Latest nvidia drivers introduced random black screening

Psychedelic Senses

I usually rush to update drivers whenever a new one drops. But this time, driver 552.22 some sort of broke my system. I have two monitors, the first one being a 4k 144hz and the second, a 1440p 144hz. Both G-Sync compatible monitors. Ever since I updated the drivers, both monitors will randomly turn black, sometimes up to 5 seconds long which is absurd. It is very, very disruptive especially when gaming. Imagine being in a fire fight then your main screen turns black, causing you to die/lose the game. Previously on driver 552.12, I never had these issues. Looked up reddit and some people said that Nvidia has had this issue for some unlucky people on multi monitor setups regardless of what driver they're on. My friend on a dual 1080p monitor who hasn't updated her drivers experiences this as well.

I downloaded driver 552.12 and installed using the 'clean' option, rebooted but the problems still persisted. The only way to semi-fix this issue is to turn off G-Sync in Nvidia Control Panel. My main monitor stopped black screening completely but my secondary smaller monitor still continues black screening. I wonder if it is even worth doing a DDU to reinstall back 552.12 where it was the most stable for me? Or should I just live through this and wait for the next driver update and pray it fixes this?

Yongkit

How about try the studio driver? Or driver before the 2 you mentioned in the post if that would help?

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
DDU in safe mode. Go back window and install drivers.

Psychedelic Senses

How about try the studio driver? Or driver before the 2 you mentioned in the post if that would help?
552.12 was the stable one for me without any black screening issues before I updated and even using the 'clean install' option to reinstall this, it didn't fix anything. DDU seems the only option left.

Psychedelic Senses

thats why shouldnt upgrade if no issue

roll back ba
yea man I regretted. I always had faith in Nvidia's display drivers. The last time I had issues with black screening was quite some time back but Nvidia acknowledged the problem as a known issue and said they're working on a fix, which they did indeed fix the issue after the next drivers dropped a few days after. But for 552.22, this is not listed as a known issue and probably only a small suay minority like me, kena this problem.

Phen8210

nvidia going for AI already, what driver nonsense they dont care :LOL:

qc for the driver has been falling off ever since

Ferolare

Dual 1080P monitor user here but I have never encounter this issue at all: Be it fresh from Windows install v511, the bare minimum driver I need for DLSS 3.5 v537 or the latest v552.

The only time I faced instability is when my motherboard decided that Auto 1.35V for memory is actually 1.2V still.

watzup_ken

Been there, and done the same before. So all I want to say is take it as a lesson and don't try to rush into any driver or firmware updates. Unless of course, you know for sure that the driver will address any teething issue(s) that you already are experiencing. I don't believe these "Game Ready" drivers are that meaningful to begin with.

Psychedelic Senses

Dual 1080P monitor user here but I have never encounter this issue at all: Be it fresh from Windows install v511, the bare minimum driver I need for DLSS 3.5 v537 or the latest v552.

The only time I faced instability is when my motherboard decided that Auto 1.35V for memory is actually 1.2V still.
Think this one is heng suay thing. I'm the suay one.

soreloser

been updating my drivers consistently always. Dual monitor 1440p and 1080p setup and never had any issues of this sort. You might want to try changing the HDMI/DP cables, or reseat the GPU. IMO driver updates that cause this sort of issues should be resolved after DDU and if it sticks around, the problem should be something else.

Psychedelic Senses

Jialat. Now I got new issue. Whenever I boot in safe mode, my monitors will have no signal upon restart. I can't even do a DDU if I can't boot into Safe Mode like this?

I unplugged both monitors one by one, restarted on either monitors but both also no signal on safe boot (holding shift while selecting restart)

I googled and saw some saying that in safe mode, I need to use the on board GPU instead? Is that true? In the past I did a safe boot using an older monitor (that I sold) and I could get to safe mode option even with without needing to plug into the onboard gpu? This is really puzzling. My mobo has a mini DP port for the iGPU and I don't have an adapter for this.

soreloser

U can try do it in regular OS. Safe mode is a step to ensure to issues don't come about but doing DDU in windows isn't dangerous in any way

xtractor

mine latest driver 2 weeks no issue
what GPU are u using?
maybe it is not from the driver

Psychedelic Senses

my monitors wouldn't have signal no matter what, so I had to dig out a spare third small 1080p monitor and it finally detected that monitor in safe mode. very weird la. Now got that out of the way, another issue is on hand. One of my games can't last 5 minutes without crashing to desktop. Really on an unlucky roll here. a CPU intensive game.

Crashed more than 10 times in a row with the same error, Exception code: 0xc0000005

Psychedelic Senses

mine latest driver 2 weeks no issue
what GPU are u using?
maybe it is not from the driver
4090. I haven't tested much yet but so far no random black screening on a regular basis as compared to last time as of now. Now my main concern is the game crashing issues. It's just that one game.

soreloser

Are you using a 13900k /14700k/14900k? Recently there has been an issue with intel where it causes crashing due to instability with intel CPUs. Usually happens a few months after use. If you are, u will have to update bios/downclock your CPU to fix the issue.

Psychedelic Senses

Are you using a 13900k /14700k/14900k? Recently there has been an issue with intel where it causes crashing due to instability with intel CPUs. Usually happens a few months after use. If you are, u will have to update bios/downclock your CPU to fix the issue.
i resolved the issue liao, ram was unstable that's why causing all the crashing. Reduced the ram speed seems to fix it for now. no more game crashes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.