Knowledge on knife defence

LoUsyGamER

SInce it is easy to get knife and there had been few cases of knife attack incident in Singapore, it is good to pick up some knowledge on knife defence.

TL;DW
Knife defence is more than just martial art. The important part is be alert of environment, identify the danger, walk away before sh*t hits. Running away when danger is nearby, can be too late and too dangerous. In a knife attack, high chance get cut, survival rate is 50/50.

TL;DW
All fighters in the video got bad scores.

addict951

SInce it is easy to get knife, it is good to pick up some knowledge on knife defence.

TL;DW
Knife defence is more than just martial art.

TL;DW

ts, you feel you need this in Sg ah?

articland05

yes. just run...unless there is no place to run e.g. in a crowded train cabin then no choice need to disarm and bring the guy down

LoUsyGamER

There's no way to defend against knives other than a gun, your only choice is to run

Sense any danger then just run. Let those people who likes to use phone to video tank the slashes.

But gun not always better.

TopGun

There's a reason why law enforcement in the west would;

1. Have one arm already on the side arm ready to draw.
2. Keep a distance from the other party.
3. Ask to see hands and keep the hands in full view.

The defence against a knife is distance and firearm.

Vinda99

4587be57ce8ca07d5556dc8bc832c215.jpg

😢

idolcritic

Last time NS got unarmed combat training
Means all ns men know leh

AlmightyOnes

Hard truth is IF u can sense the danger, Run.
If u encounter back attack, cheap shot, those caught u unaware type is most likely kena stab. (Unless u have ultra instinct, or max level dodge, counter, etc)

5adisticD3vil

sacrifice your non-dominant hand
let the blade pierce through the palm
you grab hold of the knife this way
wack away with your dominant hand

admit it, you are not a pro
you can't fight, nor can you run
so this is the best solution

BlackWing1977

SInce it is easy to get knife, it is good to pick up some knowledge on knife defence.

TL;DW
Knife defence is more than just martial art.

TL;DW

Unless you are so zhun and fast can knock the weapons out of the hand of the attacker... it might be safer to run first, find something bigger or longer to block to counter.

Maybe Bruce Lee Jeet Kun Do can do it.. since his martial art is to intercept...

Jeremy1

The only way is you either need a gun or a long weapon like this one :s13:

v7cjyb.gif

BlackWing1977

The only way is you either need a gun or a long weapon
Actually feel the best defensive weapon would be tonfa... since it is for defending and swinging it for attack.

But it is illegal... the closest one that you can own legally would be crowbar... but if caught by police hard to explain also...

BlackWing1977

Actually feel the best defensive weapon would be tonfa... since it is for defending and swinging it for attack.

But it is illegal... the closest one that you can own legally would be crowbar... but if caught by police hard to explain also...
I can only say contradicting...

AI Overview

Yes, you can own a crowbar in Singapore as a tool, but carrying it in public for self-defense is illegal and can lead to serious penalties, as it's considered an offensive weapon without lawful purpose; however, Singapore law allows for "right of private defence" using
reasonable, proportionate force to protect yourself from imminent harm, but a crowbar's use in a fight would likely be seen as excessive unless the threat was extreme.

Owning a Crowbar
  • Legal to Own: A crowbar is a common tool, so owning it for legitimate purposes (home, work) is generally fine.
  • Illegal to Carry: Carrying it in public without a "lawful purpose" is an offense under the Corrosive and Explosive Substances and Offensive Weapons Act (CESOWA) and can result in jail time.

Using it for Self-Defense
  • Right of Private Defence: Singapore's Penal Code allows self-defense, but the force used must be reasonable and proportionate to the threat faced.
  • Proportionality is Key: Using a crowbar (a potentially lethal weapon) against a minor threat might be seen as excessive, leading to assault charges against you.
  • Context Matters: A court would assess if the threat was immediate and severe enough to justify using such force, and if you were the aggressor.
In short: Keep it at home for work, not in your bag for protection; using it to defend yourself is only legal if absolutely necessary and proportionate to a severe, immediate threat, which is a high legal bar.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.