Laptop vs desktop

hawthorne

Let's say I have no desire to upgrade the rig in the future, does it makes sense to get a laptop instead of a desktop?

E.g. Aftershock laptop with gtx1070 cost ard 2.5K. if I were to build a i7 7700, gtx1070 rig, with monitor and keyboard, and a table for the PC thrown in also ard same price?

So the only deciding factor for PC is it can upgrade in the future? If I have no desire to upgrade, by choosing laptop, I gained in turns of the portability ?

shadow84

For laptop, u cant upgrade cpu or gpu when it starts to feel laggy, at least for desktop you can do so in perhaps 3-5 yrs time... With laptop, you are stucked with that specs till it dies.

hawthorne

For laptop, u cant upgrade cpu or gpu when it starts to feel laggy, at least for desktop you can do so in perhaps 3-5 yrs time... With laptop, you are stucked with that specs till it dies.
Like I said, I have no desire to upgrade.

so if I build a rig, it will be use until I feel like changing it and repurpose the old rig for something else. Same as laptop, use until it lag till I cannot take it then change the whole laptop

shadow84

Like I said, I have no desire to upgrade.

so if I build a rig, it will be use until I feel like changing it and repurpose the old rig for something else. Same as laptop, use until it lag till I cannot take it then change the whole laptop

Based on your words, i believe you have alrdy decided to get a laptop. Big difference between desktop and laptop is portability and ability to upgrade. And to throw away a desktop just after some yrs of usage is a waste of $$$ since some parts can be reused, thus saving you some costs rather than getting a complete new machine.

shadow84

Besides, no one says you MUST upgrade a part within 1-2 yrs... Can always do a partial upgrade when components fail. Makes more economical sense.

hawthorne

Based on your words, i believe you have alrdy decided to get a laptop. Big difference between desktop and laptop is portability and ability to upgrade. And to throw away a desktop just after some yrs of usage is a waste of $$$ since some parts can be reused, thus saving you some costs rather than getting a complete new machine.
I haven't decided on anything. Just wondering what are the considerations to decide a laptop vs a PC.

I recently build a rig, but sometimes i dun like to be confined to my study room. My bedroom has not space for a PC. And if I game in the room all day the missus will start to complain. It's not so bad if I game using a laptop with her in the same room. E.g. when she's in the living room watching tv, then i game in the living room.

Now im wondering if I shld have bought an Aftershock instead, so I can bring it ard the house.

So now hand itchy thinking to get a new laptop and repurpose my current rig instead :s22:

shadow84

I haven't decided on anything. Just wondering what are the considerations to decide a laptop vs a PC.

I recently build a rig, but sometimes i dun like to be confined to my study room. Wondering if I shld have bought an Aftershock instead, so I can bring it ard the house.

Ultimately, it all boils down to your usage, portability or gaming. If formal, a slim & light laptop would be great but gaming will be limited. If latter, a desktop is much better. Price u paid for a gaming laptop cant be compared to a proper desktop couterparts.

Or perhaps, get a decent desktop and decent laptop. Best of both worlds.

lifeishard

I recently build a rig, but sometimes i dun like to be confined to my study room. My bedroom has not space for a PC. And if I game in the room all day the missus will start to complain. It's not so bad if I game using a laptop with her in the same room. E.g. when she's in the living room watching tv, then i game in the living room.

Now im wondering if I shld have bought an Aftershock instead, so I can bring it ard the house.

So now hand itchy thinking to get a new laptop and repurpose my current rig instead :s22:

With this reason yes a gaming laptop is more suitable for you.

But building a 7700 with 1070 rig won't be 2.5k unless you looking at high end monitor.

tmfwy

Let's say I have no desire to upgrade the rig in the future, does it makes sense to get a laptop instead of a desktop?

E.g. Aftershock laptop with gtx1070 cost ard 2.5K. if I were to build a i7 7700, gtx1070 rig, with monitor and keyboard, and a table for the PC thrown in also ard same price?

