[Kopeship] 20% of junior doctors in S'pore work more than 80 hours a week, MOH reviewing working conditions

pikafunk3

80 hours a week? WTF??

-They can work in 24-hour or 30-hour shifts - I feel so sorry for them :sad:

-Some are working even longer :eek: :s14:

Means among totally surveyed, only 20% are working above 80 hrs/a week. MIW will wayang they pretend to care about HCW, like clapping and "Up to" $4k incentive. Cue 160 shouting need to import more HCW and Doctors and you know where they'll be coming from. Come 2035, I saxpect there will be zero admissions for nursing courses in Singapore. And boomer morons will say "I used to work harder than that when I was your age" - **** chiu lah, in your age there was no pubic transport so going from Joolong to Changi mean a day lost - now not so.

As a first step, MOH has formed a national wellness committee for junior doctors in December 2021, reported The Straits Times.

Yet another committee, chaired by a former boss from Private horsepeters. Chiu expect them private horsepeters ignore profit beh kan? I bet it will be higher costs for patients, and healthcare of patients will suffer.

dont bother fighting to get straight As,
then work like a dog
and then fight again with other FT doctors

by then, your peers will be making big bucks , and so far ahead in life.

people driving around in luxury cars, you spend whole day doing swabs or facing idiots in a small room.

choose a different career la

SMLJMIW

Yes. And is associate prof. Some more very rude, I didn't pay my sgh bill of $160 till today.

I googled my symptoms and actually got the correct diagnosis, but to double confirm I went mount Elizabeth and got the correct confirmation.
If Google can confirm, what's the point of see a doc? Knn. Should tell him pay you the 160$ and threaten to report him

Philipkee

Lol pls lah. Go cbd and interview those who are doing OT
Different.
Lol pls lah. Go cbd and interview those who are doing OT
Different.

Cos those in SME can just quit if they cannot take the strain.

The same can be said for doctors and nurses EXCEPT it would be foolish to say so during a pandemic. Like it would be foolish to work NSFs extra hard if there is a real shooting war lest a soldier snap and shoot the commander instead.

zoossh

Already improved from previously 110 hrs a week

but knowing them, solution is probably to divert the work to more senior doctors instead of increasing manpower (therefore more cost) and decreasing sg population

platee

If Google can confirm, what's the point of see a doc? Knn. Should tell him pay you the 160$ and threaten to report him
These days see doc is waste money one. Unless you need surgery or scan results then yes, if not google can easily find your problems with 70/80% accuracy.

elvintay07

80 hours a week? WTF??

Means among totally surveyed, only 20% are working above 80 hrs/a week. MIW will wayang they pretend to care about HCW, like clapping and "Up to" $4k incentive. Cue 160 shouting need to import more HCW and Doctors and you know where they'll be coming from. Come 2035, I saxpect there will be zero admissions for nursing courses in Singapore. And boomer morons will say "I used to work harder than that when I was your age" - **** chiu lah, in your age there was no pubic transport so going from Joolong to Changi mean a day lost - now not so.

As a first step, MOH has formed a national wellness committee for junior doctors in December 2021, reported The Straits Times.

Yet another committee, chaired by a former boss from Private horsepeters. Chiu expect them private horsepeters ignore profit beh kan? I bet it will be higher costs for patients, and healthcare of patients will suffer.
The clapping thing is funny. It is just like you want sex and your wife said sure “Let’s watch Japan AV”. Lol!
The NDP fly past is another joke. Like your father in law subscribe pornhub for you. Lol!

Prime 13

I old unker observe long ago ish true after all.

A few years ago a relative of mine was admitted to horsepeter.
I went to visit.
Saw the doktors there in the ward running here running there there. Bz as ****.
I thought, rast tiem doktor ish prestige.
But nao doktor ish coolie.

Dracky

Since junior doctors are overworked, we can expect the level of care and attention to patients to drop. This is one way to quietly keep medical spendings down, without bill shocks for patients.

The other ways include long waiting time, long wait for operations etc.

IndigoEyes

Sometimes it's no choice for them.. there're sick people everyday and not many doctors. Those people who think it's easy to be a doctor are ignorant. I got relative in healthcare and I seen their effort and sacrifices.

One earlier comment about a doctor asking the patient to google himself is sus and feels like csb. *facepalm* They already working so hard and u want to share sus stories for dunno what reason.

wwenze

But they did this to themselves.

We can import more but they earn engineer pay but work 50-60 hours weeks

Or they can drive BMW but work 80 hour weeks due to shortage.

Ohayo!

bo bian

must thank the pap for their population white paper

Phen8210

this is called modern slavery.. even IT sector is like that.

Casio2010

80 hours a week? WTF??

Ok lei those doctors claimed they want to be doctors cos they have passion for health and they are highly paid.

So now due to covid everything sucks ah??? No logic

GundamG

i think the healthcare workers wanted something done to help reduce the numbers and not just thanks and tell them numbers are stablising, just hang in there.

Singapore金枪不倒

Is like this when you are junior doctor...even so my friend's sister is a doctor at polyclinic one month salary is 17K (not sure if true anot).

They just tahan at the start, when become more experienced go out become specialist then open their own practice...earn until can buy landed drive conti car one.

Even this GP doctor at my neighbourhood 24 hrs clinic, his lambo parked right behind the clinic sia. Jin jelly

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.