Kyushu holiday trip (March/April 2018)😊

szeli

from what I remember Fukuoka to Yufuin train takes about 3hrs. to Nagasaki yes about 2hrs.

maczh2002

is it cheaper to go hiroshima by silkair then train to other places in japan? versus SIA direct to lets say osaka.

anyhowsaysay

No self drive.
Train takes about maximum 2hrs.

Yufuin at night also nothing to do, go there stay a night for the expensive ryokan not worth it, and difficult to find accommodation now.

The appeal of Yufuin is the onsen.

evilerniex

Yah, yufuin is an onsen town, no point going as a day trip. Maybe go beppu instead? At least can see the hells and Sanrio theme park

xiaojing11

Hi, anyone buy this pass before? Sanyo-San'in, for Osaka & Kyushu areas.
http://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/ssnk/

Need to know whether it covers these places (to & fro):
Kansai Airport-Shin-Osaka
Shin-Osaka-Hakata
Hakata-Yufuin
Hakata-Nagasaki

I am confused, also do not know which type of train i should take.

And any other website to check for train schedule? Because hyperdia one like not so reliable. It shows me Kansai Airport-Shin-Osaka need transfer, i thought got direct train?

Thanks! :x

szeli

Shin-Osaka-Hakata
Hakata-Yufuin
Hakata-Nagasaki

And any other website to check for train schedule? Because hyperdia one like not so reliable. It shows me Kansai Airport-Shin-Osaka need transfer, i thought got direct train?

did u scroll down n read? info is all there.

crntbs

Hi evilerniex,

Y flying via Osaka and take train not a gd option? Dun understd.

Ya, need to go from Osaka to Fukuoka.
Eh, take domestic flight still need to add in the check-in time and the cost not as cheap, take train only 1 hour and $200+, tht’s y.

I will skip night view at mt inasa if too rush.

Just do the math.
Air tix price to fukuoka
Vs
Air tix price to osaka + return train tix price to fukuoka.
Whichever is cheaper should be the more economical way.

evilerniex

Shin-Osaka-Hakata
Hakata-Yufuin
Hakata-Nagasaki

Hyperdia ok leh, first result i got already show the direct haruka train from kix to shin osaka. Maybe it is the timing that u searched?

http://www.hyperdia.com/en/cgi/en/search.html?dep_node=KANSAI%20AIRPORT&arv_node=SHIN-OSAKA&via_node01=&via_node02=&via_node03=&year=2018&month=03&day=16&hour=09&minute=34&search_type=0&search_way=&transtime=undefined&sort=0&max_route=5&faretype=0&ship=off&lmlimit=null&search_target=route&facility=reserved&sum_target=7

szeli

it's great to have many options:

Google Maps
Hyperdia
Japan Travel app

xiaojing11

Hi all, I am planning day trip to Yufuin and Nagasaki. Some say go Nagasaki is rush, but I think 2hrs train should be ok. Anyone has day trip experience or comments are welcome. Thanks!

1) As Yufuin no Mori train only operates 2x per day, will take normal JR train to Yufuin, or bus will be better? Return take Yufuin no Mori to Hakata. The train schedule:
https://www.jrkyushu.co.jp/english/pdf/timetable_20180317_20190228.pdf

2) Wat time the shops at Yufuin open & close?

3) Anyone go Nagasaki Penguin Aquarium before? Worth to go?
https://penguin-aqua.jp/english/index.html

4) I not sure whether to go Huis Ten Bosch, as it is not near Nagasaki Station. Beside Penguin Aquarium and Huis Ten Bosch, I can only think of Glover Garden, Kofukuji Temple and Chinatown , I think will skip Mount Inasa.

5) Where can I reserve the train ticket, I rem there is this 'green window' service desk (forgot the name), I need to book for these places:
a) Shin-Osaka - Hakata (to & fro)
b) Hakata - Yufuin (JR train)
c) Yufuin no Mori train - Hakata
d) Hakata - Nagasaki (to & fro)

I really need help! Many thanks! :)

evilerniex

For nagasaki, u can visit peace memorial museum. I guess if those are the only place u are planning to go, a day trip may be possible.

saffronsatire

Glover garden is kinda nice.

