Learning Chinese has become too difficult for kids today, and that’s not okay

TopGun

Let's face it. Language is a perishable skill. Some people have the ability to retain the proficiency longer, with lesser practice while others start to lose the skill the moment they stop using it.

The study of MT is one out of the 4 subjects in Primary school. and one out of the 7 or more subjects in Secondary school. Our working language is English and all around us, the printed language is also English.

Someone said earlier in this thread that in the past, parents do not speak English and therefore how can it be said that we have a learning environment for English and yet people are proficient in it? The parents is just one aspect. If a person moved to China, enrolled in a local China school, learnt using textbooks printed in Chinese and surround himself with Chinese speaking students, is the person in a learning environment conducive for Chinese even though the parents might not speak the language at all? Clearly the answer is yes.

So we need to be realistic with the level of proficiency that we expect out of us. For the most of us, it makes no difference whether we know an itinerary of advanced Chinese vocabulary or know the language just enough to get by.What is more important is to be good in something that can put food on the table, and if the study of Chinese takes up a disproportionate amount of time, then by all means accept a mere pass and drop the subject ASAP. Don't let it affect the rest of the subjects which will give you more mileage in life.

IAmChiobu12M

Learning Chinese has become too difficult for kids today, and that’s not okay​

Is it just too hard for kids to learn Chinese in Singapore schools? This mum-of-two explains why she thinks the answer might be yes – and why that bodes ill for young Singaporeans trying to develop a love for their mother tongue.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/tod...e-education-schools-learning-students-5419631

Recently, while revising for her end-of-year exams, my 15-year-old daughter came to me with a list of Chinese words, asking me to test her on them.

It had been a while since she'd asked for help. Ever since starting secondary school, she has mostly managed her studies on her own. But when she handed me the list, I wasn't surprised by the request. Rather, I was caught off-guard by what was on it.

Now, I consider myself fairly proficient in my mother tongue. Not only did I grow up in a Chinese-speaking family, I consistently scored As in Chinese throughout my schooling years.

The list of words my daughter handed me was meant for her Secondary 3 cohort (she's in the International Baccalaureate programme, but the Chinese textbook they use is the same as the O-Level track). But I found myself unable to read a number of them, let alone understand them.

Even my husband, who had studied Higher Mother Tongue (HMT) back in school, found some of the words unfamiliar and difficult.

Watching my daughter struggle to recall how to write certain words or their meanings, I felt her frustration deeply. This is a child who has always been academically focused and motivated, and used to have perfect scores for Chinese spelling tests (or tingxie) in primary school.

That frustration led me to post the list on social media, wondering aloud why secondary school students were now expected to learn such advanced vocabulary.

The response was overwhelming.

Many parents messaged me about similar struggles their children face learning Chinese in school. Many more said that they themselves couldn't understand some of the words on the list I had posted.

CAN WE AIM "TOO" HIGH?​

A friend who is a Chinese writer explained that many of the words are advanced versions of simpler terms. The advanced versions are more poetic and beautiful, great for literature – but not quite practical for everyday use.

"In reality, we'd just use the simpler forms," she said.

Can Singapore’s educators and parents hope that we are nurturing some children to one day become acclaimed Singaporean Chinese authors or poets like You Jin or Dan Ying? Sure, but let's be honest: Most of our kids are just trying to pass their exams.

One parent told me the words in the list are considered primary school level in China. That may be true, but Mandarin is the dominant language there.

Meanwhile, Singaporeans of all races and ethnicities are increasingly more comfortable in English than in their mother tongue. Many of my own Singaporean Chinese friends struggle to hold a full conversation in our mother tongue without inserting English words.

I'm not saying that our academic standards should remain frozen at what they were 30 years ago when I was a secondary school student.

But our Chinese standards are clearly not as high as our China counterparts. Why make that the baseline for comparison?

KILLING THE JOY OF LEARNING​

Academic pressures are part and parcel of Singapore schooling life, but I worry that the current language expectations in secondary school are so high that they’re killing students' interest in their mother tongue.

