learning japanese

sweet_vanilla

errm, the placement test is for the course, not terms...
meaning if u pass the placement for intermediate, u can start straight in intermediate cours...

there are intensive courses for elementary and intermediate only... rates are the same as in the PM... may rise next year due to inflation, GST, etc...

i join JCS to finish where I left in 2007, i join IKOMA because i am sponsored... :D

wah~ so lucky!!! u got sponsor!! ENVY!!!

Ah_keong

Why not ask ourselves why do we don't have more financial resources to do the same thing ? Since learning from different schools with different styles will accelerate your learning faster, improve the foundation, resulting in more robust ability in using the language.

I would do the same thing if I have more discretionary income... :(

ok bah, i joined IKOMA to accompany my friends when they started to learn Japanese
since i am 'sponsored'

The advantages of joining different schools are:
1) make more friends
2) accelerate learning with different styles like wat azumangadaioh have mentioned
3) learn different ways of teaching the language(i was doing self learning with some aid from lecturers, friends and penpals)
4) more forced practise of Japanese conversation in class (u have fellow classmates wanting to spar with you in Japanese when the lecturer converse with you in Japanese while conversing with others with half english-half japanese)

The disadvantages are:
1) Cost (luckily I am sponsored)
2) Time (more time spent to attend class)
3) Time again (to teach fellow classmates in grasping the Language if they don understand in class)

I won't recommend fellow comrades to join so many classes. so I advice to choose a school which u like the teaching style for whatever reasons and go for it...

moreover, at the end of the day... the ability to self learn / self study is very important and this is what i taught my students and classmates so they can later stand up on their own without depending on me as I have walked the tough path of self-learning/self-studying...

Ganbatte Kudasai ne! :D

dimitri_can

I won't recommend fellow comrades to join so many classes. so I advice to choose a school which u like the teaching style for whatever reasons and go for it...

moreover, at the end of the day... the ability to self learn / self study is very important and this is what i taught my students and classmates so they can later stand up on their own without depending on me as I have walked the tough path of self-learning/self-studying...
Ganbatte Kudasai ne! :D
Yes, that i agree...

XasakuraX

lolx. exp still ask me join.. i no sponsor T.T i wld go ikoma if i got sponsor. hahahaha. but they r a bit more exp than bunka lah. so is see the teachers how lor. my frens r at bunka n jcs but they nvr provide me engh info to consider which sch =.= hahaha. seems like they nvr do research n just join. lolx.

edit: btw, do the sch split the students acc to their intellectual ability? like pri, sec, jc, uni, adults classes? or all lump together?

affa14

Wah long time never post here...looks like the same old topic cropped up again :D I missed IKOMA soo much, the energetic senseis, the super friendly receptionists and of course the aircon LoL...

Btw,tomorrow morning there will be a group of students from 学習院大学 coming to NUS. Can't wait to chit-chat with them. It's actually a project for my 日本語 module :s12:

Ah_keong

lolx. exp still ask me join.. i no sponsor T.T i wld go ikoma if i got sponsor. hahahaha. but they r a bit more exp than bunka lah. so is see the teachers how lor. my frens r at bunka n jcs but they nvr provide me engh info to consider which sch =.= hahaha. seems like they nvr do research n just join. lolx.

edit: btw, do the sch split the students acc to their intellectual ability? like pri, sec, jc, uni, adults classes? or all lump together?

its lumped...

u can come ikoma then can make friends with me mah...
provided u don mind my horrible jap and making a ugly friend....
so don't be disappointed ah... :D

azumangadaioh

In that case, i think it's important that the sensei guides them through for the 1st lesson, and test the students on the hiragana on the 2nd lesson. The 1st lesson is very important. It's where the sensei builds up the impression how he/she wants the class to move ahead. If the sensei finds anything amiss, he/she has to step in to warn the student that they are holding the class back.

If it's Ele1, can close 1 eye, cause everyone starts from a different level of knowledge. Problem is it's happening at Ele2 and Int levels... When they should already know the stuff that they took for their test for promotion for previous levels. You should see the look on sensei's face, well, sensei already tried, but then there's only so much you can do to help people who don't know the concept of self-help, and wait for others to feed them stuff that's 2 levels ago...

Left group classes and went on to individual classes instead [ having to manage cashflow more tightly every month ], rather than wait out, hoping they will drop out, during the next group class for next level.

Ah_keong

Wah long time never post here...looks like the same old topic cropped up again :D I missed IKOMA soo much, the energetic senseis, the super friendly receptionists and of course the aircon LoL...

Btw,tomorrow morning there will be a group of students from 学習院大学 coming to NUS. Can't wait to chit-chat with them. It's actually a project for my 日本語 module :s12:

come back IKOMA!!! The aircon getting FOC sia.... :D

are the group meeting at 10am in ASS Faculty? some of my friends ask me to join them...

Ah_keong

If it's Ele1, can close 1 eye, cause everyone starts from a different level of knowledge. Problem is it's happening at Ele2 and Int levels... When they should already know the stuff that they took for their test for promotion for previous levels. You should see the look on sensei's face, well, sensei already tried, but then there's only so much you can do to help people who don't know the concept of self-help, and wait for others to feed them stuff that's 2 levels ago...

