Lasik Eye Surgery

Hoshitsukii

Hi, anyone has referral code for Dr Natasha Lim? I intend to go for my LASIK next month. Appreciate your help!!

BlueTT

Hi, anyone has referral code for Dr Natasha Lim? I intend to go for my LASIK next month. Appreciate your help!!
Hi, I did my lasik with Dr Natasha but I don't think they are like the other clinics where they have referral package then offset $xx from the cost.

BlueTT

Finally took time to share my review on Dr Natasha Lim’s Wavefront Lasik experience!

I did mine in Sep last year and after 8 months; I have no regrets, one of the best investment for oneself. Like 2nd chance to waking up not having to search for specs. #iykyk

My degree was on the higher side, for reference is -8.25, astig at 0.75 (took the highest amongst my both eyes for ref)

I did my research and asked amongst my friends who had their lasik done at the various clinics and shortlisted the following 3:
  • Eagle Eye Centre – Dr Julian Theng
  • Dr Natasha Lim – by herself obviously
  • SNEC – Assoc. Prof. Dr Rosman
I tried enquiring the 3 pricing and back then with the news of going back to office, I decided to mai tu liao and faster settle it within a month. Amongst the 3 clinic, the longest waiting time will be Eagle Eye (approx. 2-3 months wait) follow by SNEC (approx. 4-6 weeks wait back then). There were a few consideration factors for me:
  • Waiting time (as I will want to get it done and recover from home before heading back office)
  • Down / recovery time based on the type of Lasik procedure
  • Cost and effectiveness
Apart from waiting time, I heard from my friends that not all are suitable to do Lasik; it depends on a few factors, mainly the thickness of your cornea, how dry your eyes are etc. So I didn’t want to waste money on assessment test and to find out I may not be suitable. Hence, I went to Dr Natasha’s clinic as the clinic has a $5 eye assessment by optometrist, without doc consultation. I called up, went to do the check and the optometrist say I am suitable! I then went home to think through if this is legit enough (didn’t have reviews on forum back then). So I called up Shinagawa to book at $25++ eye assessment which includes a consultation with Dr Lee Shao Bing. Cos’ I kiasu and wanna be curtained that I am suitable.

The eye assessment at Shinagawa includes the dilation test (which is not very comfortable) and the equipment used was slightly primitive. I remember there was a station where the optometrist had to use a stick/probe to touch my cornea to measure the thickness, tbh, I wasn’t prepared for that close contact and for someone to “poke” my eyes. But I decided to do the assessment there as Shinagawa has got 20+ yrs of experience in this industry and some of my friends did theirs’ there for over a decade. Long story short, Dr Lee consultation did mention that my cornea thickness were borderline and eyes were on the dryer side but can still proceed with the Lasik procedure. He was very cautious and thorough when doing the check on my eyes (he checked the stats 2 times and reviewed my eyes 3 times to be certain I am in the clear) if you are not suitable, he will be honest with you and reject you (cos’ my friends got rejected). He suggested to add on a vitamin fluid called cross-link to help with the recovery of my cornea and prevent the chances of cornea collapsing after the Lasik procedure as my degree is on the higher side (above 600 is consider high in his opinion).

So with both clinics giving me the green light to proceed with Lasik, it then goes down to the total costing. I decided to go w Dr Natasha for 3 reasons:
  • Overall costing is higher but the cross-link fluid portion is medisave claimable
  • Their technology seems to be more advanced and I am more comfortable with the eye checks (they uses Wavefront technology for lasik, accuracy is to 0.1 DPO. You can google about it)
  • Waiting time to do the procedure is one of the shortest (but do be prepared to wait a few hours when you are there, even though you scheduled an appointment, I waited like 3hrs for my turn)
The costing was upfront for Dr Natasha’s clinic, the cost of per eye and the option to choose whether you want to use Wavefront or not, to add cross link fluid or not are all indicated. The confidence in the doctor is very important to me as I must have that trust for someone to operate on me. The waiting time on actual day was a hassle though, closed to 3hrs of wait before the 15mins surgery. Aft the surgery, vision was a little hazy (like nv wear specs like that) but there wasn’t much pain except the feeling of the suction ring. You will be asked to come back for post op 1 day and 1 week review, follow by a 6 weeks review.

You will be given 1 sleeping pill (in case to painful for u), 2 different medication (eye drops), 1 pair of eye shield for you to transport home, you can remove the shield after you get home but just note not to wash your eyes/face for 24hrs. The medication cost around $50. Recovery was pretty alright for me, approx. 3 days I can on-off see pretty clearly but my degree only stablised after few months.

Overall good experience but just be prepared to wait on actual day, as the clinic do step by step, meaning they will settle all the eye checks and doctor consultation first, follow by the surgery, so everyone will wait like you do. I do happened to have an extra set of medication that I purchased extra (brand new, not opened) you can PM me if you want to have it, looking to let go at $25. Hope this helps those of you who are considering Lasik!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.