Kwelvin say Youtrip card dangerous wor

drkcynic

Trust how to link the credit card to a bank account to avoid ATM fees?

If use Trust Link card, then it is debit like Youtrip and the video is lying.
Trust also got debit card.

https://trustbank.sg/legal/key-facts-sheet-savings-account/

None! We won't charge an ATM withdrawal fee when you withdraw cash from your account from Trust or Standard Chartered ATMS. For overseas usage, you will usually be able to use your debit card for cash withdrawal unless local regulation does not allow this.

Monstruo^

you forgot the most important, his own name.....Kel win
HAHAHA. Yah hor. LOL.

I pay zero attention to his name sia. I first and last saw him was when I was researching on youtrip card and that time I buay tahan listen to him. Every word sounds like he had a hard time to pronounce.

sunsetbay

So you don't have a CC at all?

If you want to go back to the ancient way of only paying what you have and never using credit then by all means.

I'm questioning his claim, which he said hackers have no direct access to your money (in trust CC) and then he went on saying trust has no spend limit~ how was that safer compare to youtrip~?

drkcynic

I'm questioning his claim, which he said hackers have no direct access to your money (in trust CC) and then he went on saying trust has no spend limit~ how was that safer compare to youtrip~?
As far as I know, according to the fraud department, before you make online payments using CC, you will have to authorized whether via the app or OTP. If you auth liao, it's your problem, you have to make police report. If you didn't auth, most probably not your problem, you don't have to pay pending resolution. The money is all theirs.

For debit card the money is all yours. Even if it is fraud, your money gets taken first pending resolution.

swathe

Trust also got debit card.

https://trustbank.sg/legal/key-facts-sheet-savings-account/

None! We won't charge an ATM withdrawal fee when you withdraw cash from your account from Trust or Standard Chartered ATMS. For overseas usage, you will usually be able to use your debit card for cash withdrawal unless local regulation does not allow this.
Then isn't it have the risk like that the guy say. In fact his video contradicts itself by saying that Youtrip and Revolut are debit and risky.

But you know if I got hacked for Youtrip, I lose the amount I topup. If I got hacked for Trust debit, I can lose my entire savings.

I lost trust in Trust by hiring such a person to do marketing.

FinalTidus

I never use you trip for this reason

I use only Trust card for overseas transactions

whatheheck

JHK cannot pronounce the letter v.
redface.gif

Really ish true one.
Rewu-lut
Tra-wer.
laugh.gif

Hard to understand.

then van leh:s11:

drkcynic

Then isn't it have the risk like that the guy say. In fact his video contradicts itself by saying that Youtrip and Revolut are debit and risky.

But you know if I got hacked for Youtrip, I lose the amount I topup. If I got hacked for Trust debit, I can lose my entire savings.

I lost trust in Trust by hiring such a person to do marketing.
Ultimately, 1 is a bank, 1 is a payment merchant. I trust the bank more obviously. SDIC covers banks for sure. You need to check if they cover for YT or revo if you intend to continue using them and holding money with them.

I don't like debit cards, I don't see an issue with using CC.

PikaPika33

make this kind of video accusations he think they no money sue him meh

greenbubble

Not touch your money but you are still liable for the amount charged.
for YouTrip you can set limit. Don’t deposit large amount of money in it.

drkcynic

Not touch your money but you are still liable for the amount charged.
for YouTrip you can set limit. Don’t deposit large amount of money in it.
I explained in post #46. This is what the fraud department told me.

You can make up your own mind.

Monstruo^

then van leh:s11:
Just replace the V with W.

I met 10 JHK/JHB, 9/10 really cannot pronounce V. One of them ish head of finance somemore but during meeting can hear the V cannot pronounce. Duno why. Like Vince become Wince. I was thinking we got such colleague meh.

Elfblade

really meh? can access ur bank $?
i tot youtrip is like prepaid?

On the contrary, I've been using Revolut and fweel safe cos I only put the amount I need inside for my overseas trip. After I cum back from the trip I will transfer all remaining sum back to my bank account.

The card doesn't auto-top up so how does Hackers gain access to my bank account?

Epee

YouTrip and Revolut are prepaid cards. These are special versions of debit cards. They do not have access to your banks unlike traditional debit cards.

All debit and credit cards have to provide dispute resolution framework to deal with frauds. In short, whether debit, credit or prepaid, they all have access to the same dispute process.

The main difference is that a credit card gives you credit. Charge and pay later. If there's a dispute, you still have the money. However, you're still liable for the amount if the dispute outcome is not in favor of you. Using a credit card does not mean you auto win. It just means that you don't have to pay the outstanding amount during the resolution process.

A debit card has direct access to your bank. You potentially can be out of the full fraudulent amount. You might eventually recover the money but that depends on the outcome of the dispute.

A prepaid card works similarly to a debit card. The major difference is that a prepaid card does not have direct access to your bank. You have to top up the card. If there's a fraudulent transaction, it offers the same process as a debit or credit card. Your total money out is whatever you have in the prepaid card.

So what's the deal with prepaid card? The potential max loss. Your potential max loss of a credit card is your credit limit. For a debit card, it's the credit limit or the amount in your bank account, whichever is higher. For a prepaid, the amount inside the card.

So why is a prepaid so attractive? You don't have money inside it most of the time. Let's say I suffer a fraud on both a prepaid and credit card. Somebody charge $100 to both my cards. The credit card will allow it through (let's assume it pass all other checks) but if the prepaid card only have $50 in it, the transaction will fail regardless of all the other checks. In this case I don't even need to dispute anything while the credit card holder have to waste time disputing. So why subject yourself to unnecessary risk and stress?

But what if the transaction is only $50? Then both will waste time disputing. The prepaid card holder meanwhile will be out of pocket $50.

I choose prepaid for risky transactions because I don't want to waste time disputing. I can accept a total loss of up to $100. That is what I usually have in my YouTrip card. I don't want to expose myself thousands of dollars.

Disclaimer : I'm not in the financial industry and I don't root for any of these cards. I'm just sharing my train of thoughts. I use both credit and prepaid. I ban debit in my household unless absolutely necessary.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.