Lasik eye Surgery

thegardens3b

Hello!

Thinking of doing LASIK but I will still continue to wear colored/cosmetic lens after the surgery. Reason why I wanted to do LASIK is because my eyesight quite bad, about 700 degrees each eye, and my eyelashes are so long I had to take off my glasses to wipe the lens every 10 mins (no joke :s13:)

I called up the clinic and they told me if do LASIK cannot wear colored contact lens liao because the shape will change.

Any idea if there are alternatives if I want to do LASIK (any kind also ok) but also continue wearing colored lens next time? :s13:

Hi Rehtseeee,

any form of surgery to your eye is non reversible and of course wearing contact lenses will be a problem. The shape of the cornea will change and it would be hard for the lenses to be on your eye.
No kind of LASER treatment of eye will allow you to still wear contact lens after.
Unless you go for more expensive procedure which is ICL (implantable contact lenses)

side note: are your lashes really that long? hahaha. can choose frames which dont sit so near your lashes but vision will be less clear as it is further away from the eye

Rehtseeee

Hi Rehtseeee,

any form of surgery to your eye is non reversible and of course wearing contact lenses will be a problem. The shape of the cornea will change and it would be hard for the lenses to be on your eye.
No kind of LASER treatment of eye will allow you to still wear contact lens after.
Unless you go for more expensive procedure which is ICL (implantable contact lenses)

side note: are your lashes really that long? hahaha. can choose frames which dont sit so near your lashes but vision will be less clear as it is further away from the eye

I read on websites (those UK websites or what hahaha) that it's ok to wear color contacts after surgery, but sg websites never write so I dunno :(

I'll be heading down for eye assessment next week, so hopefully doctor says can! :s13:

Yeah my eye lashes are really straight and long! I went to OWNDAYS and asked if there are any frames/lenses that are further away from the eyes, they tell me don't have :s13:

amyaiai

TransPRK

Hello!
I’ve been to LSC, Shinagawa and SNEC for my prelasik assessment. Dr. Lee at Shinagawa rejected my case due to thin cornea and high degree (R. 510micron, -525/-200; L, 513micron, -325/-200). He said the risk for cornea ectasia is at borderline. SNEC said I can do Epi-Lasik but risks for haze may be high. Should I go to ClearVision to seek fourth opinion? I’m more prone to use no flap method. Really need suggestions...

hisugaya

Hello!
I’ve been to LSC, Shinagawa and SNEC for my prelasik assessment. Dr. Lee at Shinagawa rejected my case due to thin cornea and high degree (R. 510micron, -525/-200; L, 513micron, -325/-200). He said the risk for cornea ectasia is at borderline. SNEC said I can do Epi-Lasik but risks for haze may be high. Should I go to ClearVision to seek fourth opinion? I’m more prone to use no flap method. Really need suggestions...
Dear amyaiai,

My degree was about 700 with astig and myo. 550 micron both eye. Did not experienced hazing but I did follow all the pre and post op instructions and took vits and omega 3 after op, cos I kia su. Ahahahaha.

Yea, just go Clearvision for check up and ask questions! Don't wait till you go home then google! Did mine with Clearvision this year May. Was discharged by Dr Ho in middle of Nov.

Sent from HTC 10 using GAGT

thegardens3b

I read on websites (those UK websites or what hahaha) that it's ok to wear color contacts after surgery, but sg websites never write so I dunno :(

I'll be heading down for eye assessment next week, so hopefully doctor says can! :s13:

Yeah my eye lashes are really straight and long! I went to OWNDAYS and asked if there are any frames/lenses that are further away from the eyes, they tell me don't have :s13:

Which clinic you heading down too?
It IS okay to wear lenses, but from experience, many people complain of discomfort and dryness. So you can wear if you can stand the discomfort and dryness :)

usually frames are default, but adjustments to the frame can be made to make it better. Haven't come across anyone with eyelashes THAT long :s13:

Rehtseeee

Which clinic you heading down too?
It IS okay to wear lenses, but from experience, many people complain of discomfort and dryness. So you can wear if you can stand the discomfort and dryness :)

usually frames are default, but adjustments to the frame can be made to make it better. Haven't come across anyone with eyelashes THAT long :s13:

I'll be heading down to Shinagawa next Monday! :s13:

amyaiai

Dear amyaiai,

My degree was about 700 with astig and myo. 550 micron both eye. Did not experienced hazing but I did follow all the pre and post op instructions and took vits and omega 3 after op, cos I kia su. Ahahahaha.

Yea, just go Clearvision for check up and ask questions! Don't wait till you go home then google! Did mine with Clearvision this year May. Was discharged by Dr Ho in middle of Nov.

Sent from HTC 10 using GAGT
Hi Hisugaya, thank you! Made my appointment with ClearVision for surgery next Tuesday already. Hope everything goes well.

amyaiai

Referral discount for ClearVision?

Hi Anyone got referral code for clearvision tranPRK?please PM me if you do. Thank you!!!:)

thegardens3b

Tio rejected by Shinagawa, dunno if want to seek second opinion elsewhere or give up~ 😂

oh? how come rejected?
if one clinic reject dont bother already... theres a reason why they dont want to do in the first place.

LASIK tbh isnt really a good thing to be honest..
if people were to just research deeper but sadly they don't... all misinformed

divasion

oh? how come rejected?
if one clinic reject dont bother already... theres a reason why they dont want to do in the first place.

ya agreed.if one reject, means probably got higher risk. the other clinics that still decided to ask u go for it is see if u lucky,never kena the "side effect" from the risk so usually, any one doctor say reject ,best is dont do.

