Laos

bombomlee

Thanks for the replies guys.

Since i'm only going to VV and VTN, its fine to use just USD and THB? Is the rate for SGD-Kip there good? Cos now SGD-THB is 25.7...

Will check out Khop Chai Deu then, since I'm a backpacker myself ;)

singexpat

Yup its fine lah.. They dun change SGD there hor.. Thts y I recommend USD and Baht.

near Khop Chai Deu, there are few backpacker guesthouses (lanes leading to river front). U can find ang mohs, Koreas n japs there..

enjoy!

XiaoZen

words of advice... change USD/SGD etc currency to KIP and pay in KIP for better rate.

Before leaving laos, change ALL remaining Kip to baht or USD. (if you do not intend to come back anytime soon). because no currency exchange will change KIP to other currency except some border town.

i once stuck with 40USD worth of KIP when i travel direct from vientiane to udon thani. Udon thani although near laos already dun accept KIP.

singexpat

words of advice... change USD/SGD etc currency to KIP and pay in KIP for better rate.

Before leaving laos, change ALL remaining Kip to baht or USD. (if you do not intend to come back anytime soon). because no currency exchange will change KIP to other currency except some border town.

i once stuck with 40USD worth of KIP when i travel direct from vientiane to udon thani. Udon thani although near laos already dun accept KIP.

dun say udon thani, nong khai dun accept too.
good advice to change all. For me, I spend in e airport.. Lols

bombomlee

Thanks for all the advice, just got back from my trip.

Only rode to VV and back to vientiane. Highway 13 is in good condition, potholes abundant at about the 110km or so mark from vientiane to vv.

All in all, great experience! I didn't pack enough for the cold night weather.. it was 9 deg in VV last tuesday and was freezing my balls off :s13:

year2013

Guys, can someone suggest any good hotel in Laos (Luang Prabang)?
I m going to Hanoi, will fly to LP for 2 days - m going just for Kuang Sii Waterfalls !!
Good Hotels looks very expensive, 150+

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.