So the only deciding factor for PC is it can upgrade in the future? If I have no desire to upgrade, by choosing laptop, I gained in turns of the portability ?
The main differences between a laptop and a desktop

1. Portability
2. Ability to withstand long hours
3. Maintenance -> Upgradability, Component level point of failure
4. Power Efficiency
5. Components used
6. Footprint

1. Portability
Laptops are easier to bring along to lan parties than a desktop

2. Ability to withstand long hours
Generally, a desktop is more able to withstand long hours or even days of non stop action.
The ability of a laptop to withstand long hours, is questionable for the mid to lower end, and passable for the higher end ones ( read exhause ports through the rear.. )
The above is important when tied to the next point

3. Maintenance -> Upgradability, Component level point of failure
A laptop is limited in upgradability. Depending on what you take, you may be looking at either NO upgradability, or at best, storage and memory
A desktop is upgradeable through all its components, which makes upgrading or replacing components, cheaper. Where a laptop can be a dead duck through a single point of failure, a desktop is far cheaper to repair.
An example are the ultrabooks / macbooks with built in storage. You know there is absolutely, almost no hope of practically retrieving that oh so important ( more so if it is a compromoising image ) data / image from a lapppie with soldered on storage.

4. Power Efficiency
Laptops generally give greater power effiicency over desktops

5. Components used
Laptops are priced higher than desktops and components used on a laptop are generally weaker than their desktop components, due to power efficiency design considerations

6. Footprint
There is a certain footprint a lappie needs to take on your desk, whereby a desktop can be placed on the floor.,.

In short
If you do NOT intend to bring your rig around, a desktop is more suitable

ELSE
If you are just itchy for that sleek looking laptop you can show off to your friends, or need to bring it around, a lappie is more suitable.

Answer is NO.
If you don't need that PORTABILITY then no reason to get a Laptop which is more expensive.

And don't forget it's not about upgrade-able only.
Laptop has 1 Year Warranty Only.
Desktop is easily and faster to repair.

congster2

Get a laptop with thunderbolt 3 for external gfx upgrade in the future.

jayz89

You already got your answer liao lah come on leh.

:vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Krabs.

before kabylake ... I saw on (throttlestop) forums the quadcore laptop chip will throttle the clockspeed during gaming , cause stutter

not exact equivalent to desktop cpu

throttlestop is a 3rd party software that try to overwrite the conservative TDP setting by intel to make it run boost clock longer duration

peterchan75

Repairing laptop is a bitch. Need to go to those shops that can replace chips. After that, it's 30 days warranty. Repair is not cheap. :(

watzup_ken

Laptops main advantage is purely on the mobility. Even if you do not upgrade, you need to be aware that if any parts fail, replacement part is needs to be considered. You can't just replace most parts easily and the cost of replacement parts don't make sense.

Piezoq

Most people don't bother with upgrades unless they are students with time on their hands or a very select group of geeks with hardware fever. Trust me on this. The idea of upgrades on the forum is seldom practiced.

If you are just looking for an appliance I.e. computer as TV or iPod then get a laptop. Saves space, hassle and if you need a bigger screen get another monitor.

However if you have specific gaming needs only desktops have that kind of muscle.

In an age where everyone has a smartphone plan that cost north of 1k biyearly and the phones upgraded each contract cycle, computers are disposable every 3 to 4 years too.

Solidus_GZ

Noob question Is there any differences if you plug the laptop into monitor vs plug the desk top? Will the display quality detoriate?

eric3743

Noob question Is there any differences if you plug the laptop into monitor vs plug the desk top? Will the display quality detoriate?

Picture quality depend on both devices' resolution maximum.

That is on which resolution from laptop &or desktop to monitor resolution.
And the connection type via which interface as in VGA, HDMI, DVI and others.

As long as you can set to the highest resolution depend on user and the picture quality minimum requirement.

In summary, there is no differences on the monitor from either laptop or desktop.

There do have users prefer additional monitor while using laptop.

Note that most laptop would have both VGA and HDMI standard.

Some laptop do have a lower resolution as depend on the brand &or models.
Whereas desktop depend on its motherboard and able to have additional graphic card for better & higher resolution.

So do take note in choosing a laptop on the type & maximum resolution it can have and your preference.

michael_thm

For people who do not have a specific need not easily performed on laptop, a laptop should be the choice. The price premium for laptops is quite small nowadays unlike in the past where a laptop would be double the price of a similarly spec desktop.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.