Law degree

rainyjerk

So what other paths are there available ?

seriously i do not see any ROI to study in SMU for it's JD just to practise in singapore....go elsewhere and practise..and come back and get called to the bar (SG) will be better choice...

Biogentic

how come hongkong/uk/commonwealth countries law society accept UOL LLB for the purpose of qualifying bar exam but our countries disallow? Our jurisdiction more impartial? or try to portray our lawyers are of higher standard and quality?

Raider04

how come hongkong/uk/commonwealth countries law society accept UOL LLB for the purpose of qualifying bar exam but our countries disallow? Our jurisdiction more impartial? or try to portray our lawyers are of higher standard and quality?

Erecting Barrier of Entry! Protectionism! :)

hameedmr

Offers from UK Unis

Hi Guys,

I've gotten offers from University of Liverpool, Leeds and Leicester to read law. Which of these is a better uni in terms of prestige and also the alumni in Singapore?

bubblegumcartel

May i know your reasons for this choice? I'm currently torn between Liverpool and Leeds.

I think liverpool enjoys a slightly better reputation than leeds but they are kind of the same. Liverpool is a better city than leeds so I'd choose liverpool.

Since you are applying for liverpool, leeds and leicester, maybe you can apply to uni like manchester, nottingham and durham. These unis have a much better reputation

hameedmr

I think liverpool enjoys a slightly better reputation than leeds but they are kind of the same. Liverpool is a better city than leeds so I'd choose liverpool.

Since you are applying for liverpool, leeds and leicester, maybe you can apply to uni like manchester, nottingham and durham. These unis have a much better reputation

Thank you for your reply. I was rejected by Southampton and awaiting reply from Exeter. According to the crowd in TSR forum, they prefer leeds over liverpool. Hence I was confused. Anyway, still a long way to go and lots of research to do. Thank you for your reply again.

bubblegumcartel

Thank you for your reply. I was rejected by Southampton and awaiting reply from Exeter. According to the crowd in TSR forum, they prefer leeds over liverpool. Hence I was confused. Anyway, still a long way to go and lots of research to do. Thank you for your reply again.

They are quite similar actually, but its alot about personal preference. But if you are Singaporean, you'd enjoy living in bigger cities, even their bigger cities is like a village to us.:o But do take TSR comments with a pinch of salt, everyone on there thinks everyone end up in magic circle, IB or consultancy...

hameedmr

They are quite similar actually, but its alot about personal preference. But if you are Singaporean, you'd enjoy living in bigger cities, even their bigger cities is like a village to us.:o But do take TSR comments with a pinch of salt, everyone on there thinks everyone end up in magic circle, IB or consultancy...

Hmm.. That's true. I personally favour Liverpool cos its a great city and Liverpool FC:D I should just see my finances and make a choice. One of the pull factors of leeds is that they have a 1500 Pound entry scholarship for international students.

bubblegumcartel

Hmm.. That's true. I personally favour Liverpool cos its a great city and Liverpool FC:D I should just see my finances and make a choice. One of the pull factors of leeds is that they have a 1500 Pound entry scholarship for international students.

Haha, if the 1.5k is very impt for you then go to Leeds by all means. Maybe you can visit the cities and decide which one you like better. Try to find one with a bigger china town cause ang moh food suckssss

Manchester got alot of singaporeans taking law also, think AAB can liao, maybe you can also consider

hameedmr

Haha, if the 1.5k is very impt for you then go to Leeds by all means. Maybe you can visit the cities and decide which one you like better. Try to find one with a bigger china town cause ang moh food suckssss

Haha Liverpool would win that one hands down. If I'm not wrong, they have one of the biggest chinatowns in UK. BTW I'm an Indian-Muslim so Chinatown wouldn't really help me

bubblegumcartel

Haha Liverpool would win that one hands down. If I'm not wrong, they have one of the biggest chinatowns in UK. BTW I'm an Indian-Muslim so Chinatown wouldn't really help me

Unless you want to eat wedges,pasta or potatoes everyday, chinatown sells alot of Singapore/M'sia products, and loads of cup noodles :p

I think liverpool got better ryanair flights as compared to leeds also. Plus its near to Wales for sightseeing. :s12:

bubblegumcartel

Well, I already applied and got the results. So i guess reapplying is out of the question.

Paiseh, dont really know how the application process works in SG. Do you get to apply to 5 University and choose from them. I think you stand a good chance for Exeter also because I havent heard anyone getting rejected from Exeter before.

hameedmr

Unless you want to eat wedges,pasta or potatoes everyday, chinatown sells alot of Singapore/M'sia products, and loads of cup noodles :p

I think liverpool got better ryanair flights as compared to leeds also. Plus its near to Wales for sightseeing. :s12:

Liverpool really seems to be a great city. I would love going there. But people often tell me like Leeds is more well known for law, prestige is more important, leeds has more law fair etc. Hence I'm really confused. But asking me to choose a city, I would pick Liverpool hands down.

P.s Did you study in UK?

hameedmr

Paiseh, dont really know how the application process works in SG. Do you get to apply to 5 University and choose from them. I think you stand a good chance for Exeter also because I havent heard anyone getting rejected from Exeter before.

Well, I got offers from Leicester, Leeds and Liverpool. Rejection from Southampton and waiting for Exeter. Apparently, this year Exeter got a lot of applicants. Hence, they are taking a long time.

bubblegumcartel

Liverpool really seems to be a great city. I would love going there. But people often tell me like Leeds is more well known for law, prestige is more important, leeds has more law fair etc. Hence I'm really confused. But asking me to choose a city, I would pick Liverpool hands down.

P.s Did you study in UK?

Transferred over to Manchester for 1 year from SIM. Prestige wise its about the same. Alot of law grads here cannot find find a training contract because most law firms here take in anyone from any discipline as long as you meet their minimum requirement.

Most law grads from their not so top Uni either go back to their own country and practice law or end up working in Tax or something completely unrelated. In the UK, all these job fairs, law fairs are only present to provide prospective candidates information and nth else.

Choose somewhere you will enjoy living for your next 3 years. Prestige wise, both are not oxbridge so they are about the same :o

Just my 2 cents

hameedmr

Transferred over to Manchester for 1 year from SIM. Prestige wise its about the same. Alot of law grads here cannot find find a training contract because most law firms here take in anyone from any discipline as long as you meet their minimum requirement.

Most law grads from their not so top Uni either go back to their own country and practice law or end up working in Tax or something completely unrelated. In the UK, all these job fairs, law fairs are only present to provide prospective candidates information and nth else.

Choose somewhere you will enjoy living for your next 3 years. Prestige wise, both are not oxbridge so they are about the same :o

Just my 2 cents

Thank you for your opinion man. Really appreciate it. Looks like Liverpool would be a higher possibility now. Still a long way to go and lots of research to be done. Thank you for your opinion again. All the best in your future endeavours.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.