Laminate brand

ckjie00

Recommendation brand of laminate anti-finger prints , anti- oil for kitchen cabinet

lousylah

Anti-fingerprint laminate is VERY expensive, easily 3x or even 4x normal laminate price.

your carpenter/contractor/ID will have to pass on the cost to you. My guess is carpentry cost/price will easily inflate 30-50% at least just because of this choice of laminate.

my contractor did tell me no point paying the premium, there will still be fingerprint/grease/etc regardless. Normal laminate with regular cleaning/housekeeping is good enough.

lousylah

LAMITAK, EDL, ADMIRA

Their higher end series :)

fun fact: most laminate brands are singaporean (!!) and mostly manufactured in china (oem) so all roughly the same. There might be select premium series made elsewhere (japan, italy even) but limited designs and more ex.

there are indian and thai manufacturing from a couple of ang moh brands. The OG and largest laminate company is Formica (italian brand made in thailand)

AlvinDj

fun fact: most laminate brands are singaporean (!!) and mostly manufactured in china (oem) so all roughly the same. There might be select premium series made elsewhere (japan, italy even) but limited designs and more ex.

there are indian and thai manufacturing from a couple of ang moh brands. The OG and largest laminate company is Formica (italian brand made in thailand)
Yes mostly sg coy and mostly made in china.. all down to marketing and their QC also..

Formica.. the most famous! Haha... those old sch carpenters dont even term it properly as 'laminate' but call it as Formica instead lol..

wacko

Anti-fingerprint laminate is VERY expensive, easily 3x or even 4x normal laminate price.

your carpenter/contractor/ID will have to pass on the cost to you. My guess is carpentry cost/price will easily inflate 30-50% at least just because of this choice of laminate.

my contractor did tell me no point paying the premium, there will still be fingerprint/grease/etc regardless. Normal laminate with regular cleaning/housekeeping is good enough.
disagree, as a user of anti-fingerprint laminate and regular matte laminate before, I can tell you the difference is night and day. most touches on anti-fingerprint laminate will not leave any marks, will only do so when your fingers are more oily than norm. and even then the marks are not too obvious. regular matte laminates will look horrible almost immediately after each cleaning, especially if it is a dark coloured one.

Alphas

My kitchen carpentery uses Formica, durable and does not fade, also anti fingerprint.

dilphinus

Laminates are not made in China.

The drums are usually from Germany. Paper can be from anywhere like India, Malaysia, Japan, etc. Most of them are pressed/finished in Malaysia.

NoTimeToWaitAr

Your fun fact is incorrect.
there are HPLs from China and india, and there are HPLs from Japan, Italy and Germany.

lousylah

Your fun fact is incorrect.
there are HPLs from China and india, and there are HPLs from Japan, Italy and Germany.
Not saying ALL brands are sg but most of the “popular” brands used by IDs/contractors in SG are actually sgrean - TAK (lamitak and sister brands), EDL and sister brands, Admira, Arova, Jennings, Lam Chuan, Merawood (wood and veneer coy that is also offering HPL now)and list goes on.

ALL sgrean though each brand may have premium series made in JP and Italy as you said but the brand is still sgrean.

and of course SG does not have much of a timber, paper, pulp industry beyond trading, sales, marketing so all are OEM/manufactured overseas.

majority IDs/contractors will oftentimes use a selection of above listed brands.

the ang moh brands are Formica (biggest and OG melamine/HPL coy which is italian and made in thai), greenlam which started as veneer coy in US and made in India

rkesin

recently used O2+ laminates for my reno. very happy and found the selection to be more modern and well suited for my fam.

sold by company called catalyste and they have a showroom at Ubi, where admira is, so found it convenient to visit multiple suppliers.

elvintay07

Aiya, if today you not staying in good class bungalow or landed, don’t waste time la. Why pay all these money for anti fingerprint? Doesn’t make sense one.

My amdk architect friend does big landed and good class bungalow. He said even those house use entry Nippon paint which is ok. Yet sometimes normal house use the highest spec paint.

I see liao also think quite strange.

dilphinus

recently used O2+ laminates for my reno. very happy and found the selection to be more modern and well suited for my fam.

sold by company called catalyste and they have a showroom at Ubi, where admira is, so found it convenient to visit multiple suppliers.
Catalyste is branched out from Lamitak.

Lamitak is branched out from Admira.

Admira - Father passed to one son.
Lamitak was started by the other son.
Catalyste started by the daughter of the son who started Lamitak.

lousylah

Catalyste is branched out from Lamitak.

Lamitak is branched out from Admira.

Admira - Father passed to one son.
Lamitak was started by the other son.
Catalyste started by the daughter of the son who started Lamitak.

As i shared, most of the popular laminates used in SG are actually sg brands with manufacturing overseas.

Not saying ALL brands are sg but most of the “popular” brands used by IDs/contractors in SG are actually sgrean - TAK (lamitak and sister brands), EDL and sister brands, Admira, Arova, Jennings, Lam Chuan, Merawood (wood and veneer coy that is also offering HPL now)and list goes on.

ALL sgrean though each brand may have premium series made in JP and Italy as you said but the brand is still sgrean.

and of course SG does not have much of a timber, paper, pulp industry beyond trading, sales, marketing so all are OEM/manufactured overseas.

majority IDs/contractors will oftentimes use a selection of above listed brands.

the ang moh brands are Formica (biggest and OG melamine/HPL coy which is italian and made in thai), greenlam which started as veneer coy in US and made in India

for example recent insta on EDL current boss :

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.