Chinatown v dead when i went, can skip. Peace memorial is smaller scale compared to Hiroshima, can skip also if visited Hiroshima one.

Huis ten boch is quite pricey, so i didn't go. If you're not into those pseudo European theme park, can skip too.

Should do the Gunkanjima cruise if you can but that depends on weather. I went to Nagasaki primarily for this but didn't get to do this unfortunately due to strong wind condition.

Mt inasa is top three views in japan, worth visiting imo but if you doing day trip, then will have to return to Fukuoka late, cos i think at night nicer.

xiaojing11

1) I have 2 full days at fukuoka, so i buy Subway IC CARD "HAYAKAKEN" or mayb the 2 days subway pass (720yen) more worth right? Considering that one day will be more than 360yen already. But i need to take bus also.

http://subway.city.fukuoka.lg.jp/eng/fare/two/

2) The balance of the hayakaken card can be refund right?

‘Bring your card to the ticket counter of the issuing operator in order to get back your 500 yen deposit. Unused credit can also be refunded, however, most companies will subtract a 220 yen handling fee from the remaining balance to be refunded’

evilerniex

1) I have 2 full days at fukuoka, so i buy Subway IC CARD "HAYAKAKEN" or mayb the 2 days subway pass (720yen) more worth right? Considering that one day will be more than 360yen already. But i need to take bus also.

http://subway.city.fukuoka.lg.jp/eng/fare/two/

2) The balance of the hayakaken card can be refund right?

‘Bring your card to the ticket counter of the issuing operator in order to get back your 500 yen deposit. Unused credit can also be refunded, however, most companies will subtract a 220 yen handling fee from the remaining balance to be refunded’

where will u be heading to in fukuoka?
if u are making day trip to yanagawa and dazaifu, there is a pass that covers both area and also include the canal boat ride in yanagawa.

if it is similar to suica, u can use it at convenient stores. use till the value is 0 then refund for the 500yen deposit

xiaojing11

Hi, I am going these places, any comments r welcome. Thanks. :)

Ohori park still thinking to go anot, if nothing to do there n alot of walking, i will skip

Momochi seaside park (fukuoka tower, hawks town, robosquare) or should i go bayside place, the hakata port tower is free n below got a museum, but it is quite far le.
Bayside place hakata: It features Wangan Ichiba (a market offering fresh seafood and vegetables), a hot spring facility (Namiha No Yu), and a variety of shops offering souvenirs and other local specialties of Kyushu. There is also a restaurant themed on Alice in the Wonderland and you can enjoy a whole day here.

Canal city hakata

Tenjin underground shopping what else is nice at tenjin?

Yanagibasbi market

evilerniex

Hi, I am going these places, any comments r welcome. Thanks. :)

Ohori park still thinking to go anot, if nothing to do there n alot of walking, i will skip

Momochi seaside park (fukuoka tower, hawks town, robosquare) or should i go bayside place, the hakata port tower is free n below got a museum, but it is quite far le.
Bayside place hakata: It features Wangan Ichiba (a market offering fresh seafood and vegetables), a hot spring facility (Namiha No Yu), and a variety of shops offering souvenirs and other local specialties of Kyushu. There is also a restaurant themed on Alice in the Wonderland and you can enjoy a whole day here.

Canal city hakata

Tenjin underground shopping what else is nice at tenjin?

Yanagibasbi market

u can walk from hawk town to fukuoka tower along momochi seaside park. quite a nice walk.
canal city and tenjin underground mall is just shops loh.

havent been to the rest of the places, so cant comment.

can consider having a meal sitting at their push cart stores (yatai). fukuoka is one of the few places in japan that still have such stores.

xiaojing11

u can walk from hawk town to fukuoka tower along momochi seaside park. quite a nice walk.
canal city and tenjin underground mall is just shops loh.

havent been to the rest of the places, so cant comment.

can consider having a meal sitting at their push cart stores (yatai). fukuoka is one of the few places in japan that still have such stores.

Ya i know abt the yatai stalls, one of the popular at fukuoka, but the location not easy to acess right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.