My daughter used to enjoy writing Chinese compositions in primary school. Her stories were unique, with hooks and bittersweet endings, and her teacher often used them as model essays, even though she didn’t rely on flowery language or colourful idioms. She was always excited to write in her mother tongue.

But in secondary school, the focus shifted.

Her creativity was no longer enough. The emphasis turned to writing within strict parameters and memorising idioms to meet grading rubrics.

She put in the same effort, but received only lukewarm results, both in terms of grades and feedback from her teachers that made her feel like she was always falling short.

She stopped enjoying writing in Chinese altogether. Now, she no longer looks forward to Mother Tongue as a subject at all. This isn't just our experience.

Another parent told me that her daughter, despite putting in tremendous effort for HMT, failed a weighted assessment for the first time. "She just hopes to pass,” the mother said. "It doesn't help that the school sets such difficult papers."

One secondary school student told me that revising for his end-of-year Chinese exams was "absolute torture".

My husband and I have, like many parents in the same boat, started telling our daughter it’s okay not to score well in Chinese – just aim to pass.

After all, when our kids are working so hard but still falling short of impossible expectations, sometimes the kindest advice is to aim to clear the lowest possible bar. Perhaps they're better off spending their limited time working on subjects where they have a much higher chance of seeing better returns.

ENCOURAGE INSTEAD OF DISCOURAGE​

Instead of pushing our kids to match their counterparts in China or expecting them to become Chinese classicists and poets, can we first help them develop a love – or at least a tolerance – for the language?

Another Chinese writer friend of mine noted that such unnecessary stumbling blocks can demotivate kids in their learning journey.

"It really takes the joy out of learning when students have to memorise terms they’ll never use in daily writing or conversation," he said. And I couldn't agree more.

So instead of asking children to memorise obscure and poetic terms they'll rarely use in daily life, why not let them learn the kind of Chinese that feels relevant to their world.
This might come from local news reports, TV shows, songs or novels, even if these are considered primary school level in China.

Rather than restricting students to rigid rubrics, could we give them more opportunities to use the language in more creative ways – such as writing informal journals or performing skits – which can make learning feel less like a test and more like an exploration?

Instead of focusing on students' inability to meet inflexible standards, it could also be beneficial to give them small wins and encouragement. Feedback like "This is a great story idea" or: "You’ve improved" can go a long way towards affirming a child’s effort, and inspiring them to want to put in even more.

In contrast, constantly failing them or reminding them they're not meeting an arbitrary standard only chips away at their self-worth. It teaches them that no matter how hard they try, they'll never be good enough.

And when that message is repeated often enough, the love for learning fades – not just for Chinese, but any subject where joy is overtaken by dread.

If we truly want our children to grow – not just as students, but as confident, curious individuals – then it's worth rethinking how we support their learning.

Recently, Singapore’s new Education Minister Desmond Lee signalled a shift away from the "education arms race", calling in parliament for reforms that reduce exam pressure and broaden definitions of success.

In 2024, Singapore’s Ministry of Education announced initiatives – including more opportunities for secondary school students to take up HMT and a mother tongue language reading programme in primary schools – to "uphold bilingualism" in the education system, and help students learn and use their mother tongue as a "living language".

While we are rethinking how students learn and grow, surely we can also rethink how we nurture their relationship with their mother tongue – not just through grades and memorisation, but through relevance, creativity and connection.

Vivian Teo is a mum of two. She is also a freelance writer, children’s book author and owner of a parenting and lifestyle blog.
Sibei lame. Sg Chinese so easy still say tough. I got A1 for o level Chinese first attempt. Yet there was this jhb like to haoliao her Chinese good end up b3 I was like want cocky yet no substance.

mummynew

Eh, I find those words for reading and understanding still okay leh...

But if need to remember how to write then indeed quite tough... however Chinese paper (composition) can use dictionary right?

MOE introduced this new 词语替换 section (think 1 or 2 years ago) for O level.

