 'equal' in difficulty?

Personally i feel that the workload for certain mods is a joke compared to other mods. This is independent of the faculties that offer the said mods

Your english jin cheem :s22:. Actually I was thinking of einstein's theory of relativity :s13:. There is no preferred frame of reference and everything is just relative. The speed at which we travel (how hard we work) will change the order of events(how hard is hard) just like in his theory.

It's true that there are some really really easy mods, but aiya compare also no point. Person A will always think his degree is hard, person B will also think his is hard. How do you judge? Though some degrees are evidently more difficult based on common factors such as length of total lessons etc, no one will ever believe that their degree is 'easier' to others(though it might be true).

Suppose one day it can be determined that course A is is easier than another. Will course A students accept this fact? That their 4 years is actually a joke compared to others?

And the argument goes on and on and on....

carlogambino

Your english jin cheem :s22:. Actually I was thinking of einstein's theory of relativity :s13:. There is no preferred frame of reference and everything is just relative. The speed at which we travel (how hard we work) will change the order of events(how hard is hard) just like in his theory.

It's true that there are some really really easy mods, but aiya compare also no point. Person A will always think his degree is hard, person B will also think his is hard. How do you judge? Though some degrees are evidently more difficult based on common factors such as length of total lessons etc, no one will ever believe that their degree is 'easier' to others(though it might be true).

Suppose one day it can be determined that course A is is easier than another. Will course A students accept this fact? That their 4 years is actually a joke compared to others?

I know what you mean and I'm familiar with relativism. Just saying that it's not the only view out there. See

Relativism - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Darkzi0n

haha u sld study ur Einstein theory of relativity in the tallest building u can find. time move faster the higher u r, so u will be able to think faster relative to those on ground lvl =:p

and easier does not mean it is a joke mah.. if at the end of the day, the course is easier n can potentially earn u big bucks, the demand could be even higher (in fact, i have a particular course in mind which fit this description very well)

mihawk

haha u sld study ur Einstein theory of relativity in the tallest building u can find. time move faster the higher u r, so u will be able to think faster relative to those on ground lvl =:p

and easier does not mean it is a joke mah.. if at the end of the day, the course is easier n can potentially earn u big bucks, the demand could be even higher (in fact, i have a particular course in mind which fit this description very well)

Ok maybe joke is a bad word to describe, more of like the idea that your 'hard' work has been undermined. It's like everywhere in our whole life. People arguing who's CCA most hiong in sec sch or jc. In ns which unit most hiong, your outfield more hiong than mine bla bla bla. And now uni which course more difficult etc. Everybody likes to believe that they have worked hard, regardless of whether it's true or not. Of course earning big bucks is good, then the argument will start on if money is a good gauge and so on.

At the end of the day, u happy can liao. Nothing to prove nothing to lose.

itsmezh93

Sometimes this is how i think:
Course A is easier than law, science,..... (all the courses) and course A is already the easiest of easiest courses in this how entire place (this university) so I better freaking get As and Bs!

swordsly

Course A is easier than law, science,..... (all the courses) and course A is already the easiest of easiest courses in this how entire place (this university) so I better freaking get As and Bs!

you need to know that the difficulty of a course (as a whole when comparing with other courses) is unrelated to the competency of an individual.

simply put:
getting As in your science subjects in JC does not mean you will get As for your science modules (assuming you are pursuing a science degree).
it only means your foundation is probably more solid and probably capable of grabbing concepts/theories (or whatever else) faster and easier.

it is best you pursue something you like and feel confident in.
i always say this: when you do something you like, you're more inclined to push on and learn more.

again, no courses are easy. difficulty is relative. competency of individuals is also relative.

hiroki01

*facepalm*
If you can't extract the gist from all the arguments, let me put it into plain words for you to see.

There are only easy modules. There is no such thing as an easy course.

No one likes other people to say that their major/course/degree is easy. I think that is utter disrespect. Some people are doing it out of passion and interest. You don't go around tell people that it is damn easy.

Side note: I'm going to assume you are a guy and is serving army now. I hope that you will ORD with the maturity of thoughts and not become one of those people.

I agree with what you've said. And even for the presumably 'easy' modules, the enrollment tends to be higher, the bell curve gets more unforgiving etc.etc., so things get a good deal more complex. That's why I think the most sensible thing to do at the end of the day is to go for modules - and the same applies to the course as well - which (i) you're genuinely interested in; (ii) you know you're gonna walk away after 13 weeks having learned something. Trying to second-guess people on the Ideal Modules to take, to be honest, is an utter waste of time.

itsmezh93

I agree with what you've said. And even for the presumably 'easy' modules, the enrollment tends to be higher, the bell curve gets more unforgiving etc.etc., so things get a good deal more complex. That's why I think the most sensible thing to do at the end of the day is to go for modules - and the same applies to the course as well - which (i) you're genuinely interested in; (ii) you know you're gonna walk away after 13 weeks having learned something. Trying to second-guess people on the Ideal Modules to take, to be honest, is an utter waste of time.

So this poll is useless then...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/ntu-304/easy-no-easier-courses-3914524.html

Death4ngel

Welcome to this thing called "Bell curve"

you need to know that the difficulty of a course (as a whole when comparing with other courses) is unrelated to the competency of an individual.

simply put:
getting As in your science subjects in JC does not mean you will get As for your science modules (assuming you are pursuing a science degree).
it only means your foundation is probably more solid and probably capable of grabbing concepts/theories (or whatever else) faster and easier.

it is best you pursue something you like and feel confident in.
i always say this: when you do something you like, you're more inclined to push on and learn more.

again, no courses are easy. difficulty is relative. competency of individuals is also relative.

** la. At least for Mathematics. Probably means u more zai at punching calculator.

mgx-alander

Welcome to this thing called "Bell curve"

** la. At least for Mathematics. Probably means u more zai at punching calculator.

** La Mathematics where got only involve calculators

dun let dino see this :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.