Agreed, lasik for eyes is same as what ppl do for acne scars, fractional co2.. what it does is to burn of certain layer of skin.

For eg, previously u started with 0 degree for myopia with lets say 10mm (hypothetical number) of thickness of cornea, what lasik does is to burn off ur cornea, lets say 500 degree to "fix" it back to 0 degree. After that, although both situations is 0 degree,the after surgery part,probably it be like 0.25mm thickness left and not 10mm. cause i remember myopia is to do with something being stretched..the more higher ur degree, the more it stretches.. so lasik dont actually "fix" it by "un-stretching it"

thegardens3b

ya agreed.if one reject, means probably got higher risk. the other clinics that still decided to ask u go for it is see if u lucky,never kena the "side effect" from the risk so usually, any one doctor say reject ,best is dont do.

Agreed, lasik for eyes is same as what ppl do for acne scars, fractional co2.. what it does is to burn of certain layer of skin.

For eg, previously u started with 0 degree for myopia with lets say 10mm (hypothetical number) of thickness of cornea, what lasik does is to burn off ur cornea, lets say 500 degree to "fix" it back to 0 degree. After that, although both situations is 0 degree,the after surgery part,probably it be like 0.25mm thickness left and not 10mm. cause i remember myopia is to do with something being stretched..the more higher ur degree, the more it stretches.. so lasik dont actually "fix" it by "un-stretching it"

one of the rare few that do more research :s13: you are absolutely right in terms of the concept.
what lasik does is to solve the vision aspect.
but it brings alot of unwanted baggage with it that people wont see in the short term... yes, first 10 years ok. another 10 maybe still dont see it.
afterwhich, good luck if you dont complain of anything. you are the luckier ones...
just trying to educate and spread awareness and hope i dont get flak by people who have already done. :s22:

divasion

one of the rare few that do more research :s13: you are absolutely right in terms of the concept.
what lasik does is to solve the vision aspect.
but it brings alot of unwanted baggage with it that people wont see in the short term... yes, first 10 years ok. another 10 maybe still dont see it.
afterwhich, good luck if you dont complain of anything. you are the luckier ones...
just trying to educate and spread awareness and hope i dont get flak by people who have already done. :s22:

ya same thing for acne scars, u make the acne scar look less crated by burning off the top layr of skin so it evens out,creating the illusion the scar its gone.. they dont actually remodel the acne scar to look back like original skin

Rehtseeee

oh? how come rejected?

I was considering seeking second opinion since I've read some of the people here actually went to like 3 clinics or so, and there were at least one clinic that gave the green light. :p

The reason why I got rejected.......actually quite long story. But short story is I wasn't a suitable candidate for LASIK because my cornea thickness is thinner than average. I remember he mentioned the number 482 to me, I assume that's the part that fell below average since he mentioned the usual is about 550? I actually cannot remember too much of the technical terms that he spoke because I was busy registering the fact that I am not suitable for LASIK (because I wasn't expecting to be unsuitable :s13:)

Long story is I had to go through 8 different sets of eye tests and I had to redo the 1st set many times because my right eye is too dry. Same goes for the 4th one. I had to do it many times, but it was during the basic eye test (the kind that you do at an optician's) that triggered a red flag for me when I took like more than 30 mins to finish it when the lady in front of me finished in less than 10. :s13:

I think I gave confusing results, until the tester asked me is it I have very bad eyesight since young because she was unable to come up with a definite result from the testing. I could barely read the 2nd line out of the 3 lines of small alphabets. 3rd one no need to say, most of the time cannot see, until she insert some sort of hole thingy and asked me if it was clearer, which it was, but still cannot really read lol!

I suspected maybe I cannot do LASIK when the tester asked "Below 300 don't need to dilute right?" to another tester that came in for awhile. I dunno what fell below 300, but the fact that I didn't even get to the dilute part means I most probably cannot do liao hahahah

During doctor's review he also asked me is it I have bad eyesight since young, is it I can always cannot get 100% clear vision whenever I make glasses or what. I've always thought that the reason why I cannot get 100% clear vision is because of my own fault since maybe I gave unclear answers whenever I did eye test, but he also mentioned that I have like many white spots in my eyes :s13: Not exactly sure what do the white spots mean, but they probably contributed to my bad eyesight.

He also mentioned that my right eye is super dry (it was all red in the diagnosis he showed me) and gave me some lubricant and gel to apply for 3 weeks before coming back for follow up.

Went to do LASIK, turns out become see eye doctor for eye problem instead :s13::s13::s13:

Rehtseeee

ya same thing for acne scars, u make the acne scar look less crated by burning off the top layr of skin so it evens out,creating the illusion the scar its gone.. they dont actually remodel the acne scar to look back like original skin

Hahahaha I'm very disappointed I cannot do LASIK because I can imagine all the things made easy if I could do away with glasses. I wear contact lens everyday even if I don't have to go out just because glasses are too uncomfortable for me. Too bad I'm not suitable :p

qhong61

Hahahaha I'm very disappointed I cannot do LASIK because I can imagine all the things made easy if I could do away with glasses. I wear contact lens everyday even if I don't have to go out just because glasses are too uncomfortable for me. Too bad I'm not suitable :p
If u get a good frame, it would be comfortable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.