Iirc, in the past only Higher Chinese has this but now 'upgrade' to regular Chinese paper as well.

Not easy if don't try to remember how to write (I am expecting my niece to get 0 or 2 marks out from this 10-mark section = I told her can skip this as learning how to write all the vocabs is simply too poor ROI for her standard. I might kill her minimal motivation to learn Chinese if I insist she must keep practising hundreds of 听写 for these 10 marks.):

*if they really want to test this, probably can grade if know how to write the words CORRECTLY (without missing any strokes), then get 2 marks; if can write out HYPY correctly then get 1 mark. It is a bit too much to expect general Sporean kids to remember how to write all these words (not necessary at all IMO).

jywy2005

It is the same as PRC learning English and having to sit for 高考。Their stakes are even higher cos it’s taken into their scores for admission into university. You try speaking to them in English, they can’t even string a proper sentence most of the time, cos they dun need to use it at work or in daily lives.

jywy2005

Iirc, in the past only Higher Chinese has this but now 'upgrade' to regular Chinese paper as well.

Not easy if don't try to remember how to write (I am expecting my niece to get 0 or 2 marks out from this 10-mark section = I told her can skip this as learning how to write all the vocabs is simply too poor ROI for her standard. I might kill her minimal motivation to learn Chinese if I insist she must keep practising hundreds of 听写 for these 10 marks.):

*if they really want to test this, probably can grade if know how to write the words CORRECTLY (without missing any strokes), then get 2 marks; if can write out HYPY correctly then get 1 mark. It is a bit too much to expect general Sporean kids to remember how to write all these words (not necessary at all IMO).

With hanyu pinyin, can always find the word in e-dictionary or even on JP. The problem is dunno how to pronounce those words, let alone key in the pinyin.

mummynew

With hanyu pinyin, can always find the word in e-dictionary or even on JP. The problem is dunno how to pronounce those words, let alone key in the pinyin.

This section is e-dictionary not allowed.

Need to have 真本事 to write out from memory = testing two things:

1. knowing the correct replacement vocab, and

2. knowing how to write.

*even for me, I know all the correct replacement vocab but I only vaguely can remember how to write few of them.

Zze121

kid go skool, find a AT gal friend, she teach him mandarin, kid haolian his angmo, liddat got motivation to learn

mummynew

Really hard. I can only recognise 黎明 cos I listen to Leon Lai. Everything else can only recognise 1 or 2 or 2 of 4

What's your age range?

My son when around late 20s had difficult reading my niece's PSLE Chinese paper. We had great fun together when he was attempting to read her PSLE compre passage (读到一块一块的) a few years back.

jywy2005

2. knowing how to write.

*even for me, I know all the correct replacement vocab but I only vaguely can remember how to write few of them.
My bad,. my time was 改正错字, needed to identify and write the correct one. My kids’ era was to choose the correct word.

mummynew

My bad,. my time was 改正错字, needed to identify and write the correct one. My kids’ era was to choose the correct word.

This new section indirectly kill the remaining interest of many kids in learning Chinese (as a subject).

The Ivory Tower planners can't see it that More sometimes can be Less at the end.

Linguist

Q6 - 颠覆
Q7 - 报纸?
Q8 - 即使 (not sure if this is the correct word, but 汉语拼音 should be right)
Q9 - 传播
Q10 - 瞬间

Have to start with something easy to motivate them ah... and probably best if can incorporate language into their hobbies etc...

I probably find them not that tough since grew up in Chinese speaking family... recognising and speaking no issue but writing cannot liao... already all thrown back to school
Rofl...

2. knowing how to write.

Parents should complain to MOE now already what era liao still trying to "force" students to memorise those difficult to write chinese letters/words... if constantly writing as required like future job is teacher or writer etc of course will know... but if not who will remember the strokes etc... no dictionary then it should be MCQ question or a list of available words let the student pick and write it out to test their understanding and concentration (copy the letter/word to answer sheet)

Furthermore as a student got to study so many subjects... tell the teachers to go through what the students are going through today with all the subjects unless they are scholar or geniuses they will probably also find it tough and stressful?

mummynew

Q6 - 颠覆
Q7 - 报纸?
Q8 - 即使 (not sure if this is the correct word, but 汉语拼音 should be right)
Q9 - 传播
Q10 - 瞬间

Have to start with something easy to motivate them ah... and find their hobbies etc...

