Kopeship: WP Jamus Lim vs Lawrence Wong on MOE's 1600 paxes of annual foreign scholarship

charleslee1989

I disagree. How many fresh grads are we importing for our jobs here? prob very few, unless you are talking abt jobs that sg are not interested in.
and we all know that that foreigners are not getting employed here because their degrees are more 'recognised' then our AU..
By right, given that our AUs are established for quite some time, the technology and skills gap between the AUs and the industry should be shortening every curriculum review.

What you meant is that the reason that foreigners are getting employed here are not due to their degrees being more recognised than our AUs?

xiaoxiaomi

By right, given that our AUs are established for quite some time, the technology and skills gap between the AUs and the industry should be shortening every curriculum review.

What you meant is that the reason that foreigners are getting employed here are not due to their degrees being more recognised than our AUs?

yes, since when is it because of that.. most foreign hires are not stanford, harvard, oxford, MIT etc grad and hiring companies will always look at the experience and background of the candidate over their qualification.

tokiya

How to progress as a nation if PAP has a target of not allowing 60% of the Singaporean cohort to enter our AUs?

xiaoxiaomi

How to progress as a nation if PAP has a target of not allowing 60% of the Singaporean cohort to enter our AUs?

In the first place, our current job market does not allow this.. You will just have alot of graduates doing jobs that can be done by non graduates. In fact this is already happening.

tokiya

In the first place, our current job market does not allow this.. You will just have alot of graduates doing jobs that can be done by non graduates. In fact this is already happening.

Then why do we need hundreds of thousands of foreigners with foreign degrees here? What jobs are they doing?

Prof. Utonium

You are right that it is not a scholarship, but wish to correct you that the international students still pay a lot higher than the locals after the subsidy. They do not pay the same amount as locals.

Yes, you are right. I stand corrected.

IIRC the amount differs a lot between PR and IS.

veryhonestguy

Most of these ppl just complaint and hate using their own thinking . If don’t give these foreigner tution grant , why they will take sat and come to sg? With the result they can go us or Europe uni that is better than us .
And without them our uni ranking will drop , anyway politics is hardest to deal with the bottom pyramid as they are the green eye monster

tbh, part of the rankings of a uni is the international student count too
without it, nus ranking would plummet
so cant have both ways

SGRevolution

Edwin Yeo – Head of Field Research and Technical Support for the Corrupt Practices Investigation Bureau (CPIB)
Photo: WSJ Online
Crime: Stealing $1.76 million in government funds

Punishment: 10 years in Changi Prison

Lim Cheng Hoe – Protocol Chief for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA)
Photo: The Malaysian Star Online
Crime: Cheating the government out of $89,000 by inflating the price of pineapple tarts and wine he purchased as gifts for foreign delegates

Punishment: 15 months in Changi Prison

Peter Lim – Chief of the Singapore Civil Defence Force (CDF)
Photo: Yahoo! News
Crime: Favoring IT-related government tenders to certain companies in exchange for sexual favors

Punishment: 6 months in Changi Prison

Bernard Lim Yong Soon – Assistant Director for National Parks Board (NParks)
Photo: TODAY Online
Crime: Giving false information to public servants and encouraging his friend to lie to corruption investigators during the “Brompton Bicycle Saga”

Punishment: Up to 1 year in Changi Prison, a $5,000 fine, or both

Tey Tsun Hang – National University of Singapore (NUS) Law Professor
Crime: Receiving several gifts and sexual favors from a student in exchange for passing grades

Punishment: 5 months in Changi Prison and a penalty of $514.80

https://blog.moneysmart.sg/opinion/singapores-top-5-corruption-cases-so-far/

for your reading pleasure...
lol didnt know moneysmart writes this kind of news too

kyo_465

Then why do we need hundreds of thousands of foreigners with foreign degrees here? What jobs are they doing?

Dun think your numbers are correct. There are hundred of thousands.

But not all of them have degrees or holding degrees that are recognized to equivalent work here.

Much like Sinkies holding 3rd tier degree are not not seen in the same light. Its fair.

kyo_465

Most of these ppl just complaint and hate using their own thinking . If don’t give these foreigner tution grant , why they will take sat and come to sg? With the result they can go us or Europe uni that is better than us .
And without them our uni ranking will drop , anyway politics is hardest to deal with the bottom pyramid as they are the green eye monster

The answer is to ignore them and keep this numbers low.

Nobody wants to know losers stories.

Winners write history. In Singapore, we are only interested in the competition at the top.

You CMI then get lost. Go to some third world country and live out your fake dream as a talent.

tokiya

Dun think your numbers are correct. There are hundred of thousands.

But not all of them have degrees or holding degrees that are recognized to equivalent work here.

Much like Sinkies holding 3rd tier degree are not not seen in the same light. Its fair.

650k foreigners holding PMET jobs.
You mean they don't hold degrees?
I can back my statements with facts. Can you?
Ki67y0G.png

tokiya

MOE has target of allowing 40% of Singaporean cohort to enter AUs, give foreigner scholarships, while we have 650k foreigners holding PMET jobs.

I pity the 60% of Singaporean cohort denied an opportunity to read a degree in 2020.

Ki67y0G.png

kyo_465

Ki67y0G.png

Hello, you know what is PMET or not.

A lot are useless diploma holders leh. Some technician with technical cert and O level. What talking you.

kyo_465

MOE has target of allowing 40% of Singaporean cohort to enter AUs, give foreigner scholarships, while we have 650k foreigners holding PMET jobs.

I pity the 60% of Singaporean cohort denied an opportunity to read a degree in 2020.

I have no sympathy for losers.

Even at 40% I think is too high. So if you cannot squeeze into this 40% essentially you are rubbish. Emigrate somewhere else pls.

veryhonestguy

U can’t as these are the masses

The answer is to ignore them and keep this numbers low.

Nobody wants to know losers stories.

Winners write history. In Singapore, we are only interested in the competition at the top.

You CMI then get lost. Go to some third world country and live out your fake dream as a talent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.