Knee replacement surgery

Sen

almost 10k for a knee. but pay only a few hundreds after medisave & stuffs.

Last time Alexnadra Hospital under Jurong Health.

Sen

If really cannot then go for it. If got infection is sibei jialat one, must redo operation after 6 months. Worse case is crippled for life.

All these is heard from the doctor himself.

Sen

At least 10k

Hope for the best. Everthing is smooth. Less than 1 month can walk liao.

Infection mean jialat liao, must redo ops.

must have medisave left a lot right?

after op any issues?

nyvrem

best try alternate means to reduce the pain in the knees rah. my grand father went for knee replacement op, the recovering time was damn long and had to do physio and all. painful also. and pray u dont kenna infection or else complications jialat. especially for older people.

:(

SKWSMC

At least 10k

Hope for the best. Everthing is smooth. Less than 1 month can walk liao.

Infection mean jialat liao, must redo ops.

It will last for about 10 years if I did not remember wrongly. One of the person I know intend to have that operation. Can confirm?
Take it 10 years you need to replace. If you are 50 then 60 you need to re-do then 70.

Flexamoria

Bionic knee
Moi auntie just had operation, now walk not so much pain, neber ask hw much surgery, she gg 60 y.o

dennyz

if u do replacement in gov hospital, doctors will tell u it can last up to 10-15 years if you never overwork the metal in your kneel or joint, which means no extreme exercise or sport or accidents. ( i know a few rich uncles and aunties went to private hospital for titanium joint replacements which supposed to last forever if no infection or accident )

for infections wise, when u do any dental, u will require to eat antibiotics beforehand to prevent infections. virtually any infections big or small has chance to cause problems for any implant or anything not natural in your body. as long as u fall sick or don't feel right, see doctors and you are prolly safe.

recovery from surgery is based on how good is your doctor doing the operation, your age regeneration and how positive you are. for example, i myself had a hip replacement done around age 30, i can move and walk around with crutches on 2nd day after operation, i discharged from hospital on 4th day. after 2 weeks, i can go for my regular checkup at hospital without using crutches. rehab took about 2 months which is about 5-6 hospital rehab visits. (this is sharing my personal experience, please don't flame me, thanks)

the elders i knew (betweens age 45-60) who did kneel or hip replacements took about double to triple of my recovery time, but 1 of them is very negative and lazy to walk/move his body, stays on wheelchair till now.

so i hope my long post actually helps. all i can say, good luck, anything good or bad can happen, theres no 100% success for all medical cases. ( quotes from many doctors in hospital )

rethaFrey

if you are below 40 and can afford, then go for it.
if above 40, then mentally must persevere.
if not, sure shag.

Some-one

Mum does it before. That mp Dr. Chia shi lu is one of such doctors. I think it costs about 3k+ after medisave and all the deductions. Needs to stay in community hospital for about 3 months but now she doing quite well luckily.

ralliart_ray

Old people duwan do 1, scare cannot walk for life after surgery.

my granny went for it a couple of years back, (she was complaining knee pains) at first did one knee... rehab was OK .... then months later went to go the other one..... of course rehab is not easy... but after that till now, very happy , pain free and can walk walk and go jiak hong... she is 80++ healthy and active. (doing the morning exercise etc with her gang)

i am very happy for her...

Jenn Khan

MOH website has a good reference.Restructured hospital subsidized bill about $6-7k but private hospital $35k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.