I probably find them not that tough since grew up in Chinese speaking family... recognising and speaking no issue but writing cannot liao... already all thrown back to school
Rofl...

Answers are correct (报刊/报纸).

Not easy to retain the ability to write most words manually when type-and-choose is sort of auto now.

Linguist

Answers are correct (报刊/报纸).

Not easy to retain the ability to write most words manually when type-and-choose is sort of auto now.
Yeah!!! Lol...

Not easy to write out unless do it daily... our main language is still English unlike some foreigners... they do texting in chinese... but if u do that with ur children later their Chinese got better but English got worse... then really cham liao...

MatrixFanatic

I’m glad to see that Mandarin has a higher standard to be met in schools. Hopefully Malay and Tamil raised their standards too. This will ensure that our best of the best is really well-rounded.

mummynew

Parents should complain to MOE now already what era liao still trying to "force" students to memorise those difficult to write chinese letters/words... if constantly writing as required like future job is teacher or writer etc of course will know... but if not who will remember the strokes etc... no dictionary then it should be MCQ question or a list of available words let the student pick and write it out to test their understanding and concentration (copy the letter/word to answer sheet)

Furthermore as a student got to study so many subjects... tell the teachers to go through what the students are going through today with all the subjects unless they are scholar or geniuses they will probably also find it tough and stressful?

I remember there was a feedback in Forum commenting about this unnecessary testing of 死记硬背 writing after this new section was introduced.

But we know the 'system', they must see how many kids actually 'die' then may change.

改革是需要付出鲜血地。

*I really cannot be bothered with this new unreasonable section. Zero jiu Zero (while I keep my niece focus on other sections).

Linguist

I remember there was a feedback in Forum commenting about this unnecessary testing of 死记硬背 writing after this new section was introduced.

But we know the 'system', they must see how many kids actually 'die' then may change.

改革是需要付出鲜血地。

*I really cannot be bothered with this new unreasonable section. Zero jiu Zero (while I keep my niece focus on other sections).
'Die'? They probably come out this section so that some other children (Chinese speaking family) can score better because they likely will lose out in other subjects like English and others that are taught using english...

Isnt it astrocious that they put so much stress and pressure on education for the children yet no basic English literacy checks when valuating PR or even approve as new citizens?

Anyway... 65% supported such system...
r2K8VVw.png

Multiversal

I will expect the situation to only worsen.

the more people wish it improves, the worse it will get. Mybfd

I agree but that's only among locally born sinkies, in particular those born to so called "true blue sinkies".

The school is only one of the places to learn a language like Chinese. How many lessons a week? How long is each session? If you work it out, it's not a helluva lot of exposure to the language.

The larger social environment outside the school which includes the family is another, and a major one, where vocabulary is picked up.

In China, children already have a big vocabulary before they start Primary One which they learned from just listening to their parents and other elders speaking among themselves. In Singapore, children still have a small vocabulary when they are in Sec 4 already, which they learned from the bad Chinese speaking parents who themselves have a small vocabulary.

Till now, I am still hearing plastic carriers being called 纸袋。 If Sinkies cannot even get such a simple word right, it's really mybfd.

There are 600K Chinese in Singapore And another 1.1~1.2m ethnic Chinese Malaysians working here who generally speak better Chinese than a typical sinkie. There is no lack of chances to learn and speak Mandarin..

If our children mix around more with especially the Chinese at a younger age, then their vocabulary will expand. If they only speak Mandarin in school, during Mandarin lessons, or with their small Mandarin vocabulary parents, then the only silver lining is that the local "true blue, born here, raised here" sinkie are heading towards extinction anyway, with a sub-1 TFR.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.