Left group classes and went on to individual classes instead [ having to manage cashflow more tightly every month ], rather than wait out, hoping they will drop out, during the next group class for next level.

hmm, from what I see, I believe its either

they does not have the passion you and everyone posting in this thread had..
so they don't bother and wait for spoon feeding...

another type is that they find no interest in continuing to learn and upgrade...
so hope u can endure till u cleared intermediate stage...
:D

azumangadaioh

lolx. exp still ask me join.. i no sponsor T.T i wld go ikoma if i got sponsor. hahahaha. but they r a bit more exp than bunka lah.

No sponsor, be your own sponsor, get some part-time work to pay for lessons, start a blog and sell some stuff, or get some winnings from gaming...
Money ain't goin to fall from the sky... Some ppl have it easy, but when the means are not available, then you have to rack your brains harder for alternatives [ like ask parents to deduct the lesson fee from your pocket money, or co-pay the lessons ].

so is see the teachers how lor. my frens r at bunka n jcs but they nvr provide me engh info to consider which sch =.= hahaha. seems like they nvr do research n just join. lolx.

Did my research before I joined, so far so good.

They are private schools leh, if you want like government schools, all that, SAP schools have a LEP [ Language Elective Programme ] for Japanese from Sec 1 till JC.

You can find ppl of all ages in a class, and you have to pass the test in order to proceed to the next level, does not matter if you are 13 years old or 53 years old [ I've seen a 10 year old Australian girl also ]. If you don't pass, sorry, please study more and try again.

Since your frds are already there, ask them about it, surely they can even show you the notes also ?

azumangadaioh

hmm, from what I see, I believe its either

they does not have the passion you and everyone posting in this thread had..
so they don't bother and wait for spoon feeding...

another type is that they find no interest in continuing to learn and upgrade...
so hope u can endure till u cleared intermediate stage...
:D

Recreational learners. I was once like that, knew that mentality too well. The idea that something can be picked up easily after a few months of learning, on top of that no disclaimer saying Japanese is one of the top 3 languages to learn. Multi-lingo locals have the idea that since they can code switch between dialects, English and Singlish can do the same with Japanese. Tough luck, half of them drop out before they reach Int2 [ Elementary levels are honeymoon period, Int1 content alone is more than Ele1 + Ele2... ]

I don't know how they managed to pass the tests, but then no need to endure till I clear Intermediate stage... Had individual lessons from Int 2 onwards till now, exception was the JLPT3 prep class, which is only available in group class, on top of that, taught by head trainer [ grabbed & got myself onto the confirmed list 1 day before closing of registration ], so that was good value for money as I heard she seldom teach JLPT prep classes.

Ah_keong

I don't know how they managed to pass the tests, but then no need to endure till I clear Intermediate stage... Had individual lessons from Int 2 onwards till now, exception was the JLPT3 prep class, which is only available in group class, on top of that, taught by head trainer [ grabbed & got myself onto the confirmed list 1 day before closing of registration ], so that was good value for money as I heard she seldom teach JLPT prep classes.

thats cool!!! head trainer leh...
wee u weet!!! :D

XasakuraX

wow, azumangadaioh sounded pissed? hmmm...

of cos i know money dun fall from sky =.= i not those lucky ppl born with it or have parents to sponsor wat-so-ever, which is all the more impt to find the right sch so tt i wont waste my hard earned money right? which is y i m asking so many questions...

well, as for my frens, i seldom see them, just happen to know they attending lessons there, not nice to bug ppl during pre-exam period oso. most prob they cant be bothered with me oso ><

i know private schs but was thinking maybe some would try to class those ard same age grp together to facilitate teaching mah, diff age ppl learn at diff speed. so was jus wondering if they class the ppl.

dimitri_can

Haha, that must be you the last time. That's why self-study is very important like what ah-keong said.

That's why, Sakura san, u must be able to substantiate your interest, should u decide to study Japanese.

zeroxmxi

Just an aside, I found myself in PA1 in Bunka struggling to improve conversational skills with little progress.

Sensei is nice, helpful, kind, however, topics of discussion always left me tongue tied. Even in normal English or Mandarin conversations, I have nothing really much to talk about. I guess all I ever talk about are stuffs which are IT, anime, manga, games, are topics sensei is not really strong or interested in discussing. I guess many won't. Where can we find an otaku sensei? lol

But I stayed on, perhaps do my own studies. As I'm a working adult and also taking a short course at SIM, I have very little time to join social group like the ones at meetup.com. There's a Japanese meetup group I often just browse to see what sort of meetups hosted and so on. Absolutely no time for that. :p

Chances are, my progress in this language is gonna be slow as snail. But my passion for it is undying, well, it's really due to my hobbies related to Japanese sub-cultures. :p

Cheers.

dimitri_can

Just an aside, I found myself in PA1 in Bunka struggling to improve conversational skills with little progress.

Sensei is nice, helpful, kind, however, topics of discussion always left me tongue tied. Even in normal English or Mandarin conversations, I have nothing really much to talk about. I guess all I ever talk about are stuffs which are IT, anime, manga, games, are topics sensei is not really strong or interested in discussing. I guess many won't. Where can we find an otaku sensei? lol

But I stayed on, perhaps do my own studies. As I'm a working adult and also taking a short course at SIM, I have very little time to join social group like the ones at meetup.com. There's a Japanese meetup group I often just browse to see what sort of meetups hosted and so on. Absolutely no time for that. :p

Chances are, my progress in this language is gonna be slow as snail. But my passion for it is undying, well, it's really due to my hobbies related to Japanese sub-cultures. :p

Cheers.
Some of my friends left Bunka cos they felt that they weren't improving in conversation. But that doesn't mean Bunka is bad. I guess it all boils down to personal effort.. How to seek ways to improve yourself....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.